Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

1.4
km

Citrus (Closed)

199 Hutt Street, Adelaide

Telephone 08 8224 0100

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Italian, International, European, Mediterranean, Modern Australian.

Average of 21 reviews

  • 4.3 / 5 Food
  • 4.3 / 5 Ambience
  • 4.3 / 5 Service
  • 4 / 5 Value
  • 16.9 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Citrus (Closed)

17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 3.5

Benjamin J: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

My wife and I have had breakfast there several times. A hair pricey. Friendly staff, front of house was attenative but not in your face. Really good to see a waiter who understood the wine list!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Citrus (Closed)

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Bane: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Let me explain how Citrus is an ideal restaurant for you. Have you ever been to, or looked up on, a good restaurant for an event, only to find out that the menu was practically unreadable by mere mortals? Well that doesn't happen at Citrus, Everything has that 'professional restaurant' feel to it (because it is) but without a menu that looks like it makes me want to vomit. If there is a restaurant you will want to eat at as an entry to 'fine dining' but don't want to get in over your head, Citrus is the way to go. Oh, and try their 'snickers parfait' food at it's best.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Soupnazi: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Our party of three completly enjoyed our time at Citrus. Staff excelled at making us feel welcome and the food was teriffic from the entree of stuffed zuccini flowers to the decedant chocolate desserts. It was so good we returned for breakfast the next moring which was equally wonderful. This restaurant is quality all the way. Well done and keep up the good work.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Adele Spence: 10 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

thank you for having myself and my family last saturday night, to celebrate my dad's 60th. the service, food, wine and setting was outstanding and it couldn't have been more perfect, we will definitely be singing citrus's praises to those we know and shall return ourselves. special thanks also to the chef's who created a delicious vegan meal as well. cheerios

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Dined at Citrus over the long weekend. They were very busy but found us a table, we then enjoyed fantastic coffee and breakfast in a very timely fashion considering how busy they were. We will be back for breakfast very soon. Thank you.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

19 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Megan Nash: 12 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

This is one of the best resturants that i have been too. The service is fantastic - the waiters are never 'in your face' and they alwasy make you feel like you are the only people in the restuarant when they are completely busy. A restuarant that you will go to more than once (i've been many more times!)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

54 people agree and 48 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Michelle Bardsley: 10 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

The food and the service exceeded our expectations. The staff was exceptionally friendly and professional. This is something that I appreciate and feel it is important to provide positive feedback. The food was beyond delicious. We will definitely be back, and I cannot wait!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

12 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Deb: 12 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Food was fantastic - have been for breakfast and dinner. Really enjoyed the ambiance. Well priced too.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

55 people agree and 41 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Alice: 12 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

The best brekfast in Adelaide! The French toast is amazing and the atmosphere is gorgeous. I went on a weekday so it wasn't too crowded, but if going on a Saturday or Sunday morning i would book as it is super popular. Lots of choices as well, not just eggs!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

55 people agree and 38 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Alan Cooper: 10 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

My wife and I dined at Citrus on 23rd May 2009... The food was delicious, the staff excellent and the atmosphere very nice. The only blemish on the night was when I was served my main course of Gnocchi. It was such a small serving that I had to say something to the waitress (who seemed to be the one in charge). She handled the problem professionally and without fuss and should be commended. The blemish disappeared and we continued with our great dining experience. If I may offer a suggestion on the Gnocchi dish. It only needed perhaps 6 more pieces of gnocchi and maybe a splash of green (lettuce or spinach) and it would have passed with flying colours. The meat was delicious. We look forward to returning to dine later in the year.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

12 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Oliver Stuart: 10 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

I was lucky enough to be a guest at Citrus last night. I thought the Oysters (tasting plate) and the Pork main I had were world class. It's rare to see pork cooked on the bone and done as well as last night.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

12 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Went to Citrus for dinner for the first time, and had a delicious Zuchinni, Goat's Cheese & Red Pepper entree, as well as an Eye Fillet main which was cooked perfectly. The wine list was extensive and the waiter was very good, he recommended our entrees and a bottle of Red to go with the steak. The service was impeccible, our water and wine glasses were always full. All of this was topped off with a delicious creme caramel (with blue cheese icecream, which we loved!). I would definately return to Citrus.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

19 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Food critic: 12 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Fantastic breakfast, very fast paced and lots of people. Avoid Sunday between 10 and 12 its out of control. Food is excellent and great value.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

67 people agree and 45 disagree.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 3

Adamski: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

We visited for dinner on a Friday night in October 2009. Great food, great service, great place. Not cheap, but what is these days that is any good? Highly recommended.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 10 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

I have been for Breakfast several times now and completely enjoyed it. I was pleasantly suprised this week when i returned to find a revised menu with lower prices than before and the same great food and service. I have since gone for dinner and had a great time. Highly reccommend this corner restaurant.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

23 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

BrakesBaker: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

An eclectic mix of great food & great service. Great Al Fresco setting in Adelaide's CBD. The best Eggs Bennedict/Florintine mix @ my special request, & an Osso Bucco only bettered by my own. Highly recommended.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 5

Food Critic: 11 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

A wonderful brunch experience. The eggs Benedict were divine and big enough to satisfy both my partners appetite and mine. The baked beans were morish but mashed up to much yet the flavour made up for it ten fold. The fresh apple juice and half latte was perfect. The service was visable and attentive and incomparison to other places it was good. The luxury of table service, out door climate controlled seating and the beautiful Hutt St completed a great start to the day. Highly recommended.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

29 people agree and 14 disagree.

 
13
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 2

Li: 11 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Bacon and Eggs were very good. Eggs fluffy and bacon quality.. But blueberry pancakes were terrible. Stiff, cold and clearly not freshly made. Very disappointing since they charge top dollar.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

44 people agree and 11 disagree.

 
11
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 2.5

SM-Adel: 10 years ago – Link & Share

Disappointing food, saved only by good service staff. The entree was really ordinary: 'tempura zucchini flowers' was NOT tempura batter at all and soggy in oil. Cauli 'panna cottas' were refrigerated jars of high-fat cream that at cold temperature simply coated your mouth in fat, not pleasant. Yabbys were tiny and dry, clearly pre-cooked. Mains: home made pasta (pappardelle) were broken up suggesting not enough neading perhaps?, too much garlic in the sauce and for a seafood dish it didn't develop those flavours at all. Restaurants must be able to do better than this!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
9
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 1

sangii: 9 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

One of the worst dining experiences in Adelaide. Too expensive. Average food. Terrible service.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
6
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Jason: 10 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

I had the most horrendous experience at Citrus. I will never be visiting again and I urge that you don't try it either. My wife and I waited 20 minutes for our drinks, no-one bothered to tell us about the specials and we didn't recieve our sides until we had already finished our main course. The waitor, a tall dark haired man was extremely unfriendly and when we complained about our experience he was unapologetic. Don't goto Citrus, walk across hutt street and 20m north and eat at Chianti. I know I will be. Jason Kensington.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 28 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for Citrus (Closed)

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience