Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

3
km

Abyssinian Restaurant

126 Henley Beach Road, Torrensville

Telephone 08 8443 4300

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Ethiopian & African.

Average of 31 reviews

  • 4.1 / 5 Food
  • 3.7 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.3 / 5 Service
  • 4.1 / 5 Value
  • 15.2 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Abyssinian Restaurant

19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Adele: 8 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

This is my absolute, all-time, FAVOURITE restaurant. Anyone who hasn't/doesn't try it is truly missing out. The food is just so amazing, Kay Wot is my personal favourite but I love them all. The only slightly bad thing that can be said about this place is that the staff (family that runs it) can tend to be a little bit slow, but they are just so friendly. If you are unsure how to eat it at first they have no problems with showing you and it's extremely easy to get the hang on. Don't expect anything too fancy, the decor is not the main focus here, the food is. They also have a large and yummy vegetarian menu for all the vegetarians out there. Everyone simply MUST try Abyssinian.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

9 people agree and 3 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Abyssinian Restaurant

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Tim: 2 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

My partner & myself had our first experience tonight at this restaurant & it got a 10/10 from us by a long shot the service & buffet meal was fantastic. We will be telling our friends to try it they won't be disappointed.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Monique M: 8 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

I cant rave about this restaurant enough. My partner took me there on our first date and since then i have gone for birthdays and special occasions. The food is amazing and the atmosphere is fantastic! Anyone looking for an eating experience where the food not only tastes great but is value for money than look no further. 10/10

Do you Agree or Disagree?

9 people agree and 6 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

cosmicwolf4: 3 years ago – Link & Share

Amazing. Everything combined to make it the perfect dining experience. The food was beautifully cooked and presented. Staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was set up very well and felt welcoming. Great value.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Buzzy the Food Critic: 4 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

A very unassuming frontage hides a South Australian gem. Great ambiemce and value for money. Food was excellent and a great place to go for that something different.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Steve: 8 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Dropped in on a Sunday morning when researching places to eat for a later date. Decided to have lunch and what a great decision that was.The food was absolutely delicious.The chicken was cooked to perfection and fell off the bone with ease.Wonderful flavours and plenty of food in the serves. Very friendly service and informative menu. Will definately be returning on a Friday or Saturday evening.Highly recommended and one for people looking for something a little different.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 11 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Yas: 9 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Great place to get something different. Love the Injera - much better than using forks. Owned by a friendly family. Try it sometime.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

10 people agree and 6 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Alice: 4 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

My current favourite place to eat out. The food is tasty and great value. The service is a little slow, but always friendly.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

Movieman: 7 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

This is a great place to eat. The food is soo tasty, the staff helpful & friendly, & it's great value for money.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

Patricia: 7 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Went on Saturday night with a big group and despite the busy-ness the banquet was tasty, the service was calm and friendly, the cuisine was a novelty and it was cheap. We are going back on Thursday and can't wait. Got lots of favourites already and have been raving to friends.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

Bondi Buddha: 7 years ago – Link & Share

LOVE their platter of african food that you all share and eat with your hands. The food is really great and shouldn't be missed. It's one of my favourite restraunts in Adelaide along with Regent Thia and Tandori Oven.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Milton7: 7 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

If you are sick to death of nouvelle restaurants with exquisite decor and a lonely stripped loin lamb chop in pomegranate sauce on a plain white plate...this restaurant is for you...the food is great, there's plenty of it, the overall experience a little exotic, the decor simple but atmospheric and the service down to earth and friendly. I'll certainly be returning regularly

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

*siobhan*: 7 years ago – Link & Share

Love love love this place! By far my favourite. The best food one could ever eat and great value for money. I would highly recommend it to anyone. Try the Ethiopian beer too!! Abyssinian = YUM!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

Champas: 6 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Love going there. The good is great and you feel you are in Ethiopia. Love the family feel. Very accommodating for those who would like to try different dishes. The kids love it

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Nick: 5 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

This place has great food and an atmosphere that's only enhanced by the laid back service. If you need to be somewhere, best turn up a bit earlier. Under new management apparently, but the same approach, same great food and great value. Still my favourite when in Adelaide.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

sandybegg: 6 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

I love learning about other cultures as a sociology student. So sitting there in the great surroundings eating with my hands, I feel fully submerged in their culture.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4.5

Tee Cee: 2 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

The restaurant is being transformed into a very delightful experience of Ethiopian cuisine. I love it!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 9 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Fantastic value. The atmosphere is great and the experience is quite unique. The food is excellent, although unusual for those of us more used to European fare. The restaurant is cheap and the experience is wonderful. There are no knives and forks provided, you eat in the traditional way.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

13 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 4.5

Anwyn: 5 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

I live near by, and this place is a regular haunt. The food is amazingly good; I've yet to take someone there who didn't love it, and the portions are a good size for great value. They have a small but nice selection of beers and wines. The one drawback is that the service is incredibly slow. This is a family run restaurant that first and formost caters to the local Ethiopian and Somalain community that lives in the area, which means the food is amazing and authentic, but it also means the speed is geared to a family feel, not a commercial enterprise. This place is being run for a community, not as a fine dining experience, which makes for a great, relaxed atmosphere, but the service is decidedly unprofessional. Don't be afraid to jump up and walk to the bar to order your drinks, ask for coffee or the cheque, and expect to have to work to catch the waitress's attention when you need something. Despite all that, this really is a great place to eat, and a lovely place to go with friends for the evening.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4.5

allang2376: 6 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Fantastic, loved this place. Great people, great food, great value.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 4.5

QBN.NSW: 5 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

My family loves this restaurant. The food is deliciously different and eaten with your hand by breaking up injera bread and scooping the food. The service can be a bit laid back, and the decor is a bit daggy but it all adds to the experience. Love it, and keep going back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4.5

Sqrrlie1: 7 years ago – Link & Share

Love the food, great value for money, always go there before concerts at the Thebbie and saw Xavier Rudd eating there before his concert! Best to go in and say banquet (vego or ominivorous) right away as service can be slow if you are in a hurry to get somewhere. Otherwise relax and take it all in. All you can eat and bet you can't eat it all!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
14.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 4.5

DrLog: 6 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Although the service wasn't very good, the food itself is excellent and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for something a bit different.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
13.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

SA.: 5 years ago – Link & Share

I'm glad I have tried Ethiopian food now & enjoyed my dinner but I wouldn't race back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
13
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 4

Francois: 6 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

The food is excellent, but waiting 10 minutes to get seated (the restaurant wasn't even half full), another one hour to have orders taken, then 45 minutes for the food to arrive. Then when we asked about the coffee that didn't appear after another 40 minutes, we gave up , paid and left. The place seemed to be understaffed and the waitress din't seem to have a clue!! Pity, but we will try again sometime and hope for a better experience.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
11
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 3

Will: 8 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

I visited with a couple of friends on a quiet weeknight. Despite there being only 2 couples eating, it took the staff around 5 minutes to sit us down, even after they had seen us standing around the entrance area. The decor is outdated, but this isn't such a big deal because this place isn't trying to be fancy; in fact the decor and Ethiopian art adds to the character of the place. The staff looked bored and dissapeared for large stretches of time, meaning that if you wanted to order something you had to wait until they returned. On the upside, once ordered the food was rapidly presented to our table. Eating without utensils is great, and by far the most enjoyable part of eating here. Using the injera to scoop up the food is fun as well as exotic. I thouroughly recommend the Kay Wot; it is delicious. We also ordered a seafood dish and a lamb dish, which were OK but somewhat bland. The food is good value though, as my group was unaible to finish our servings. In summary, I recommend this place if you want a new and interesting experience.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 6 disagree.

 
8
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 1

ersu: 4 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

owners changed in 2011, and i think most of the good reviews predate these new owners. the food wasn't accurate to the menu, the traditional bread was served straight out of the fridge and slightly under cooked to the point the bread was clammy. the meat was of average quality. we were there on a Sunday and it felt like it was reheated from the night before

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
8
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 3

chickiedee20: 6 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Not the best Ethiopian food I've tasted. Service was poor, no one check up on us for ages, and the waiter hid in the kitchen most of time with their KIDS! The food was good, but did not have the wow factor that I have had at other ethiopian restaurants. There was minimal ambiance, no music and room for MUCH improvement! Would not recomment. Google Addis Ababa and give them a go if you are looking for the "wow" factor!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 1

Addicted2Food: 7 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

When there on sat 7 November at 6pm. Well where do I start, we walked in the front door and could not breathe, there must have been cooking in the kitchen without the exhaust fan on. So we improvised and sat outside, only to sit on dirty, and one broken chair. We order our food and selected item "Doro Wot" which its describes as "fresh chicken legs simmered in Berber sauce". We got A chicken leg for $13.00, hardly value for money like the other posts suggest. My rating 3/10, poor effort guys you are doing your culture an injustice.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
4.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1.5

Mick: 7 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Waited 1 hr 30 mins for take away meals. They forgot to cook one of the dishes. The remaining dishes were cold by the time the last dish was ready. Worst take away experience ever!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for Abyssinian Restaurant

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience