Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

5.3
km

Charminar Plympton

235 Anzac Highway, Plympton

Telephone 08 8293 8747

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Asian & Indian.

Average of 12 reviews

  • 3.7 / 5 Food
  • 3.9 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.5 / 5 Service
  • 3.7 / 5 Value
  • 14.8 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Charminar Plympton

20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

David: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

I ordered takeaway from Charminar at Plympton recently after reading all the positive reviews here & was impressed. I can't comment too much on ambience or service as I was only inside the restaurant for 5 minutes, but from what I saw & did experience it was friendly, stylish & comfortable. I was surprised to see the restaurant completely empty at 9pm on a Thursday night though, but I did see a number of other couples collecting takeaway orders so it could just be the time of year (Christmas) & the area. I ordered a serve of butter chicken, rice, naan & raita & got change from $20. Definitely recommended! Next time I'll make the effort to dine in & explore some of Charminar's more adventurous menu offerings.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Charminar Plympton

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Rachb: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Just love their food!!! We asked for it to be spiced up a little and it was just perfect. The Goan Fish Curry is delicious!!! And the naan... I could go on!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

hendrix: 11 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

I just went here for the first time - lunch with a client. I was very impressed with the quality of the food and the service. The mixed tandoori entree for two was one of the best mixed entree's I have ever had at any restaurant - the chicken in particular tender and full of tandoor flavour. The vindaloo beef was spot on with its heat and intense slow roasted flavour. Awesome. Garlic Naan was light and fresh. Service was friendly and helpful without being in your face. The mains for lunch were only $7.90 - and that includes the rice!! I have paid twice this at other restaurants for half the quality. I will be back with more clients. Recommended.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

10 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 11 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

i went to charminar the other night with friends.we had a ball. the restaurant has a wonderful warm feel to it. the food is just the best with amazing flavours and spices to please the palate. and the service, you certainly can't complain. they are friendly, very quick and we never had to ask for anything twice. so if you get a chance and you love indian food, then it's a must to try.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

8 people agree and 9 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

mitsie: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

A Large group of us went for a girls night out. The food as promised was fantastic. The service was wonderful and price very reasonable. The pappadams a little soft but when we mentioned it, a new lot were bought out immediately along with an apology . I would highly recomment this restaurant for excellent Indian food and service

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

James: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

The quality of the food at charminar really is something special. Sometimes it's slightly better than at other times but it's it's always of a very high standard. Drink prices are very reasonable and you can comfortably stuff your self silly with indian food, and have drinks for around $30-$40. This is a great place to go with friends or family. The atmosphere is very welcoming. Make sure you book as it always seems to be very busy. Staff are usually excellent, although service can be a little on the slow side, particularly when ordering drinks. We've sampled many of the indian restaurants in Adelaide and at our last trip to Charminar we could safely say that it's the best indian food we've ever eaten.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
13
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 4

Will: 11 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

I'll start with the positives. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere, with attractive decor, furniture and lighting. Furthermore the food is relatively good, although nothing special. The wine list is quite extensive and it includes an appropriate variety of wines. And now for the negatives. I dined with a large group of friends. The first problem was that it took the staff more than 30 minutes to serve us. And this is despite some of us frantically waving, clapping and whistling to attract their attention. Once the food was ordered, it took almost 45 minutes for the food to come out, and when it did there was mass confusion. Some people got dishes they had not ordered whereas others got none at all. I was served 3 vindaloos when in fact I had only ordered 1! Another problem was that the rice was not served at the same time as the food. In the few minutes we had to wait for the rice the food became cold. The size of the naan breads was also quite small. No apologies were offered, and in-fact the staff seemed to be getting upset with us for complaining. Taking into account the other reviews, I am willing to admit that maybe we were unlucky on the night. I am willing to give this place another go, as its a relatively new restaurant and they may still have a few glitches.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
13
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

Rachb: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

We have noticed the meals are not as good quality as they were 8 months ago. We've found the meat & chicken to be quite grisely and have stopped going there.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Highly Disappointed: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

I went their last night with my family.. I must have to say it was the worst restaurant I have ever been to. Food was awful (burnt naan bread, taste less currys). Employees were not friendly at all. Not recommended at all.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
10
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

NNNN: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

I was in the area and me and a friend ordered from the lunchtime menu and although the price was great the food was not. I was recommended an entree which tasted rather cheap and of low quality, as was the main and the rice. I understand how a lunchtime menu may reduce the portion size but to compromise quality should be out of the question. I will not return to this venue.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
6
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Ashly Jones: 8 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

I was dining there last week with my friend, then I noticed the manager was arguing with some decent Indian people. Those people were not happy about the service and manager said that he does not care about Indians because he has big volume of white customers. What a shameful thing it was. So I decided not to go there again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
5
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

AG12: 5 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

I had a horrible experience of dining with my family and parents at Charminar Restaurant on Anzac Highway. In the name of courtesy and customer service we were being pointed fingers by the arrogant owner of the restaurant (I was told his name is Arun) and he told me that he owns 20 restaurants and couldn?t care less about customers. I was told as being the rudest customer when I asked him about my order and was told I am not welcome again. You will get the same great customer service at this restaurant if you happen to order more curries and breads in between your meals and ask when they will be served after waiting for 20 minutes without any food. The owner will first tell you that you should order everything at one go and not in between meals, then print and show you the order slip with the time and tell you rudely that in between meals order will take at least this long to serve. If you make the mistake of asking whether it can be served early you will get his best looks with pointing fingers and great customer service!!! If you like this kind of customer service, go ahead and have your food there. I cannot tolerate this and left the restaurant without finishing my meal and the restaurant was still impertinent enough to give me a bill and charge in full which I dutifully paid. Not going there ever again. Just to add to this, same service was given to 3 other families who were dining at that time and they too left the place without finishing their meals.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for Charminar Plympton

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience