Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

3.6
km

The Brompton

5 First Street, Brompton

Telephone (08) 8340 0072

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Modern Australian, English, Asian, Italian, Mediterranean.

Average of 16 reviews

  • 2.4 / 5 Food
  • 2.8 / 5 Ambience
  • 2.7 / 5 Service
  • 2.3 / 5 Value
  • 10.2 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for The Brompton

11.5
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 2

rah: 8 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Loved the look of the place, this is a pub brought back from the brink. The lunch staff were excellent, helpful and interested, unfortunately the menu is dull, dull, dull. Been there done that, salt & pepper this and that, burger here and there, schznities, steak etc. yawn! For the price we expected a lot more. We found the food uninspired, and bordering on insulting. I would go so far as to say if they rely on their food to promote themselves, they maybe in serious trouble. It has a great deal of promise but doesn't deliver, at present, perhaps soon?

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for The Brompton

 
 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

foodie: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Wow what a great place! We were with a group and had a great time. The waiter was a hoot we will all be back soon. Great courtyard as well. Well done

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

Emso: 7 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

We have been here quite a few times. Reasonably priced food and it has been good tasting with good service! I recommend it to people!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

A.Rammen: 7 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Have dined here a few times due to it's closeness to home. We have sampled a number of the dishes from both the classic pub fare and the modern Australian menu and the results have been mixed. We have always been served by excellent staff and enjoyed the ambience, but often the meals take a long time to come out (once I waited 30 minutes, then my partner's meal came out another 15 minutes after that) but other times we have had food on the table within 10 minutes of ordering. I recommend the restaurant but it is inconsistent!...

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
14.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 3.5

Hungry Hippo: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

I really like what they have done with this place. I think they may need to advertise abit more as it is hidden away in the back streets. Great place to sneak off to in your lunch break.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
14
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

Benjamin J: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Came here after the place was done up. Food and service was great but there was a nothing feel. There may have been alot of money spent on doing it up but still lacks charisma.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 3.5

Foodie86: 6 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Very nicely renovated, nice acoustics but there were only 3 other tables. We all had stonegrill, meat dishes were good value, but seafood platter a rip off in comparison. No one came to take our drink order, first waitress was extremely rude the whole time, she scoffed at us asking for more aioli when she only gave us about 40mls when we had requested one big enough for all 7 to share, she brought back another even smaller dish, to which i explained it wasnt enough an so she got a larger dish an slammed it down on the table. The other was waitress was completely lovely, some people just shouldn't work in hospitality.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
11
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 2

michelle71: 8 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

we live near The Brompton and have been going there for about 3 years now since it was done up. At first it was great, good ambiance, fantastic menu and the service and quality of food were excellent. they had a restaurant style menu as well as the usual bar food which made a nice change. early this year we took a group of friends having eaten there a week before and having great meals only to find that they no longer had the nicer menu and were just doing the pub menu, which is overpriced for what it is. The other major problem we had was that a vegetarian friend had the option of a pasta dish - she didn't fel like pasta or was told she could have the dips plate or a side of veg or side salad. She asked if maybe the chef could add a few extras to a salad like some beetroot and fetta and the chef said no not possible. we stopped going there regularly after that as we can get a schnitzel or salt and pepper squid anywhere, but went again a few weeks back - first time since the big group in february and I ordered the beef and stout pie which has always been delicious and this time it was watery and tasteless and extremely disappointing. I told the waitress who really wasn't interested and said it should be nice because everybody always likes it - I explained that I had had it many times before and it had always been nice but this time it was really awful and she didnt care. won't be going back again unless they lift their game and improve their mnu and service again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
10.5
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 1.5

Dereks: 8 years, 12 months ago – Link & Share

We tried "The Loft" dining area. Ambience was good, the service was excellent and the entree platter was nice. The Main Meals were easily the worst meals we have ever been served at any restaurant, ever. Made worse by the high prices.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
7.5
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1

Marc: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

We went for a work Christmas '09 function to a set menu. The food was TERRIBLE and some missed out on dessert as the Hotel had run out! It might be a nice place for a drink but that's all. And one more thing, if your going to use fancy names on the menu, get the spelling right.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
7
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

Anonymous: 9 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

After hearing the hype of the new bistro, we thought we'd give it a go and see for ourselves. It will definitely be the last time we go there. After waiting at the door for at least 5 minutes while the wait staff were talking behind the bar, we were given a seat right by the kitchen, despite requesting a specific table in an almost empty dining room. Our drink order was taken and then out meal order. Our drinks arrived 10 minutes later, then our under sized $30 share platter arrived, closely followed by our mains. The food doesn't live up to the descriptions on the menu and certainly doesn't taste fresh. You can sometimes get away with serving mediocre food by having excellent service but when both are bad, you have no hope. Keep working on it guys, you still don't have it right - I hope, for your sake, it was just a bad day to dine - I'll never find out.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
7
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Lauren: 8 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

i paid $17 for the smallest piece of fish ive ever seen in my life, and when i politely questioned the waitress she was unbelievably rude about it. She clearly didnt want to be there as she had a sour look on her face all night. wont ever eat there again!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
5.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 1

b3r1a2: 7 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Salty, Burnt and Cold if you like these element then head along to experience the above average pub prices.. Yes it's an experience for sure..

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Honest Reviewer: 7 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

DO NOT EAT HERE! The atmosphere and decor is modern and looks fantastic. The service and the food? Shocking. We went on a Sunday afternoon on a table of 13. Despite our large table, there wasn't many other people there. I ordered the atlantic salmon. Everyone's meals came out and the waitress said to me that there was going to me a bit of a wait for mine. 15 minutes later, after everyone else was halfway through their meal, my salmon came out and it was RAW and COLD in the middle. The plate was sent back and the waitress didn't say a word. Just collected the plate and left. The waitress was horrible - leaning over people so her stomach touched your shoulder. At the end of the lunch the same waitress apologised to someone else on our table for my meal! And I'm still the one that left with not very nice things to say. Overall, not a great experience, not somewhere I would recommend and needless to say, I won't be back!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Loz9898: 8 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Made a booking 2 weeks prior to us dining there as they had a lobster special on during march. After driving there from Victor Harbour purely to have the lobster, we got the menu and there were no lobster options. upon asking the waitress about the special she simply said 'oh youve picked the worst night!see we have a function on soon and we dont have enough lobster to compensate for you'. keep in mind there were only 2 of us. As i looked over at the empty function area i was baffled to think why a function that hadn't even started took priority over 2 people who simply wanted to try something new. Mind you, the staff werent very helpful either. So after rebooking for another weekend (dont worry we're definatly not turning up), there was no apology or offer of anything to compensate our 2 hour long trip. The staff were not friendly or helpful at all! one other waitress just simply dropped the menus in front of us and asked 'drinks?'. It makes me wonder why they take contact numbers when making bookings...its definatly not to call us to let us know they cant provide what they've promised us. maybe the numbers just make the paper look pretty?? so after doing my hair and make up for 2 hours and putting on a really nice dress, my fiance and i ended up having wok in a box for dinner.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
 

Add a review for The Brompton

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience