Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

3.2
km

Charminar Indian Restaurant

1/136 The Parade, Norwood

Telephone 08 8431 3444

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Curry & Indian.

Average of 15 reviews

  • 4.2 / 5 Food
  • 3.9 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.8 / 5 Service
  • 4 / 5 Value
  • 15.9 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Charminar Indian Restaurant

12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

mybooktwitspacefacer: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

haven't been there (parade) for several months but last time the chicken dish was very poor, it was like the bones and entrails and grissels that's what it tasted like. and this is the reason we haven't been there for months. before that we had a very good run and several wonderful dining experiences. i will give it another try soon. my sister loves it so i might take her there soon for a special treat. they have a good voucher deal which gives favourable discounts to regular or would be regular customers but then again shouldn't every restaurant have that in place?

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Charminar Indian Restaurant

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 12 years ago – Link & Share

it is by far the best indian restaurant in adelaide.....must try dishes r duck curry, pork belly, tawa tikka masala, tandoori scotch and the naans r mmmmmmm yummy...go and try the cheese naan.....me and all my friends love it......yum yum ...

Do you Agree or Disagree?

15 people agree and 7 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

sarah: 12 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

i went to charminar with my friends,it was an awesome experience.it is a beautiful and funky restaurant with friendly staff ,efficient service and lovely food

Do you Agree or Disagree?

15 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 12 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

I went to Charminar & I was delighted with the food. I ordered the Tawa Tikka Masala and would recommend it. The service was friendly, quick & the atmosphere great. I will definitely be going back and letting all my friends know about this little gem.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

15 people agree and 9 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

GourmetGraham: 7 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

It is a dining sensation for the taste buds, and a hedonistic delight for the palate and heaven for an Indian food loving gourmand.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Came back again after enjoying our meal around 2 months ago. was pleased to find that the decor has been updated. its now a nicer colour scheme with new chocolate brown leather seating. the service was great (staff friendly & attentive without being over-attentive) although we asked for naans as entree, we had to wait quite awhile for the food to arrive and the naans ended up coming with the mains. the food was great again, good quality, tasty with good sized servings of each dish. the new winter menu is really nice, my partner loved the goat. we'll be back!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 12 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

my friends and i come here a lot. it's in a very convienient location on the parade. the food's not too expensive. at lunch time it's very worth it!! and getting a takeaway is quite cheap. i usually get the butter chicken, and a chicken tikka entree, accompained by naan bread and rice. it's a little squishy and can be hard to find if you've never been there before. it is quite nice inside though with mirror walls and a chandellier. the service is good. dont buy the $6 water though!! coz $6 is waay to much to pay for water, just get tap water, or wine or juice or coke. the food is quite good. not the best indian ive ever had, but good oh and you also get very large servings

Do you Agree or Disagree?

17 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 11 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

I went here last week for a Xmas lunch with work friends. It was my first time but definitely not my last. We ordered from their "Lunch Menu" which mind you, is different and limited compared to the Dinner Menu they show here on this website. The prices are cheaper at lunch and servings are relatively smaller ($7.90 p/s). The food is very flavoursome... much better than any other Indian restaurant/takeaway place I've been to. Every dish tastes differently unlike some places, which use the same sauce for all their curries. The food is fresh, tasty and most of all.. delicious. I would recommend the Tawa Tikka Masala and Lamb Korma. Great atmosphere, it's a bit dark and would be excellent for a first date :) It is a small but cosy place. Comfortable booths and tables to suit couples, large or small groups. The place is clean and trendy. Service was good and food came out quickly. Well done Charminar, perhaps Adelaide's best Indian Restaurant.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

11 people agree and 7 disagree.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 3

Anonymous: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Nice lighting and decor, although a few of the seats have ripped material which really should be fixed up. The food is fantastic and the staff were great, very friendly with swift service. We loved our mains, butter chicken and lamb shanks, very tasty and very good portions. We are definitely going back as long as the prices dont go up.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4

Janey74: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Always the best indian by far in brighton

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

raj: 7 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

one of my fav in adeliade...

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

Gilbo: 8 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

One of our favourites! Great food whether it be lunch or dinner.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
11.5
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 3

curlygirl: 9 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

The room looked great and I had tried some of their food at a Norwood Food and Wine Fesitval. Expectations high, it went downhill from there. The front door doesn't close properly so I was subjected to a draught all night. The gap between entree and main was enough for us to consume an entire bottle of wine. The food was just unexciting and not sure of the draught was getting to it, but didn't seem super hot. Service was lax and unfriendly. Restaurant pretty much emptied in the time we were waiting for our mains but this didn't result in more attention. Really disappointed as it's such a great looking place - the experience just doesn't match the decor. Oh, but having said that, the dead flower arrangement above our table, with a sticker on the vase from a florist that departed The Parade easily 12 months ago, pretty much symbolised the experience. What a shame.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
10
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 4

Caitlin: 11 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

What a shemozzle! Horrible service! The waitress couldn't work out how to order the mains with the entrees. The food took 1.5 hours for the entrees. The food was tasty I will give it that, but on a wednesday night with not many people there, you'd expect it to be faster than that! Won't be back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 25 disagree.

 
8
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

John: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I used to enjoy this restaurant until about a year ago. Since then both food and service seem to have gone downhill. On our last visit the waiter treated us with indifference, didn't bother to write our order down, and therefore got it wrong. The entree was overcooked and ruined by too much sauce, and the main course had not been prepared with the delicate touch that we used to enjoy at this restaurant. If this is the best they can do I think we will go to Raj on Taj in King William Street next time we need a curry fix. The food is better and they make you feel welcome.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for Charminar Indian Restaurant

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience