Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

1.3
km

Chianti Classico

160 Hutt Street, Adelaide

Telephone 08 8232 7955

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Mediterranean, European, Italian.

Average of 21 reviews

  • 4 / 5 Food
  • 4.2 / 5 Ambience
  • 4.4 / 5 Service
  • 3.6 / 5 Value
  • 16.2 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Chianti Classico

17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 3.5

5000: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Probably one of the most consistent places in Adelaide with some of the best service you will find.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Chianti Classico

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Barry: 7 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Breakfast tasting plate - what a fantastic idea! Mix of eggs benedict, granola and blueberry waffles provides a great answer to those who struggle to decide between sweet and savoury for breakfast. Warm, friendly service and fantastic coffee as expected from such an establishment. $50 for 2 people - great value!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Sarah: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

As I hadn't eaten at Chianti for a number of years I was keen to revisit. Thankfully there was a free outside table on this particular Saturday afternoon. The cold weather wasn't a worry as they had adequate heaters and blankets too. I was craving a pasta and thankfully they had great options, all of which sounded delicious. After much deliberation I decided on the crab linguini, with my partner choosing the duck pappadelle. I was amazed at the size of the serving - I was full to the brim before I was half way through. I asked to take the remainder home and this wasn't a problem. The service from start to finish was attentive and I certainly won't leave it another few years before visiting again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

hendrix: 12 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

The crab pasta at Chianti with a good bottle of wine is of Adelaides ultimate indulgences. Recommended.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

28 people agree and 9 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Alice: 9 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

My husband and i had heard good things about Chianti and thought we would go for lunch. I was surprised at how busy the restaurant was and we had to sit outside. As another review says, Chianti provide blankets and have fabulous outdoor heaters, so sitting outside was fine, even though it was a freezing cold day and i really feel the cold. I had the crab linguini and my husband had the seafood linguini. The dishes were delicious and the serves were perfect lunch sized, with lots of seafood. The wine list was a great mix of local and Italian wines and the sommelier recently won an award so was more than capable of assisting our selection. The coffee to finish was hot and strong. We will definitely be going back for dinner, but booking is essential. Highly recommended!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Louisa: 12 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Quality food and service. the best artichoke risotto. Nolonger on the menu, please bring it back. Try breakfast, you wont be disappointed. You must reserve a table.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

28 people agree and 13 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Richard: 9 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Managed to get a table without booking for a late lunch. Service was top noch! Perfect restaurant to take guest from interstate or overseas to represent Adelaide's great range of restaurants.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

muddacha: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

I love this place! Maria, Duncan and the other staff there are attentive and friendly. I love the breakfasts and am sad to see the truffle omlette is no longer served, however the cod cakes are a great replacement. Chianti Classico is a benchmark for all restaurants in Adelaide!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 11 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Absolutely beautiful ambiance. Service is always spectacular. Food is divine. Just watch the panna cotta, consistently too hard.. 9/10

Do you Agree or Disagree?

8 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Sarah: 12 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Quality Italian food with a menu that is hard to choose from, & that's as a vegetarian. The buzz ensures a good night out with an extensive drinks list to deliberate over. The meals are of a consistently high standard with a menu that keeps your favourites but changes enough to keep you going back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

17 people agree and 16 disagree.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

dymo: 9 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

This was one of the best dining experiences that we have had for a while. The service was attentive and efficient yet relaxed and friendly. Scallop entree served attractively on shells was beautifully tender and the zucchini flower batter was wonderfully light and delicate. This was followed by a complementary amuse bouche of pate served on a crisp. The mains crab pasta serving was both generous and delicious. The roasted beef fillet was lovely and tender. The only criticism is that the serving was smaller than I expected and looked a little lonely just sitting on the polenta bed without any garnish. The fennel salad was fresh and crisp but a tad over-seasoned. All the flavours were delicate rather than overpowering. The chocolate dessert selection was an indulgent treat with only the mini-tart pastry being a little heavy. The sweet lemon curd tart was well complemented by the nicely astringent berry sorbet. They have a competent and slick barista and I noticed that even at that late hour people were arriving just for coffee. Due to a delay in dessert being served we were offered a complementary sorbet and took the last course off the bill.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

Redchilli: 8 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Having heard about the breakfasts for years I finally made it. I was pleasantly surprised to walk in and see it set the same as for a lunch or dinner service. The service was excellent - plenty of staff and attentive service. An interesting breakfast menu - we had a hard time choosing. The food was delicious. Excellent coffee.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

BoneInThroat: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

I'm a big fan of their breakfasts! Always busy, but they never seem flustered. The lunch menu is great, easy and quick to get into - most of the time I'm on a time limit, so it's good to know you can be in and out in 30 minutes. I think I may have an addiction to the Crab pasta. Love it!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

podgy88: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

The food was just beautiful - cooked to perfection. Everyone at my table got something different and was so pleased with their meals. Definately one to revisit soon!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

Marzipan: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

My husband took me here for our anniversary - it was lovely although a little noisy for a truely romantic evening - but with such a popular restaurant - that error is ours in the choosing. The menu and wine list was so impressive that it took us a while to make a decision. Service was efficient and attentive without being intrusive. The Mozeralla di buffala was divine as was the rabbit.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 3

Simon: 10 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

We have heard so much about Breakfast at Chianti that we decided to go this morning. The service is great, friendly and inviting. Very attentive and well informed staff scan the dining room. We sat inside and the restaurant is well decorated and very charming. The meals were satisfactory, they read better than they ate and i must admit they were a little bland for me but more my wife they were fine. I would certainly return however it didn't live up to the fame people praise it for.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 6 disagree.

 
13
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 2

Anonymous: 11 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Having dined many times at Chianti, we were disappointed with our most recent experience. Usually the food is reliably good, however we left wondering if a change in the kitchen was responsible for a drop in standards. Given the higher than average prices we expect food that is better executed.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

12 people agree and 8 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Olga I: 7 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Went for lunch, the place seemed nice and comfortable. After a longer than a normal wait got our food. It was fine but not extraordinary. Decided to get up and pay on the way out. The lady-supervisor looked more than unhappy with us. Not sure what it was: the fact that we came to the counter, paid with a gift voucher or didn't stay for desert - whatever it was it made us feel unwelcomed and judged. Thought that customer service tricks would be widely exercised everywhere by now. Outcome: NOT retuning for more.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 1.5

ellell: 8 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

I went to this restaurant with a friend of mine as it came highly recommended. My friend, being a bit picky, didn't order an entree as she didn't like the look of anything, so I didn't order one either. I wish I had. I got the potato ravioli for a main, and it consisted of 4 tiny pieces of pasta, swimming in a soupy sauce. It was tasty, but at nearly $30 I felt ripped off and was still starving after I had eaten the 4 pieces of pasta. If I'd ordered an entree maybe I wouldn't have been so annoyed. When the waiter brought our food over I even asked him if I'd mistakenly ordered an entree. He said no... The dessert was nice, I ordered the semi-freddo, and it was frozen solid in some parts. I had to wait 15 minutes for it to melt. An expensive letdown unfortunately

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
10
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 1

Seven: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

WOW! What a disappointment!!! What used to be my favourite restaurant and the ultimate food experience, was far from it on my recent visit to Chianti with my partner. After eating the crab linguini at another Hutt Street hot spot - Barendoe, and then at Chianti, there was no comparison. Their crab meat was minute and barely there, anitpasto very ordinary, so much so that we didn't even finish it, panna cotta was ordered as dessert but we received semi freddo? We were told there was a mix up with the broccolini and that we wouldn't be charged for it, but we were, and the menu was not as exciting as I once remembered it to be. And after paying $230 for a very ordinary meal, I will not be returning. Such a shame, all good things really do come to an end, and Chianti is one of them!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
7.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 2

MelT: 7 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

My husband had been dining at Chianti's since 1996, predominantly with work lunches and functions. Today is his 50th Birthday and his first choice was to experience his favoourite dish at Chianti's the duck with pasta. I had never been to Chianti's and was really looking forward to the build up of all the great experiences my husband had previously had. Unfortunately, Chianti's is not what it used to be. My husband chose is beloved duck dish and I, one of the special's of the day - baked garfish. The first mouthful of the fish I encountered half a dozen bones and scales on top of that. At first I thought it was just one bit, but the whole fish was like this. The peppers and chick peas were cold and it pretty much was inedible and the experience has now put me off of fish for a very long time, considering I still have a scale stuck in my throat. My husband's favourite dish the duck, was luke warm, and the duck overcooked. My meal was taken away with the offer a replacement, which I could not stomach, I chose the gnocchi dish, which came out quite quick as a replacement, but had not much flavour and around about 3 walnuts and that is being generous. The owner, a lady, who has been there forever, came over and we explained what had happened. Unfortunately, her condescending manner, has embedded the decision that we will never return to Chianti's again. She made excuses and suggested that they get the garfish in and it should have already been deboned and scaled. Took no responsibiltiy for the clear mistake Chianti's chef had made. We asked for the bill, which took forever and was not offered to have my replacement meal waived. Expensive meals, with no quality or quantity. What was supposed to be a memorable 50th birthday lunch for my husband, will be memorable in a not so memorable way. Chianti's you have lost a long standing customer and let yourselves and us down with our experience today. Never again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for Chianti Classico

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience