Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

3.5
km

Assaggio Ristorante

92-94 King William Road, Hyde Park

Telephone 08 8272 4748

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Italian.

Average of 16 reviews

  • 4.4 / 5 Food
  • 3.9 / 5 Ambience
  • 4 / 5 Service
  • 3.5 / 5 Value
  • 15.8 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Assaggio Ristorante

20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Sarah: 11 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

I was lucky enough to be taken to Assaggio for a pre-valentines day evening. I could not have been happier with how the night panned out. The service and food were both flawless, with my only qualm being that I couldn't try more of the menu, it all sounded delicious. I began my meal with zucchini flowers,followed by pork rib eye. The flowers' filling was cheesy without overpowering the sweetness of the zucchini and my pork was cooked to perfection; just blush and moist. Though a 'corny' spectacle, we finished with the 'Sweet Lovers of Chocolate tasting plate'. It was the perfect ending to a perfect meal; I can't wait to return.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

11 people agree and 14 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Assaggio Ristorante

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Redchilli: 10 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

The whole experience was brilliant. The service was excellent with the little extra touches making it perfect. The food was delicious - we had such a hard time choosing from the menu and the wine list is extensive which means that there's something for everyone. Don't be put off by the prices (which are actually quite reasonable) - the serves and quality make it worth it. Will definitely be returning.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Sampler: 4 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Very nice. Not really over the top prices but food is very well presented and tastes fantastic!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

rah: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

An absolute delight. The food was indeed very special, the wine list brilliant, (plenty of choice available by the glass). The staff generally were helpful, yet couldn't help thinking, they were being condecending at times. All in all a special place for special occasions, I shall return.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

peter: 11 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

This place is all class! Large, varied menu is excellent from entree to sweets. Waiters wearing white gloves, half lemon wrapped in muslim (to protect eyes from squirting juice), brushing crumbs away after each course are touches of class. Expensive, but the food is a gourmet delight.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

36 people agree and 20 disagree.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Kana: 7 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Amazing gluten-free menu, yummy food & terrific service. Sensational!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Ash: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

More than happy to pay those prices when the food is to die for and the service even better! You are made to feel special, it truly was a great experience. The ambience was nice, nothing special though; but I didn?t mind everything else made up for it.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 11 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Excellent food and service. Possibly the best service we have had in adelaide. It was our first visit and such a pleasant surprise. Everything we ordered was brilliant, from the lobster soup to the raspberry panacotta. We definitely will make this one of our regulars.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

25 people agree and 14 disagree.

 
17.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4.5

Alice: 9 years ago – Link & Share

I had dinner at Assaggio with a large group of family. We needed to book well in advance as they are really busy on Friday and Saturday nights. There were a few other larger groups dining which made it quite noisy inside, although this was mostly due to one table behind us rather than the whole restaurant. We had the shared entree platters with a couple of extra things to share. Everything was perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious! For main i had a steak which was fabulous, and i tasted various other dishes that other had which were equally delicious. The desserts were wonderful as well. My only criticism was the service. While the food service was outstanding, i was very keen to try some of the Italian wines on offer. Being that i don't know anything about Italian wines i asked for some advice, only to be told that the waiter "didn't have time" to go over the wine list with me or make any recommendations. Considering the restaurant was booked out so many times i had previously tried to get a booking, it's not like the were busier than a normal night, so either get a sommelier to help with wine choices, or don't book out the restaurant so your waiters have time to help.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 3.5

Kate: 7 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

The food and service at Assagio are flawless. Historically, I have not been a big pork eater however the pork dish at Assagio is an absolute must. I have eaten there several times and each time have been blown away by the most amazing flavours. The service is very professional and friendly. The ambiance is a little quiet for young people but perfect for family dinners or more formal celebrations. It is expensive but definitely worth it for a special night out.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
14
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Anonymous: 12 years ago – Link & Share

The food was really lovely, but not the place to go for a romantic dinner. It was really quite loud inside and you almost had to yell at the person across the table from you. We were disappointed with their BYO. They have a one bottle limit per table, which we were not told about. We brought 2 very expensive bottles of wine and were told we could only open one, even when we offered to pay double the corkage on the second bottle.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

28 people agree and 23 disagree.

 
13.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 2.5

A.Rammen: 8 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

not sure that i understand the appeal of this place... The food was good but not outstanding, as was the service.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
13
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 2

David: 11 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

From the moment I walked in, we were greeted by friendly staff and shown to our table immediately which was good. The ambience was great I especially liked the Red Feature walls that were prominent at the end of the Restaurant. The tables are spaced out well, and are of good size so you donít feel confined. The service was good however there seemed to be only one waiter on the floor that knew what he was doing and the others just floated around. The Wine list is way too extensive for such a small place (10 pages +) it took me nearly a half an hour to go through most of it; there was not a lot of choice regarding middle range wines. There was either ok wine or very expensive wine, which is important in a restaurant, regardless if itís in Hyde Park or anywhere else. When we ordered and making our selection we were told what we had chosen was enough food for us, and the waiter took our menus and walked off?? We would have ordered more due to the servingís size but it seems our waiter was in a rush. Overall the food was good the ambience was great but the service needs work and the fact they only bring our bread once you have ordered is ridiculous? I would recommend this restaurant as a once in a while one...

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 9 disagree.

 
13
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 2

Anonymous: 11 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

A nice but expensive restaurant with a good menu, with some particually impressive items...lobster soup, stuffed zucchini flowers, and pasta. The wine list was very long to the point of being too extensive, and the service was good with the exception of a waiter that forgot to bring a glass of wine and when asked about it spent far to long explaining why he had forgotten! we just wanted to get on with the food!! The ambience was not the best, a bit loud, but there was nice touches such as lemons in muslim, to stop from squirting. I will be back to try the chocolate dessert platter, but was fairly unimpressed with the other dessert options, although they would perhaps appeal to the more adveturous (eg white truffle gelato-thats the mushroom not the chocolate!!)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

6 people agree and 7 disagree.

 
8
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 1

5000: 9 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Have you been in a time machine? I took a trip to fine dining circa 1995 at Assaggio. Heavy and oppressive drapery gives a warm claustrophobia, the food is over prepared and straining for iron chef heights with much truffle etc. The wine list is ridiculous in length. This place strives for a Michelin star but is just an expensive suburban restaurant.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Paul123: 7 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Appalling servie, rude staff who don't seem to realise they are not running a "greasy spoon" at these prices.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for Assaggio Ristorante

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience