Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

3.5
km

Cafe Luna Rosso

128 King William Road, Hyde Park

Telephone 08 8357 0388

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Mediterranean.

Average of 21 reviews

  • 3.8 / 5 Food
  • 3.5 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.6 / 5 Service
  • 3.7 / 5 Value
  • 14.6 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Cafe Luna Rosso

20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Bianca8: 5 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Absolutely love this place!! best caf? ive ever been too and I keep going back there! have the most friendliest of staff, beautiful food and an all over great atmosphere!!! Highly recommend everyone check it out!!! been there so many times and just keep wanting to come back!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Cafe Luna Rosso

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

freckles: 7 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

It doesn't look funky or even very inviting from the outside but once u step inside its a different world. My first experience there was superb, the staff were very attentive but not in your face the food was outstanding and top quality, the atmosphere was relaxed. I went there a second time a week later and couldn't fault it again and the staff remembered me, I think that's quite rare. I will definitely be going back again and I'll be recommending it to anyone who will listen

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Sandy L.: 6 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Excellent food. Great service.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
19.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

David: 9 years ago – Link & Share

I decided to try Cafe Luna Rosso for a weekend lunch after reading a somewhat mixed range of experiences here. I ordered their vegetarian foccacia with chicken & a serve of wedges. The foccacia was reasonably sized & very tasty. The only slight disappointment was that the advertised eggplant was missing without any explanation. On the whole the service was friendly & the setting comfortable. I will return.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

gay1950: 5 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Have been here several times & have enjoyed it very much. food great & service was fantastic

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Cindy: 10 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

What can I say? Fantastic from start to finish. Meals are value for money. They have the best seafood platter I have ever had anywhere else and I eat out a lot. The service was up there more than I expected for a cafe. Coffee is excellent and the waffles are to die for! I will be going back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

24 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

SJez: 6 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

About a year ago I walked away somewhat disappointed with my overall experience with a place I actually liked. I gave a poor score based on my experience, but I did say that I'd return. I did last night and you can imagine my wife and I being surprised when we were warmly greeted and taken to our table. "If I recall," the waiter said, "you had some trouble with your food the last time you were here. I'm pleased you have come back." Talk about a long memory! In any case the place didn' t disappoint. The service was great as was the food. We'll be back again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Food desire: 7 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

I always enjoy eating here, the coffee is always well made & consistency counts in the food business. The prices are very reasonable as well. The staff greet me by name & nothing is too much trouble, this is especially for three of the staff - Evelyn, Ben & Andrew. David, Priscilla & Loretta are lovely people who care passionately about their customers, their food & their business - it is the way a business should be run. Disclaimer! I am not a family member or a friend of the owners! :~)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
17
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Jack Nicholson: 9 years ago – Link & Share

We are regulars for coffee and David and Priscilla remember how we like our coffee. We feel at home here and the loyalty card giving us a free coffee every 8th cup is a real bonus. We look forward to a Lebanese platter when we go with an appetite as it sounds like a meal and a half.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

Poppy: 5 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

A great night. I enjoyed the Atlantic salmon which was served with THE BEST cooked vegetables I have ever eaten in a restaurant. Meals so huge we could only gaze in awe at the selection of cakes/desserts. Have to visit again for coffee and cake.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 11 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

A quiet little restaurant/cafe but really friendly staff. the food is fabulous! and good sized serves. (You wont need an entree) Good for a group of people because you wont be fighting over other people for space, or yelling to hear each other. I think this is a very underrated cafe.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

23 people agree and 8 disagree.

 
14.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 3

A.Rammen: 7 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

I have dined here a few times now and each time I expect that it is going to be better for some reason. I think it is probably due to the outstanding waiting staff and general ambience of the place. However, the food always leaves a lot to be desired.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
14
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

meal was very nice, most enjoyed theirs, however the service was appalling, with the waiters being very rude an unhelpful. It felt as though i was being a nuisance for just asking for some water for the table.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
14
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

RJay: 9 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Food is so yummy and fresh, and good quality. When I go down King William, this is pretty much the only place I will eat.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
13
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Lia: 11 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Beautiful coffee, but the food was unfortunately ordinary (super-rubbery marinara pasta, which was a shame as the seafood itself looked like it had been good quality) and the service staff are very sweet but not terribly attentive. Once was enough.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

6 people agree and 21 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 10 years ago – Link & Share

Went here last night for dinner and i was surprisingly impressed. I ordered the Veal Alfunghi and hubby had the Pasta Marinara...my Veal was one of the best i've ever had...it comes with rice and veges but i changed that to chips and salad (they didnt charge me extra for it either which was a bonus).....the serving was very generous (probably the most generous i've ever had - normally i would only get about 3 pieces of veal but i think there must have been 6 in this dish). The mushroom sauce was also to die for! My husbands Marinara on the other hand was a disappointment....the pasta was overcooked (he ordered penne) and the sauce was fairly basic (napolitana sauce). He did taste my dish and liked it but unfortunately his dish was a let-down. We also ordered an iced mocha which was absolutely fabulous.....not too strong and not too light. I'd definitely go back but we wouldn't recommend trying the marinara (it was around the $23 mark as well so not cheap)...there's a heap of other options on the menu so worth a visit.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 2

Anonymous: 11 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

The staff are friendly although sometimes a little inattentive. Food is of a good quality and serving, but not exceptional for the price being paid. However, I do find that a lot on King William Road. It's unfortunate, because you don't have to travel too far afield to find the same elements of good food, service & casual ambience at a more reasonable price.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

11 people agree and 11 disagree.

 
8
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 3

mim: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

All good except by 9:30 you could not order kitchen deserts as kitchen closed, staff were cleaning around you, sweeping, mopping, smell of bleach, staff hanging around wanting you to leave, opened front door to let cold air in, turned off heater. Made to feel unwelcome that staff wanted you out. This is not a fast food outlet, it's supposed to be a restaurant and while customers are still drinking and eating I don't think packing up, cleaning and being pushed out is a business practise. Ok for a quick feed but don't expect that you can linger & chat.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
7
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 1.5

SJez: 7 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Cafe Luna Rosso has been a favourite of mine for a long time, but this time I've had my reservations. Sadly I've had a poor experience. We started off with their delightful 4 dips platter, but on previous experience we asked they did not bring out our mains immediately. The dip had barely been completed when the mains arrived. Obviously miscommunication between the order the the kitchen. We did ask for a break between courses, but the only explanation we got was that Cafe Luna Rosso was a cafe and not a restaurant and most patrons wanted their food brought out quickly. We felt pressured to take the meal. (strike one). My meal was a serious disappointment. The vegetables were burnt and had the burnt smell throughout the broccoli and other vegetables. The potato slices were over-salted and the chicken, although a generous portion, was overcooked, stringy and dry. The rice and avocado we nice though. I called over the waiter and complained. The only response was, "I'll tell the chef." I did see a "cook" from a distance. (strike 2) Having just come back from overseas and experience superior customer service (even in "cafes), I can say that this sort of customer care would be unacceptable and I am annoyed at myself for taking the "Aussie" attitude of "I won't make too many waves." This meal would have been immediately removed and replaced in a restaurant that cares for it's customer base. Clearly, this place on this occasion didn't rate customer care as important. At no stage did any of the staff ask if everything was satisfactory. (strike 3) The meal and drinks came to about $90. Very poor value. I notice that they are now being featured in the Gold section of the Entertainment Book. Perhaps they should rethink their Cafe service stance. Will I come back again? Perhaps.. I hope they just had an off day. If the manager of this place reads this review, please understand that a positive customer experience has positive economic benefit. We've all had bad meals from time to time, but it's how it's managed determines whether loyalty will remain. Adelaide has many options for a meal. Luna Rosso should have taken the stance that it was going to have me back for the long term.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
7
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 1

: 9 years ago – Link & Share

had their $23 lamb souvlaki and it was such a rip off, 2 skewers of lamb and that was it. I could not believe that was the mains!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

djw: 6 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

booked a table for mother's day a month in advance. Upon arrival we were given the only dodgy table near the gelato bar while there were plenty of other tables available. After we told the staff we were unhappy with our table allocation, they were unaccomodating and my family and I were left feeling like second class citizens. We left disappointed and had our mother's day breakfast elsewhere. It's a pity as it has been a regular coffee spot for my wife and I. I wont be going back... ever again

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for Cafe Luna Rosso

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience