Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

7.1
km

Baan Thai

2/556 Magill Road, Magill

Telephone 08 8364 2527

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Asian & Thai.

Average of 9 reviews

  • 4.4 / 5 Food
  • 4.7 / 5 Ambience
  • 4.5 / 5 Service
  • 4.3 / 5 Value
  • 17.9 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Baan Thai

20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Schtrick: 10 months, 2 weeks ago – Link & Share

Best Thai restaurant in Adelaide, food is so traditional and tasty, wine list is great lots to choose from, service is fantastic, girls are friendly, owners are down to earth and its great value for money, car parking is a breeze too. Mid week is good quiet time for romantic dinner, weekends are very busy 10 out of 10.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Baan Thai

 
 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

Nurse: 7 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

I found this a little gem that I drive by almost every day but until now have not ventured in. We were a party of eight and had booked a few days earlier. The decor is busy in a good sense with many Thai ornaments and trinkets adorning the restaurant (which are also for sale) making a lovely Thai atmosphere. For starters we had the mixed entree platter for us all. That way those in the party were able to try or not the Thai delights. Yes, the standard spring rolls, chicken satay but also pandan wrapped meat, pickled vegetables and my favourite the Thai beef salad.All three sauces to accompany this is home made. My husband and I plan to return for a main course of the Thai Beef Salad-yumbo!! We did BYO two bottles of wine the corkage being a reasonable $10 each. Main courses were also a treat, the egg noodle dish was light and not too oily, and the beef curry with an after finish that was spicy hot. My unadventurous son had a sweet and sour dish he said was sensational. I got to try my husbands pepper squid, this was the most tender squid I have ever tried and the taste was of subtle black pepper that did not over power the squid. I had what is considered their signature dish the Tempura deep fried duck with garlic steamed bok choy, it was moist with a crispy outer, the sauce was light and superb when soaked up with the plain rice we had ordered. The service was just the right pace although the Thai waitress had a little problem picking up our English at times. It was really a treat eating there so much so we stuffed in dessert. The coconut icecream was a winner for those who ordered it and fried icecream was demolished. I had the black sticky rice with custard. The black sticky rice was not as sweet as others I have tried however with the custard it was just the right mix. After a few James Squires and Singa's we were all satisfied. We left our bellies full and our wallet still pleasantly intact. We will be back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
19.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

sammy: 6 years ago – Link & Share

I totally disagree with jabberjaws regarding the atmosphere improving at Baanthai since Peter and Pet chs relationship broke down. I have been dining at Baanthai since day dot when they first opened and always found Peter to be a good and friendly restauranteur. The food quality and freshness has not changed in the six years i have been dining there and still maintain that it is the best Thai restaurant in Adelaide, and I assure you I have been to them all. Also as far as killerjaws comment regarding Peter as only being the manager there I assure him Peter was and still is part owner of the Baanthai restaurant.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
19
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

petch: 7 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Fantastic,thats all I have to say.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Hammer: 7 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Male owner fell in love with Thailand, and thankfully started this restaurant. Authentic atmosphere, authentic food, great service from owner's children. Lovely people and memorable dining experience. Go there!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
18.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Kathryn: 7 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Very tasty food. Really is authentic Thai. Not a chinese restaurant pretending to be Thai. Very freindly owners running a beautiful (and serene) family owned restaurant. Good decor (feels like you're actually in Thailand. Can make any dish as hot as you like (or tone it down to suit any member of the family). I was very satisfied with all food tried on the night.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

killerjaws: 6 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Excellent Food. The Tamarind Duck specialty is wonderful and addictive. I've been back there specifically for this dish. The prices are reasonable for a restaurant with food of this quality. I received very attentive and friendly service from one waitress in particular, who was very entertaining and spoke very good English. The atmosphere has much improved now that the grumpy old man who used to manage the restaurant is not around anymore. Petch, the owner, is very friendly with the customers as well. Overall, I would return there for as long as I live in Adelaide. It comes highly recommended as a treat for your taste buds. Value for money is reasonable.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
15.5
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5

Linda: 7 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Not bad but the food was on the oily side, I had take away but the atmosphere inside was nice. There is better but probably the best I have found in the burnside/magill area.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
12.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 2.5

emilyj: 7 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

I had the choo chee chicken which was ok but seemed like a different dish to what I have had at a number of other restaurants - the owner seemed unfriendly and dismissive - other service was slow but still friendly My partner's vegetarian dish was fresh, but a bit lack lustre - as a couple we spent around $70 for a meal each plus entree plus a few beers.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for Baan Thai

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience