Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

1.4
km

River Torrens Cafe (formerly Cafe Lago)

War Memorial Drive, North Adelaide

Telephone 08 8211 8666

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Italian.

Average of 17 reviews

  • 4.2 / 5 Food
  • 4.4 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.6 / 5 Service
  • 3.9 / 5 Value
  • 16.1 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for River Torrens Cafe (formerly Cafe Lago)

11.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 3

Anonymous Diner: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

We went to the River Cafe for our work Christmas lunch so we were a large group (more than 20 people). Despite the restaurant being full the service was excellent - meals came out in a reasonable manner and we were continuously offered drinks. The set menu catered for everyone and the food was delicious. Disaster didn't strike until it was time to pay the bill. It's always tricky with large groups but we couldn't understand why we were so short until we realised that we had been charged for four people that hadn't shown up (but that we had previously advised weren't coming). When we advised the restaurant they argued that as they'd catered for those four people it was their policy to charge for them (this "policy" was never mentioned in the conversations and I can't find it anywhere on their website - only a mention of losing the deposit which we were fully prepared to do). After several minutes of arguments he went searching for the booking form that we were apparently meant to have signed (but had never seen). When he couldn't find the form he tried to split the difference - more arguing - before he finally decided to charge us only for the people that attended. We then paid the food bill and the three separate drink bills that we'd been presented with and left. I thought the matter was finished until I received a call from two of our party that had stayed for a few drinks. They were in the car park when a staff member followed them out and presented them with a bill for $700 and claimed that we had not paid our food bill!! After several minutes of discussion regarding the amount of money handed over the conversation ended with "I'll check the register and if there are any problems I'll give you a ring". So, unfortunately, a pleasant team Christmas dining experience was spoilt.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 0 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for River Torrens Cafe (formerly Cafe Lago)

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

anny: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

This place is not a cafe but a first class restaurant with great food and views. Ample parking is a bonus. Will return.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Dana: 9 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Best view in Adelaide (of Adelaide) beautiful food, atmosphere and service. Casual and elegant.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

anonymous: 11 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

I love this place. The view, the food and service. Spot on every time. A real gem. Check out chef's creations featured on the menu specials. This is a place to recommend to good good friends.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

26 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Kenji: 9 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

River cafe is definitely a favourite, food is always great as is service and atmosphere.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

bek: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

The food was fantastic and the views of Adelaide at night cant be repeated. Tapas selection gave our group a great selection of flavours. The roast suckling pig is a must.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

timgre: 8 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

a well catered for xmas lunch for a large group puts this place on top of our list, well done we will return next year

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 12 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Overlooking Adelaide, its top level service and quality food make Cafe Lago a must-visit restaurant.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

27 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Food_Lover: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Love this place. The crab linguini is a must. Will definitely be returning.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 10 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

The view from the restaurant and the food are both great! Very enjoyable! It can become a bit pricey if you order a main as well as a side (you need it in most cases as mains dont come with a salad or veggies or anything) but if you share sides its not so bad.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

6 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 12 years ago – Link & Share

Great place for romantic dinners (ask for a window seat). Great service and great food. You must try the blue swimmer crab pasta or the other seafood pasta. You won't be disappointed! Also for a great starter to share - go for their dip platter.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

19 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
17
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Big Fan: 9 years, 12 months ago – Link & Share

Been dinning here many times over and never disappointed (except when my favourite stuffed chicken dish was removed from the menu). Very consistent meals, and remember to leave enough room for dessert. Try their tiramisu. My partner's favourite restaurant in Adelaide thus far.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
13.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 4

Nor: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

The maitre d' spoiled the evening for us. He was rude and made it obvious to all he didnt want to be there. Otherwise the food and the waitresses were wonderful. Will NOT go back again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
11.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 3

unimpressed: 9 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

We recently had dinner here for our anniversary and unfortunately, were disappointed. I have very pleasant memories of Cafe Lago, and I have to say the River Cafe is a poor substitute. The waiter was incredibly rude, almost laughably so at first - he removed plates with such aggression he spilt food on my partner's shirt, he never refilled wine and left us to walk 2 metres to the wine cooler to do it ourselves. We had menus thrown at us and were barked at if we questioned a menu item. We were refused a window seat despite booking a month in advance, and were generally made to feel uncomfortable throughout the experience. I have quite literally never had such poor service, nor have I ever felt compelled to write a letter of complaint or a bad review. On a positive note, the food was lovely, and it was much more inexpensive than I had imagined, as we were so desperate to leave we only had one bottle of wine and no desert. Unfortunately, despite very pleasant memories, this experience completely ruined our special occasion and I would never recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
11.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

Rachele: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

My partner and I dined at the River Cafe for our anniversary. After reading mixed reviews I was apprehensive about how our night would go. Upon arrival we were ushered to a window seat on the lower level. With a modern and sleek interior beholding an expansive view of the River Torrens from almost every table, our first impression of this venue was quite promising. The view of the river and Adelaide cityscape at night was quite lovely on this occasion, but unfortunately our evening went downhill from there. Though seemingly polite at first, the waiter had obviously sized us up as not belonging there and treated us accordingly. After having just 5 minutes to view the menu, our waiter demanded our order. When we requested a few extra minutes to decide, he told us that we?d best ?hurry up and order? as there were other tables waiting and if we didn?t order now, we would have to wait until all of their meals had been brought out until we would get our own. We started with some bread with olive oil and balsamic which would have been nice if it had not been a little on the stale side. The wine list was reasonably extensive and included a selection of local boutique wineries. My partner and I both ordered a duck main with a side of greens. When presented to the table, our plates were practically thrown at us; in fact the waiter was standing so far from the table that he actually tripped a little as he threw our plates. The meals, as expected in this kind of venue, were quite small but rich in flavor and visually appealing. Unfortunately mine was also a little on the dry and over-done side. The greens were quite delicious and had a sumptuous gratin of breadcrumbs, anchovy, olive oil and sea salt. After finishing my drink I was hoping to ask for another but our waiter for the evening was predisposed with an adjacent table with which he was making loud and inappropriate jokes. After a while he finally returned to our table to snatch our finished plates and inform us that if we wanted to leave some extra then we could ?just give it straight to him?. Needless to say we did not leave any ?extra? given the extremely poor service and upon leaving were subsequently ignored by our waiter for the evening. In summary, we found the waiter to be rude, false and ignorant. Despite the lovely setting and views and reasonable food, I will not be dining here again and I will not be recommending it to anyone, unless I don?t like them very much and want them to have a bad time.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
11
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 3

happenstance: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

We unfortunately had to complain about a main course. We were told that we were wrong, that all Italian style restaurants overseasoned food and that they had never had a complaint before. We travel the world, we know food, beware if you have to complain expect humiliation!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Charli Bear: 6 years ago – Link & Share

Absolutely disgraceful! The worst dining experience I have EVER had. When is it ever acceptable for the chef to come out to the cash register and argue with a customer trying to pay the bill? Ray Mauger you should be ashamed, you are completely unprofessional. The whole issue arose as one of my fellow diners salmon was raw, and we sent it back (not to mention the soggy skin that could be rolled into a ball, not nearly crispy), our waiter even was astonished, stating, 'We like it pink, but not like that!'. The salmon came back re-plated, mind you without the accompaniments and no sauce. Again, we sent the plate back, it came back with just some undressed rocket, and still mildly undercooked, and by now very dry on the edges. At completion of the course we mentioned our disappointment to the waiter. We finished our meal, went to pay, and were asked how we liked our meals. I wasn't going to raise the issue any further, but because I was asked I did say that the salmon served was the worst that our diner had ever tasted. At that comment out came the chef, who must have been eavesdropping. He started verbally attacking me stating that he cooked the salmon as it is meant to be cooked and that the skin was crispy, I told him that our table as well as his waiter did not agree. In the whole back and forth he accused me of lying and not knowing what I was talking about. Keep in mind all of this is in front of another customer next to me trying to pay her bill, and in front of the rest of the restaurant. The person taking my payment was very apologetic, explaining that she is the manager of Red Ochre upstairs, as I commented that I would never come back to either establishment again (I was actually due to go to Red Ochre next week, which wont happen!). I told her that I though the chef was very unprofessional, to which she agreed and said that it was out of character, and I should be reassured that there is a different chef upstairs. No compensation was offered, and was declined when I asked. I was there to commemorate my Mother's loss of both of her parents, what a disgrace, Ray Mauger you could have ruined our day, but my Mum and I are laughing saying that we now have a story to tell EVERYONE!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for River Torrens Cafe (formerly Cafe Lago)

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience