Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

2
km

Chu's Vietnamese Chinese Restaurant

40 Unley Road, Unley

Telephone 08 8272 4455

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Chinese & Vietnamese.

Average of 14 reviews

  • 3.6 / 5 Food
  • 3.3 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.8 / 5 Service
  • 3.6 / 5 Value
  • 14.3 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Chu's Vietnamese Chinese Restaurant

17.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

coggla: 10 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

I got takeaway so I can't say much for the ambience, but it looked quiet and intimate. If the tableservice is anything like the very helpful and firendly counter service then I'd happily eat in as well. Some dishes we tried weren't anything special and some listed on the menu here were not available, but the duck and basil special was excellent and so were the banana in sticky rice desserts. The prices were a bit higher than the prices list here, but still reasonable value for money for an overall quality meal.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Chu's Vietnamese Chinese Restaurant

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Flying llama: 4 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

We have gone back over and over and just have to order the red fish curry. Wen - at the front of house is so delightful and welcoming - little thing like getting kids meals out first . Getting you main course before the entree doesn't happen here. If you don't leave with a happy tummy and a smile on your face you weren't at Chu's!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Jamie: 11 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Fantastic food, friendly service and a pleasant ambient mood. At under $12 for most beef and chicken mains and low priced alchohol the value cannot be argued. Highly recommended!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

9 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

willo01: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Excellent food (the roast duck was amazing), friendly and attentive service and great value for money. We will certainly be going back! This the best Vietanamese food in Adelaide.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Elle: 12 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

absolutely brilliant, best vietnamese in adelaide. waiters are super friendly and the food is to die for! definitely reccommend the chilli mussels and the ginger hot pot! Such value for money

Do you Agree or Disagree?

16 people agree and 15 disagree.

 
18.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

John: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

The most notable thing about the food is its freshness. This, plus the attentive friendly service, makes it one of our favorite restaurants in Adelaide.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

cousiw01: 10 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

We ate here last Friday, late and found it very nice. We both had Duck dishes and they were very tender. Love to go back again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Timp: 9 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Great food. The salt and pepper soft shell crab was delicious. Will definitely return

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Bakes1964: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

My wife and kids love this place. We have been back a few times since first trying it a few months agoand the food is always great. Try the Red Curry Fish - its great, and the rice Hot Pot is great as well. Wen is a great host and there is a good wine list. Can't wait to go back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

cb74: 10 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

We dined extremely early so I can't really comment on the ambience of the largely empty room - nice decor though! The food was very nice however, with an extensive menu, well presented and flavourful. The rice hot pot was one of the better ones around town and the bbq pork very tasty indeed.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
6
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1

chopsticks: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Not sure if there has been a change of management since the past reviews have been positive, but my friends and I were very disappointed with our meal. The level of quality was what I would expect at a food court, not a restaurant. The fish we ordered which was supposed to come with vegetables only had a small piece of broccoli amongst the onion and carrot. We also had the chilli duck, but there was hardly any meat. The duck was thinly shredded and if you put all the meat together I don't think there was even 1/4 duck used. The sauces used taste like it was bought from the supermarket then diluted with water. The food wasn't authentic or fresh, and wasn't presented nicely. We were also ignored by staff and had to walk up to the counter to ask for service. We definitely won't be going back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 1

5000: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Really disappointing. In a dated environment this place serves up the Australian interpretation of Chinese circa 1995, there isn't any Vietnamese in sight. Seriously, you have been warned.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

SashaMcL: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

We were very disappointed! The service was slow and inattentive. The duck was chewy and dry, not to mention skimpy. The sizzling dish came out on just a warm plate. When we asked for one serve of vegetables they brought out & charged for 2. They overcharged us for one of the main dishes AND they cut our Entertainment discount voucher by half, by the time I realised it was too late. The very poor quality of food and their dishonesty was appalling. Don't waste your time and money! You could make a better meal with a sachet of Kan Tong from the supermarket.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

vroomvroom: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

i've dined at many vietnamese restaurants and this is the worst i've had so far. the food was lacking in authenticity and quality.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
 

Add a review for Chu's Vietnamese Chinese Restaurant

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience