Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

5.6
km

Clay and Coal

482 Goodwood Road, Cumberland Park

Telephone 08 8271 5822

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Asian & Indian.

Average of 27 reviews

  • 4.5 / 5 Food
  • 4 / 5 Ambience
  • 4.4 / 5 Service
  • 4.4 / 5 Value
  • 17.3 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Clay and Coal

11
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

Pete: 11 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Not often you get food with so little taste. A real shame for the ingrediants were ok and except for bland taste cooked well.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 19 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Clay and Coal

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Robertsaintz: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Nowhere in adelaide has matched the food from Clay and Coal I have tried about 15-20 other restuarants and it taste like they use curry paste from a jar but Clay and Coal is fresh, spicy and hot everytime without question dont change a thing mate its the very best. From Robert

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

sujatha: 9 years ago – Link & Share

i have eaten in so many restaurants in australia, but none of them make naans like this place does....i haven't eaten such naans even in India!!!!!!!....d entr?e's and d curries are all so delicious...spl d saag gosht... the friendly service and the new ambience add d special zing to the experience of dining there....

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Bubble: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

My partner and i absolutely love this restaurant and would dine in once every 2 weeks. The service is always friendly and efficient. The food is the best Indian we've had. Have been to other more expensive places and other well thought of ones and this restaurant is by far the nicest, freshest and best value. The Samosa's are the best, along with the tandoori dishes and Thalis are great value. Can't recommend it any higher Karla and Adam

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

hal9000: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Great food. Friendly. Very good prices.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

awesomegurl111: 8 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

tried the food heaps of time loved it alot whoever reads it you should try it delicious food yum. looks really nice renoveted.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Frances: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

One could easily go past without noticing the restaurant but inside; the decor and menus are attractive, clean and comfortable. The service was impeccable and the food delicious, true to traditional Indian cuisine. Servings are generous and prices competitive. We heartily recommend Clay and Coal. Frances and James.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

PRAX: 8 years ago – Link & Share

No Indian restaurant can compete with Clay & Coal- it's amazing every visit

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

FoodLover: 7 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

We had a fantastic dining experience tonight. Fresh, authentic food. Kids made very welcome. We will be back very soon.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Chillimudcrab: 6 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

We love coming here and have since it opened, we had a group of 8 last night and it was brilliant as usual. The service, food, hospitality and value second to none it's always consistently great, the owner a caring easy going guy I actually had to think about writing a review as I may not get a table next time ... we did book a week in advance and the place was full

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Cagneyman: 8 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

This is outstanding Delicious food,great friendly service,not expensive and something for everyone Vegetarians wont be disapointed either No more to say....just the Elephants whiskers

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

chrish: 9 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Service and food hard to beat. Plenty of variety, dine here regularly. Favourite dish would have to be the prawn curry. Good selection of wines. Highly recommend Chris

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Ralph W: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

We quite often get takeaways and occasionally eat in. We have always found the food to be excellent with great variety. We also find the staff extremely helpful and courteous. We have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant to everybody. Ralph and Jean.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

andycap335: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

I Love this place, the food is great without the expensive price, love the new decor too, I always have to order the dahl a lentil dish not every restuarant can get right, and of course butter chicken, they always get it right!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

aussietom: 9 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Small suburban restaurant (& small suburban prices) with top shelf food. Really good value, friendly service, good menu & wonderful food. The banquet only needs two to be invoked & gives a wonderful spread of tastes. This is as good as places costing twice as much.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
18.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

kvs: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

This is one of my favourite Indian restaurants in Adelaide. Although it looks pretty average from the outside, the recently renovated restaurant is very cosy and spacious. The staff are very friendly and attentive. The menu isn't huge, but there's enough on there to suit just about anyone's taste. Of the dishes we've tried, the flavours have all been well balanced. We normally order a few different curries, raita, naan bread, a few serves of the cashmiri pulio rice and mango lassi's. The prawn and basil curry is the house special and one of my favourites at Clay and Coal.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Paul M: 9 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Sensational place ..the family who run it are delighful people The food is fresh ...try the Goat Curry it's amazing Naan is best I've had Paul M

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

dbcss: 7 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Great food, and excellent service.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

Ash: 9 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

I have always driven past and not thought to go in, but one night my husband and I were looking for something quick and easy and our GPS lead the way... I am only disappointed that it has taken me this long to go! The food is beautiful it definitely stands out from some of the pricier Indian restaurants close by. The authentic taste and value for money is unbeatable. The service was also fantastic, the owner, such a lovely man. Even when they got busier the service remained the same quality through out the night. The decor leaves a little to be desired it was a nice change however that it wasn't all cramped like some other Indian restaurants seem to be. It was very clean and we felt comfortable. We definitely will go back and we definitely recommend you give it a go.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Michael McEvoy: 10 years ago – Link & Share

Always good food and service .We love the authenticity of the food . After travelling through India it brings back many happy memories mMchael and Prue McEvoy

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
16
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Adolf Von Islam: 11 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Hemant Gusain & chefs are dietetically aware — something which other Adelaide venues(& not just Indian ones) AREN’T. This TRUE professionalism is reflected in the menu in which foods are marked ‘lactose free’, ‘gluten free’. “Nibu Pani” is good, I prefer it “minus the brown[spices] ”. Need more Indian drinks; perhaps ‘Fruit Cup’ too. BEST items are ‘Weekly Specials’, some of which may become menued, eg. “Uttapam”[South Indian spicy pancake]; “Aloo Mataar”[Potatoes & Green Peas]; Goat Curry; Biryanis. Often, the simplest is the most fulfilling; Pappadums, Lemon Rice, Katchumber Salad, achieve this for me. The Dosas are very satisfying, my fave is the "Keema". The Tandoori foods are splendid, my fave is the Grilled Fish Tikka[very healthy, & valueful], with the Tandoori Lamb Chops not far behind. Perhaps more Indian desserts are needed; something for Aussie consumers to discover.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

11 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
14
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

Aaron: 12 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

This is a very nice venue. I often treat myself to a Chicken Tikka Special followed by a Rogan Josh which is delightful each time. I recommend this venue to all diners!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

24 people agree and 17 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Bec: 11 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

We eat from here quite alot. My boyfriend and I can get one main and split it and still be full. I suggest the Naan bread. Its the best I have ever had. We also really love the fish pakora and the lamb chops.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

13 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

scissorsaint: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

I have tried most indian restaurants in adelaide but I keep coming back to Clay and Coal it simply is the best the vindaloo is my favourite, a must see for lovers of authentic indian foods, Teach me how to cook man... From Robert

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
12
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 2.5

Eat and review: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Dined at this restaurant recently, reasonable experience. Staff were polite but forgetful, almost had to teach them what to do. Food was quite good but the mango lassi's were very watery, excuse was that they were low on mangos, which for a indian restaurant on a saturday night is ridiculous. Surrounding were average, chairs looked like they were froma hospital. Price was little bit on the expensive side but overall an ok experience.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Minni: 5 months, 2 weeks ago – Link & Share

Food is so delicious and fresh here with extremely efficient service. Staff is also very friendly. And the best part is that prices are appropriate. There is no chance of disappointment. I would like to recommend everyone to visit this restaurant for dining and takeaway.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
11
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 2.5

Anokh: 8 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Lamb curries was awesome, not more or less the spices were perfect for all curries.It tasted great,And yea i felt like it was under priced for the taste. Downsides are No cocktails,No enough parking space and One of the worst toilets you would never want to use. They do badly need a renovation for the entire restaurant soon.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
 

Add a review for Clay and Coal

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience