Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

4.1
km

Babanusa

86 Prospect Road, Prospect

Telephone 08 8342 1222

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Sudanese.

Average of 12 reviews

  • 3.3 / 5 Food
  • 2.8 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.3 / 5 Service
  • 3.7 / 5 Value
  • 13.1 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Babanusa

15
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 4.5

VespaVegan: 8 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Had been meaning to visit this restaurant for quite a while, especially given it advertised a vegan banquet option on its menu. We certainly were't disappointed with the food, which was sensational. However, despite specifying we wanted a vegan banquet, we still received a yoghurt-based dip in our dip selection and later, when we asked the waitress whether any of the desserts were vegan, she said she didn't know, as she didn't know the different between vegan and gluten-free. I'm not a militant vegan, but I think if an establishment advertises vegan options on its menu, it should at least make sure its waiting staff know what that means! That said, the main banquet course was magnificent and the food was very good value, so for that reason I will be taking the position that we had an unlucky night with waiting staff and do plan to return soon.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Babanusa

 
 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

my friend the sandwich: 9 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Absolutley delicious food if you like Indian, Indonesian and African cooking, you'll love this place. Chilled vibe, friendly, helpful wait staff and authentic music and chefs. After enjoying the combination dips with delicious thin, chewy Sudanese bread, we had the beef, black eyed pea and spinach stew, soft and meltingly tender. The grilled chicken with peanut sauce was deliciously charred and the spinach and lentils in coconut sauce really showed off the freshness of the ingredients. Okra cooked with tomato and cinnamon was exquisite. A very accessible way to try a new cuisine. Love the fact the kids menu wasn't chips and deep fried rubbish, just mains dishes varied a little, eg spinach and lentil stew. Will be going back regularly!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

misk: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Have only been once, because we can never get in without booking at least a day or two in advance, the place is so popular! Food was fantastic and place was great for a change in food - rather than the typical pub meal or Italian meal. Meals were a decent size, possibly *just* big enough for a big fella. Place was clean and nice, though nothing fancy.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

Hilton: 7 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

We didn't quite know what to expect when we walked through the door of Babanusa for the first time, it was to be our first experience of Sudanese cuisine and the aroma that greeted us upon entry raised our anticipation of what might lay ahead. My wife being vegetarian is always on the lookout for genuine vego fare as opposed to token alternatives and she was not dissapointed. Both of our meals were delicious, aromatic and flavoursome with rich flavours that were spicy but not in an "Indian" or "Thai" way, unique, complex and warm. The goat dish I enjoyed was excellent and the broad menu can only mean difficult choices await me on the inevitable return visit. They definately have our return business....Entertainment Book or not. Highly recomended.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

cb74: 9 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Our first trip to Babanusa was great. Being a bit overwhelmed with the menu, we put ourselves into the chef's hands and had the banquet. Out came four nice dips, excellent chicken and beef dishes with salad, rice and couscous, shortly followed by another lamb main. Servings were generous and we weren't able to finish it all, but everything was well cooked and beautifully flavoured. Service was friendly and while the decor was a bit dated, as others have mentioned, the room was clean and spacious. The prices were good too, especially for our banquet option. Recommended.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
15
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 11 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

The food was very good, a great place to try for those who are looking for something a bit different. The staff were fantastic, and so helpful in making recommendations since we hadnt been there before. The only thing that lets it down is the interior, a bit old and could do with a bit of a renovation, but the food is worth it, so dont let the slightly old decor put you off!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
15
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Redchilli: 11 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Having driven past this place every day for the last three years we decided to drop in for dinner, and it was worth it. Great food at great prices. Can highly recommend the goat.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

libbybella09: 10 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

As a large group, we were hugely impressed by the service, the range of choices, and the amount of food - the dishes were a delight! Will definately be going back soon.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
10
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

Meagan Abraham: 10 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Babanusa is Australia's only Sudanese restaurant that operates truly on the precinct of the Swahili saying Hakuna Matata which translates to no worries - an Aussie trademark. These two cultures separated by sea are united by a similar carefree attitude a vital ingredient that has seen Babanusa's rising success since its opening in 1995. The restaurant is simply one big room with a wallpapered yellow border featuring an African Safari motif that is rather immature. Dreary cream walls, impersonal, upright wooden tables and chairs with wooden panelling and detailing set a rather severe atmosphere. In addition the lighting and draft that filters in every time the door opens can be rather bothersome. We sampled the Mezze platter that consisted of four different dips: Agor, cucumber with yoghurt & fresh herbs, Gara, pumpkin and peanut with spices, Aswad, eggplant with garlic and yoghurt and Fol, spicy broad beans with Kisra the traditional flat bread. The Kisra is very similar to a traditional South Indian staple called Neer Dosa which is prepared by grinding rice soaked in water to make a watery batter. The batter is poured onto a heated flat griddle and cooked similarly to a crepe. Coincidentally, Mezze the Arabic word for little dishes: hot or cold, spicy or savory, often salty, or small portions of a main dish is used borrowed here in Sudanese cuisine. It is remarkable the many similarities of dishes, tastes and names with Indian and Middle Eastern origins that comprise Sudanese cuisine. Get the full review with pictures at: http://meagan-megalomaniac.blogspot.com/2008/08/hakuna-matata.html

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
9
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 3

DeeC: 4 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

How this was called a African Restaurant is beyond me...far from it..the food was bland...my chicken roast was meant to be in mushroom but it came in tomato and apparently was infused in mushroom what the?? the chicken jambalya was shocking and our pita bread came as soda bread!!! It was horrid not to mention the 10% surcharge we were slugged on top...how dare they...give this restaurant a wide berth...the place was very empty on a Saturday night!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
8
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 3.5

Sue T: 4 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Used to go here regularly a few years and decided to try it again even though it is a fair way from where I live. What a disappointment. The food was tasteless and in many cases varied from the menu description For example a lamb with a mushroom sauce was actually a tomato sauce and a meal which was meant to come with roast veg actually only came with potato. A beef dish which was described as a spicy beef stew actually tasted like bland gravy and the pita bread which we ordered was actually soda bread. A chicken jambalaya just tasted like a bad risotto! Then to add insult to injury when you get the bill they add on 10% surcharge for eating in. Not that it is mentioned on the menu and at first they tried to say it was GST Very dodgy!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
6
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

Dutch John: 4 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Not sure why this is described as an African restaurant - there was no hint of spice or African style flavour in any of the food. Very underwhelming and wont be going back. Staff were hopeless as well

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for Babanusa

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience