Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

9.8
km

Capriccio Italian Restaurant

10 Sussex Street, Glenelg

Telephone 08 8295 6453

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving European & Italian.

Average of 22 reviews

  • 2.9 / 5 Food
  • 2.4 / 5 Ambience
  • 2.5 / 5 Service
  • 2.1 / 5 Value
  • 9.9 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Capriccio Italian Restaurant

8.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1.5

H&S: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Have looked forward to dining at Cappricio's for some time and finally got there. Left gob-smacked and disappointed. Why? The staff were generally pleasant initially. However, we all felt somewhat pressured at each stage of the meal to move to the next stage. Food was lovely, but the macchiato's were not well, macchiato's! For a restaurant in their price range, it did not deliver the whole service one would expect. This was compounded by the Manager telling us they wanted our table and "although those those poor people who had been waiting were very nice about it, they had been waiting now for a while". We were not informed that there was a time limit when we booked, and had been there less than 2 1/2 hours a that point. Left in disgust and will never return.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 2 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Capriccio Italian Restaurant

 
 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

BKL: 8 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Food was amazing. VERY comprehensive menu - so much to choose from and all looked so nice. Decor a little on old side but fantastic food (and company) more than makes up for it

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 3

Rachel: 11 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Beautiful authentic Italian food. The pasta was delicious. It was even better when they offered 2 for 1 in the entertainment book. It's a bit expensive paying full price.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

8 people agree and 7 disagree.

 
17.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

Greatfoodfan: 7 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

We recently had a family birthday party at Capriccio. Fantastic night, great service. The meals are a tad expensive, but the food is amazing, the serves generous and flavoursome. This is the food my Nona cooked! For weeks I received calls from friends letting me know how much they loved the evening, the food and atmosphere. Thank you. We will be back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

Darryn: 8 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Fantastic food, outstanding service and lovely surroundings.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 3

bhmm: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Just had dinner here and had a lovely night. Wonderful, friendly service and great food. The restaurant is small and has a good vibe, nice and quiet even though it was quite busy. It is a bit expensive but more fair with the Entertainment Book gold card -which they did not scratch so it can be used again...which we definitely will!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
15.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

itza: 7 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

I regularly dine at Capriccio Restaurant. The food is always delicious & they always have wonderful specials, the staff are fiendly yet professional. It's good value if you have an Entertainment Book as the owners allow you to reuse the disount as often as you like. I always have a fantastic time when I dine at Capriccio's.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
14
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

Glenelgian: 7 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Awesome Italian food...best seafood ravioli and osso bucco! Impeccable service... The only thing I don't get is the decor...elephant figurines that look Indian and some clown paintings....

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Lucy: 6 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Very disappointed that the menu on the website is not true. I ordered an entree lasagne and they told me we do not do an entree. I placed the rest of my order which came to $66.70 and the boss told the young lady who tooke my order over the phone it was $98.00 My calculations from this website were Spag $18.90, Veal $23.90, Fettuccine $23.90 Total being $66.70. All I can say is if prices have gone up change the website or if you want to rip off the public don't put any prices at all up.This is not a place I would reccommend

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

kjk: 7 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

BESMIRCHED THE ITALIAN FLAG by kjk (1 review) A 15yr old's celebration spoiled by GREED. Frank the restaurateur accepted a booking of 35 he should not have. Our wallets were led like lambs to the slaughter. Apon arrival it became obvious that we were in the wrong place, an error of judgment not only by Frank but by us. Frank was very keen to make an early booking of 5.30pm, Franks desire was to have us fed and watered and out by 7.30pm so he could serve his more desirable clients from 8pm on wards. Frank had one method of dealing with us and another for his regular customers. Frank displayed his communication style by tapping his wrist to indicate his disappointment and frustration of the late arrivals of some of our guests, Frank then proceeded to allocate our booked table to a party of his more prompt arrivals, one of many incidents. When we all had enough of his rudeness we proceeded to pay and asked for an itemized bill, there was an extra charge for bringing our sons birthday cake, fair enough but the problem was we had to cut it, serve it and some of our guests had to eat it with there hands as he didn't even have enough spoons or dessert forks to go round. (pathetic) it doesn't stop there, he charged each paying guest $1.50 for corkage and then charged us the Mother and Father of the birthday boy the left over of the bill and added $51 for corkage (hence the gold jewelry, shame on you). I was not aware of this until my guests made me aware of it the next day. Frank is a man that wants his cake and eat it too and on Saturday night 28th April 2012 there were crumbs every where. SHAME ON YOU FRANK. (No Recommendation) Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
11
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 2

Anonymous: 10 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Dined there last night and ordered the Veal Crema - very heavy cream sauce..creamier than your typical veal scallopine dish so got sick of it quite quickly. Partner had the spaghetti marinara however when the waiter took our order we specifically requested that they change the spaghetti to penne (we always request penne with any pasta dish we have as its just easier for us to eat with and never a problem at any place we've dined)....well when the dish came out it was spaghetti....we complained to a waiter and he said we were 'misinformed' and that they are not allowed to change the actual pasta of any pasta dishes! We were quite disppointed and annoyed because we specifically asked for it and were never told that this was going to be an issue. We didn't make a scene and went about eating our meal but when it came time to making payment, i did check with the front of house staff and they initially said it shouldn't be a problem but then 2 seconds later said "oh, i think the chef is a bit fussy with that sort of thing and doesn't think penne should go with a marinara dish so she probably won't do it". It was annoying because its not as if we requested a pasta type that wasn't already on the menu. Drinks are overpriced...we had a couple of soft drinks and they came out in small glasses and costed $4.50 each... We couldn't see the value for money here and the service obviously let us down so we won't be returning.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
8.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1.5

Bikky: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

When our goup of six booked by phone, we were told that BYO was accceptable and we checked that Capriccio is in the Entertainment Book. From early in our meal last night, the staff pressured us to hurry by removing unfinished dishes, offering coffee during the main course, giving us the bill while we are still having dessert, telling us the other people had been waiting for our our table for over an hour (we had been there from 6.30pm to 8.30pm at that time) and removing drinking water when we asked to be able to drink the water. We were forced out at 9.15pm. Our group was enjoying a quiet, friendly meal that was spoilt by the rude, aggressive and unprofessional beahviour of the manager and his staff. The manager even complained that we had brought BYO and that we used Entertainment Book cards. The food was very good.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
8
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

JJ235: 7 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Decent food, however well overpriced. Poor service from unprofessional staff who openly displayed bad moods and attitude towards patrons. Although the quaint decor helps create a nice atmosphere, the overall experience of dining here was not enjoyable. I would suggest looking elsewhere for a quality all round dining experience.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
6.5
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1.5

Doz11: 7 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Not family friendly, no kids menu even though they say family gatherings are welcome. Very rude, and food wasn't that great. May be quick service but I think that it seemed pretty odd that it took only 5-10 mins for the mains to be served out after we ordered them, makes me wonder if they had them already prepared and just reheated.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
6.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Sunset: 7 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Disgusting! These money grabbers charged us $30 just because we booked a table for 2 on Valentine's Day! They made no apologies for this and then charged us another 1.5% for paying by eftpos (savings). Don't eat here unless you want terrible customer service and your wallet emptied. Food was overpriced and average.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
5.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

mitsie: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

OMG never have we been treated as We were tonight.!! We booked for a table of 6 for 6.30pm. asked about corkage at timne of booking and told $14.50 per bottle. Arrived on time except for 1 member who had trouble with parking. Felt rushed from start to end by staff. Food OK but empty plates ripped from us as we finished our last mouthful. Coffee offered as we were having our main course and repeated offers of same several times even before dessert menu arived. The bill was placed on table before dessert finished. The wine Glasses whisked away with wine still in them. Then waiter tried to remove Paper sugar bag from customers hand and asked to leave and make room for the next table( the time: 2115 pm). All the guests at the table were taken by absolute surprise.The gueast politely said we had not finished and would continue our evening a little longer. The Manager then came to the table and removed full water glasses with his fingers inside the lips of the glasses and we were told to please vacate the premeise as he had guests waiting to be be seated. We stated we had not completed our evening nor were we ready to leave and would like to finish our drinks, but we were still told to leave and make room for the POOR people who had been waiting for an hour for a table. The Owner then complained that we had used 2 entertainment cards and also BYO and had cost him a fortune. Make up your own minds people Do you want to be treated like this? I dont think so!! I did ask why he was involved in the entertainment book promotions if he was so resentful and why his staff actively promoted BYO when booking_ No Answer!! W I urge you not to go to this Restaurant and be treated like this!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1

kjk: 7 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

views are sorted by relevance April 30, 2012 Doesn't like it BESMIRCHED THE ITALIAN FLAG by kjk (1 review) A 15yr old's celebration spoiled by GREED. Frank the restaurateur accepted a booking of 35 he should not have. Our wallets were led like lambs to the slaughter. Apon arrival it became obvious that we were in the wrong place, an error of judgment not only by Frank but by us. Frank was very keen to make an early booking of 5.30pm, Franks desire was to have us fed and watered and out by 7.30pm so he could serve his more desirable clients from 8pm on wards. Frank had one method of dealing with us and another for his regular customers. Frank displayed his communication style by tapping his wrist to indicate his disappointment and frustration of the late arrivals of some of our guests, Frank then proceeded to allocate our booked table to a party of his more prompt arrivals, one of many incidents. When we all had enough of his rudeness we proceeded to pay and asked for an itemized bill, there was an extra charge for bringing our sons birthday cake, fair enough but the problem was we had to cut it, serve it and some of our guests had to eat it with there hands as he didn't even have enough spoons or dessert forks to go round. (pathetic) it doesn't stop there, he charged each paying guest $1.50 for corkage and then charged us the Mother and Father of the birthday boy the left over of the bill and added $51 for corkage (hence the gold jewelry, shame on you). I was not aware of this until my guests made me aware of it the next day. Frank is a man that wants his cake and eat it too and on Saturday night 28th April 2012 there were crumbs every where. SHAME ON YOU FRANK. (No Recommendation)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Kiki: 7 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

wow where do i begin..... i was told great things about this restaurant. wish i had looked on web menu before i went. which is what i normally do. so lets begin.... my husband and i decided to give it a try. we have never wanted to leave a restaurant so fast. on first appearance looked nice. i thought wow this is going to be nice. well how wrong could i have been. i had salt and pepper prawns to start. bland, bland , bland.... at a ridiculous price. mt husband had for main spinach gnocchi, i had fillet streak with peppercorn sauce, rare... they stuffed up my order it came out with no sauce was medium to well. they took it back flooded it with sauce and my veg was a lump of spinach. again bland, no taste, dry awful. gnocchi was horrible tasted like garlic oil and flour. safe to say my husband pushed it to the side hardly touched. upon seeing this the waitress said everything ok with your meals. i said no and explained why. she said i will get the manager. he never came. instead they offered us coffee on the house..... yeah no thanks that doesn't sweeten the deal. they proceeded to charge us the full amount of the bill $153 dollars and that was with gold card. she said oh we didn't scratch off the number. oh yeah gee thanks, as if we are ever going back. probably the worst meal i have ever had and incredibly, horribly overpriced. please do yourselves a favour never, never go here for any dining experience.it's just horrible. and as for the manager step up buddy, and open your eyes. rather than being the cowardly money grabber sitting in the corner!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! well that is my vent over after a non satisfying meal to say the least. i now feel better. cheers!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Denny: 7 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Absolutely disgusted with our experience at Capriccio last night.Very Average Food,and Overpriced. And to top it off discovered a very loooong black hair in my food and was told by staff via manager and chef it was a "mussel" hair?????? And if that wasn't degrading enough we were only offered the meal at half price makes me feel ill thinking about it Mr Manager, and NO we won't be returning or recommending your restaurant, in fact we will be putting it out there to discourage people from dining there and slap advising the Health Department of our experience

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

mitsie: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

The worst service ever

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

kjk: 7 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

BESMIRCHED THE ITALIAN FLAG by kjk (1 review) A 15yr old's celebration spoiled by GREED. Frank the restaurateur accepted a booking of 35 he should not have. Our wallets were led like lambs to the slaughter. Apon arrival it became obvious that we were in the wrong place, an error of judgment not only by Frank but by us. Frank was very keen to make an early booking of 5.30pm, Franks desire was to have us fed and watered and out by 7.30pm so he could serve his more desirable clients from 8pm on wards. Frank had one method of dealing with us and another for his regular customers. Frank displayed his communication style by tapping his wrist to indicate his disappointment and frustration of the late arrivals of some of our guests, Frank then proceeded to allocate our booked table to a party of his more prompt arrivals, one of many incidents. When we all had enough of his rudeness we proceeded to pay and asked for an itemized bill, there was an extra charge for bringing our sons birthday cake, fair enough but the problem was we had to cut it, serve it and some of our guests had to eat it with there hands as he didn't even have enough spoons or dessert forks to go round. (pathetic) it doesn't stop there, he charged each paying guest $1.50 for corkage and then charged us the Mother and Father of the birthday boy the left over of the bill and added $51 for corkage (hence the gold jewelry, shame on you). I was not aware of this until my guests made me aware of it the next day. Frank is a man that wants his cake and eat it too and on Saturday night 28th April 2012 there were crumbs every where. SHAME ON YOU FRANK. (No Recommendation) Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
 

Add a review for Capriccio Italian Restaurant

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience