Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

0.5
km

Taste of Spice

57 Gouger Street, Adelaide

Telephone 08 8231 4648

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Asian, Indonesian, Malaysian.

Average of 14 reviews

  • 4 / 5 Food
  • 3.7 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.9 / 5 Service
  • 4.1 / 5 Value
  • 15.7 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Taste of Spice

11
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 3

SA.: 9 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

I used to regularly enjoy coming here but this week may have been my last visit. They got my order wrong so I got no spice in my dish. My partner had a duck curry with the potatoes not properly cooked & seemed like they'd just been plonked in rather than cooking in the curry juices. Again little spice for a curry. I think that Gouger St has more to offer at these good prices. The staff are always pleasant however but it does lack some atmosphere as it is always quiet when I visit.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 2 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Taste of Spice

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 11 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

A Taste of Spice restaurant is amazing. When you walk through the front door you are immediatly confronted to the wonderful surroundings of jazz pictures and the relaxing jazz music, giving the eating experience a pleasure. The menu - food list is the biggest i've ever seen in Gouger Street than any other restaurants, giving the alot and best options you can have throughout the four seasons of the year and not to forget a good variety of South Australian winery. I ordered roti and laksa which tasted better than any other MALAYSIAN restaurants i've been to. As a second class restaurant, it provides the best service and value to all people and it will temp. you to come back to this wonderful restaurant.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

23 people agree and 11 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Kiki: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

this place is a little gem. food just fabulous especially the laksa. the service is impeccable and the wonderful surrounds of jazz music just makes the whole dining experience superb. i highly recommend this place its fabulous...... if you havent tried already its a must. love it love it love it

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

agena: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

The food and service are excellent. Excellent malaysian vegetables and curries with cool jazz. Is this heaven?

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Bjones1973: 9 years ago – Link & Share

Discovered this little gem of a place just over three years ago. Every time we shop at The Market we come here for dinner ( every second week!) The service is excellent, the food is mouth watering (Ayam Kapitan is THE winner, in my opinion). This has become my favourite restaurant in the last three years. At the risk of losing a walk in off the street table, I highly recommend it anyone and everyone!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 12 years ago – Link & Share

This is a quintissential Gouger St. place. Sit outside, have a beer, and make sure to order the fried chicken. Vegetable dishes are also very good, and the rice is cooked perfectly and flavorfully. Try the chicken or coconut rices. Specials board is also worth exploring for great seasonal options. I had a fantastic dish of eggplant and okra dry sauteed with malaysian spices. Will definitely be going back to try a fish or seafood dish.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

17 people agree and 11 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Strath Gormet: 9 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Had a wonderful evening with brilliant food and fantastic service. The staff were very friendly and attentive and always smiling. The food was just wonderful. We shared the entrees of vegitarian spring rolls, vegitarian curry puffs, beef samosas and the crunchy wantons. All were great. We both had serves of the coconut rice with our mains. I had the Beef Rendang and it was just lovely. My wife had the seafood and vegetable claypot and she was very impressed. We both would have loved to try desert, but we were too full. It was a wonderful night full of great food and smiling friendly faces. And we love the jazz decor and music. We'll definately be back!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

jazzks: 8 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

I ordered the Curry Laska which was the best laska I have tasted in a long time! The service was impeccable, so good, in fact, we left a $10 tip! I recommend this restaurant to anyone that wants amazing food paired with a never-ending menu of dishes to sample! YUM!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 10 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

The staff were are highlight, attentive & friendly, although could be a little over-attentive at times! every time you took a sip of water someone would be over to refill your glass. But were very friendly & just this alone makes you want to go back again. The entrees are a great price & very nice. I had Nasi Lemak Special for main dish, was nice but would not order that again as you only got a tiny tiny amount of the best part of it, the beef rendang. My partner ordered the red curry with lamb and that was delicious and quite a decent portion of food. Jazz music playing in background which was a nice touch. The jazz theme doesnt really match the Malaysian cuisine, but overall a nice atmosphere, good food and great staff. We'll be back again as i saw a few other items on the menu i'd love to try!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

SA: 10 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Quiet, attentive service & more than happy to respond to customer needs. The vegie curry is consistently outstanding & the serving sizes generous. The squid however was overcooked in my prawn & squid sambal, though the flavours were lovely.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 5

kai_isman: 8 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Great malaysian food. Best msian food i've tasted in Adelaide so far. Rendang superb. Their lunch special kuay teow goreng outstanding, nasi lemak to die for. My plates are always empty after each meal.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
11
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 4

Meagan Abraham: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

A Taste of Spice is an Asian restaurant speciailising in Malay and Indonesian food after a persisting weeklong craving for Laksa got the better of me. The warmly, spiced, coconut broth filled with the goodness of aromatic tumeric spices, fresh pieces of prawn, squid, silken tofu, chicken and noodles was exactly as I envisoned it. The only thing it lacked was the quail eggs I was dreaming about. Although it was a hot day, one of the last bursts of the heatwave, I gave into my desire for the Indonesian dish and devoured it thoroughly satisfied. Our side order of ikan billis (crisp, deep fried anchovies) and chicken satay sticks made for delightful accompaniments. Get the rest of the review and pictures at: http://meagan-megalomaniac.blogspot.com/2008/05/trailing-gouger-street.html

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
6
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1

flava: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

I have been to this restaurant many years ago and was thoroughly disappointed. I was a Malaysian local and to this day I still enjoy my authentic Malaysian food. This restaurant did not provide what I was looking for on my second occasion. The food is still very average and overrated. My son ordered a Hainan chicken rice and it was disgusting - the chicken was hacked into large pieces, overcooked and tasteless. I'd rather eat it at the food court. The curries were average too. I guess I won't be visiting this place in the next few years again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

nella: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

this place is overrated. i saw the owner shouting vugarities at his employees and that destroys my appetite. nothing special about the food too.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
 

Add a review for Taste of Spice

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience