Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

9.8
km

August Moon Chinese Takeaway

Crn Diagonal & Cliff Street Road, Glenelg East

Telephone 08 8295 6917

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Cantonese, Chinese, Asian.

Average of 24 reviews

  • 4 / 5 Food
  • 3.5 / 5 Ambience
  • 4 / 5 Service
  • 4 / 5 Value
  • 15.5 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for August Moon Chinese Takeaway

17
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Conman: 6 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Takeaway Dinner tonight for my partner, 11yr old daughter & I. Long time customers of this fine establishment. With new owners, I was expecting changes to taste. I was especially interested in how their Satays would taste like....the sauce in particular. We ordered 5. The sauce was quite dark yet only just peanutty. I would have liked a little more peanut paste in the mix but that is a personal opinion. the satay meat was nice and thick and quite substantial...with a hint of Ginger....nice. Both the Large Fried Rice & the Combination Noodles were jam packed into the container...definitely 10 points for value. the noodles were the pick for me with large strips of chicken and beef and onion all in a darkish sauce. The previous owners' Special Fried rice was better though....this was their signature fare. This rice had a particular flavour...not sure...I think it may have been the oil or ghee used. Quite noticeable at first however still OK. The Large Spring Roll was not up to par though...reminded me of a chiko roll...all quite minced, almost to a paste consistency. I am spoilt with fantastic Vietnamese spring Rolls near work so a high standard to reach. All the above plus two steamed Dim Sims and a bag of Prawn crackers for $38 certainly We have been going to this place for our takeaways for many years. I think we will continue to do so.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for August Moon Chinese Takeaway

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Vera: 12 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Damn this place is awesome for takeaway and value for money! They are always so busy and it's gotta have the best Special Fried rice ever! None of that white rice with peas and sliced ham. I'm talking packed full or chinese Roast Pork, chicken and shrimp all for $6! It's a meal on it's own. Huge menu!, I have so many favorites I can never decide what to get!The Dim sims and Spring rolls are all freshly hand made and the staff are always friendly and having fun. Phone up in advance especially on a frid/sat/sun coz this place is always flat out busy!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

11 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Penadelaide: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

GUSTIESSSSSS

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Review Guy: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Ive been to many Asian take-aways, but in my opinion, nothing compares to August Moon's main course satay chicken! My hot tip? Plum beef and special fried rice. 10/10

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Chris: 12 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Just one sample of their food and you can tell why they have been open and so busy for over 25 years. The spring rolls and dim sims are my fave, all made fresh on the premises...no frozen packet stuff there. The kids just love the fried rice and the honey chicken. Excellent value for money, friendly service, and fresh, delicious good 'ol Chinese take away food. Who wants to cook when they are down the road !

Do you Agree or Disagree?

17 people agree and 8 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

mary-anne pie: 12 years ago – Link & Share

Many many years i have been coming down the rd to my favourite takeout on a sat nite. The prices and and quality of the food cannot be beaten. For years i have been looked after like i was one of the family. My husband and I always have a giggle on a saturday night when we hear the happy staff singing along with the sat night rock and roll. It makes our day. We always order the steak and Black Bean OUR VERY FAVOURITE! A big thank you to Trish, you have looked after us well, we especially love it on our birthdays when u come to the counter and sing us a happy birthday everyyear Im sure if theres any birthdays coming up, let Trish know, she will happily come out and wish u a happy birthday. Keep up the hard work august moon.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

12 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Mark: 12 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Amazing chinese takeaway, have been goin there for 15 years. Great service, friendly people. Lemon Chicken is the best.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

18 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

BenjiAU: 7 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Great quality Chinese takeaway. Lemon chicken is different (better) than most other places, less sweet and (I imagine) more authentic. Special fried rice is great too. Hope they continue to keep up the consistently great work. Ambience is up to you because you'll be eating it at home or with friends!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Sassy: 8 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Delicious food, not too greasy, great service.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

ThaiBuddha: 5 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

superb quality

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Barbara: 12 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

I've eaten food from here for over 20 years, my 3 favourites are the Fillet Lemon Chicken I love the chinese pickled vegies yummy and the Chilli Chicken is great you can pick how hot you want it but my ultimate greatest dish is the Combination Steam Duck which is to die for the duck is first boiled in chinese sauces, boned out and then cooked with a seclection of chinese veg and king prawns, some fillet chicken and roast pork the sauce is sensational. Yum my mouth is watering.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

13 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

ThaiBuddha: 5 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Always Superb

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Bruce: 2 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

I discovered August Moon has recently changed hands again; Well thank goodness for that. The new owners are excellent delicious food new menu & very reasonably priced. i rate their food as good if not better than any in the Glenelg Glengowrie area I wish them luck this is now a excellent take away & hope they can undo the damage the previous owners to this establishment. I for one will be a regular customer Give them a try you won\'t regret it

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Food Critic: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

My first experience: Nice little place, friendly service. We had the lemon duck, special fried rice, beef satay sticks, spring rolls, and dim sims... Every part of the meal was delicious! The most amazing spring rolls I have ever tasted!!! They are a little more expensive than other chinese restaurants in the area but soooo worth it. I can't wait to go back and try the other dishes! Stay Tuned!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
17
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 12 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Have eaten here a number of times. Lunch specials are excellent value and the food I've tasted is comparable to more expensive restaurants in the area. Takeaway only, so perfect for cold winter nights!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

15 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Burnsy: 1 year, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Veg\'s cooked just right not over cooked Lemon Chicken sauce flavoursome Seafood combination cooked well Overall flavours were well presented in all dishes.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Andrew: 11 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

This is the BEST takeaway Chinese restaurant I've ever been too, and I've had a lot of takeaway Chinese. In fact, it beats most other dine-in Chinese restaurants, too. The prawns used in the garlic prawns are fresh, juicy and succulent and the steak is really soft and tasty. All the serves are generous and great value. I've never had a bad meal from August Moon. The service is really friendly, too. I just wish I live a bit closer to it!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

15 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4.5

kissthesky09: 6 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

I've been an avid customer for years. The lemon chicken still isn't bad and the prices are still awesome. I can't complain yet. In my humble opinion still one of the best chinese take away places out there.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
11
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

Hornett: 6 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

For the last 6 years this place has been my go to for Chinese food, after today how ever I don't think I will be going back. I think it has recently changed hands & the standard of food quality & flavour is just not there. It's a real shame as I found it difficult to find a really great Chinese place to begin with that was in my local area.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
9
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1

STH: 6 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

We have been going to August Moon for over 15 years, but will not go back now. There are new owners (Jan 2013) and the food is nowhere near as fresh and delicious as it used to be under the previous owners. The food is no better now than a below average fast food court. Such a shame.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
6
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1

bdoy: 3 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

The beef satay and bbq spare ribs were discusting I've never had tougher meat. The bbq ribs tasted nothing like they used to. It is interesting to note all positive reviews are years old. I won't be returning. Sorry for the negative review but the food is terrable

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Burnstarr: 3 years ago – Link & Share

Not the same August moon I remember growing up. Only realised it had changed owners when I went to get a takeaway menu, some dodgey A4 photocopy of the original large coloured menus they used to have. Read some later reviews on here and same experience I had. Ordered some childhood favourites, steamed dim sums and beef satay. The dim sums were very dry, was liked they were heated in a microwave. The satays, if you could call them satay, were coated in a black sticky sauce, had chilli in it and the meat was very Chewy and tuff, very far from satay. Fried Rice not as good as it used to be, ordered pork ribs in BBQ sauce, the only flavour that stood out was Salt. Also very Chewy meat, not tender like it used to be. Biggest disappointment was the lemon chicken, used to love the way they did it here, now u get a container with battered chicken and a tub of sauce to pour over it, such a shame. We ordered some spring rolls and they managed to burn them.Overall the food was either very bland, salty, not very fresh and disappointing. August moon, you have now become just "another" Chinese takeaway and no longer stand out from the crowd. Won't be back again, sorry.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Malletti: 4 years ago – Link & Share

First time at August Moon today. On the phone the girl had no customer service skills. The first thing I noticed when I walked in and sat down was that it didn't smell good in the waiting area and that was with the door open and wind airing the place out. When I got home, I opened the lid of my satay beef and the sauce looked black like car oil. I was game to try the food but after trying two pieces it all went in the bin. What a waste of money, I'll never go back. Worst attempt at Chinese cooking I've ever had.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

123456: 6 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Horrid. The woman's child threw his box of toys at me and hit me several times. She did not discipline him but just smiled lovingly. Not exactly what I want after a long day at work, when I can't even be bothered to cook. Get home, my "vegetarian" noodles have beef in them. Perfect. The review won't let me give zero's, otherwise that's what all but value would be.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for August Moon Chinese Takeaway

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience