Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

7.3
km

Ginling Chinese Restaurant

609 Marion Road, South Plympton

Telephone 08 8374 1288

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Asian & Chinese.

Average of 28 reviews

  • 3.5 / 5 Food
  • 3.2 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.6 / 5 Service
  • 3.7 / 5 Value
  • 14 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Ginling Chinese Restaurant

19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

westy: 8 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Gary: 1 week ago - Link & Share We go to Ginling at least once a week travelling 20 klm each way as we are that impressed . Rebecca and staff are always happy and willing to cater to our needs which include some dietary requirements. We find the food of an excellent quality and generous sized serves and would recommend the restaurant to all. Gary & Terry West.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Ginling Chinese Restaurant

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

janet: 10 months, 2 weeks ago – Link & Share

The only chinese restaurant I go to, would not go anywhere else. Never had a bad meal or take away from this place after many years. Good value for money.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

paige12: 7 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

The food was topped to the max, great quality as well. Probably one of the best Chinese restaurants I've eaten at.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Ralph W: 8 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Without doubt my favourite Chinese restaurant in Adelaide.We have been coming here for many years and the food and service from Rebecca and Fei and all the other staff has been brilliant. We love the restaurant and highly recommend it to everyone. Ralph and Jean W.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
18.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

BJ The Food Critic: 6 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Without question, the best chinese, in Adelaide, and thats why its been in business for 30 years. The best service in town, and the hosts are truly passionate about their business and of course the food. Byo is a must, and book in advance. Home style chinese with all the western traditionals to boot. Cheap, and i mean CHEAP. Best value for money take away ive ever had, and i sincerely hope they dont ever change! Fresh, honest, generous and favour packed food with variety to keep every palate satisfied.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

MASTER OF THE FOOD: 7 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

South of Gouger street you wont find a better Chinese restaurant. Ginling's staff are kind and courteous every time we go there, paying special attention to our requests. The only time that our food was late, and only by a few minutes, they were kind enough to throw in complimentary drinks.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

cb74: 9 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Ginling is the best chinese restaurant in Adelaide, hands down. While the place looks a bit naff and the drinks list is pretty ordinary, Mr & Mrs Ginling are fantastic hosts and the food is out of this world. The trick is to ask for the chinese-chinese menu as whities (at least) will generally just be given the bog-standard, sweet-n-sour-pork version. If there's anything you think sounds interesting but you don't know what the hell it is, just ask for a friendly explanation and experimentation is warmly encouraged. What's more, Ginling has great prices and is totally family-friendly. Couldn't be recommended highly enough as long as it's the food, not the decor, you're after.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

David: 10 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Nice food and service there. Got my money's worth. Been there a few times and seem's good to me and my friends. It does get busy at times there but I think that's a good thing. Just show's people do come back there.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

10 people agree and 7 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

susan77: 7 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Nearly every week we get takeaway from here and love it. We have dined in once and where not dissapointed, only thing is we had a hotpot and loved it, but its not available takeaway. Great food, service and vlaue for money.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

breezi: 7 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Great food reasonable prices and always service with a smile

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Allan C: 7 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Best roast duck in Adelaide

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

becdavis: 4 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Have been going for 20 plus years always awesome food and service. They tolerate my crazy kids too. I would love to do up the place though. Rebecca

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Ramsay: 8 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Tuesday night at Ginling Restaurant for my wifes birthday, 8 adults & 3 littlies. Glad we booked surprisingly busy for a Tuesday night. We had just returned from a visit to China 4 weeks ago and had another craving for Peking Duck. Wow! best duck we?ve had this side of Beijing. I think the trick was that I ordered when I did the booking, so they didn?t have to chase one down on the night. The chinese vegetables were a bit ordinary but the garlic prawns , fresh and sensational, no mistaking they were hot, man that plate was sizzling when served! Same like the Mongolian Pork, yum! loved the fried rice too. My wife and I had been there 3 yrs ago, all our guests it was a first time. Everybody said the food was delicious and had a great time, service couldn?t be faulted. We?ll be back sooner! D.Ramsay. www.restaurantrecipesecretsrevealed.com

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Steven: 11 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

I dined at Gingling for the first time last weekend and I must say the experience was one to be remembered. Not only was the food remarkable but the service was second to none - the waiter was even kind enough to notify me and remove some fluff from my hair. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the restaurant provided a comfortable dining experience. We will be returning soon!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

12 people agree and 6 disagree.

 
15.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

retro: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Great food with heaps of flavor

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5

Rachele: 8 years ago – Link & Share

My boyfriend and I have eaten at Ginling a couple of times now and have been impressed each time. The food is always tasty and fresh. We particularly enjoyed the seafood bird nest and the deep fried chicken pieces which were beautiful tender breast pieces. They have extensive western and traditional Chinese menus offering a very enticing selection. It is refreshing to see a suburban restaurant serving more than just westernised cheap imitations of Chinese food. The service is quite reasonable and the wait times were speedy. All in all, we were very impressed with this restaurant and would definitely dine here in the future.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
14.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Redchilli: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

The service was quick - the food was ready before we got there even though we arrived before the food ETA. The serves were a good size and the food was tasty.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12.5
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Andrea: 5 years ago – Link & Share

Have been a diner at the Ginling Chinese Restaurant for over 20 years & can honestly say they never disappoint. Their meals tasty, the servings are generous. Throughout the years they have undergone reviews which have been published in newspapers & magazines & they've consistently done very well. Enjoy!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

house of peaches: 7 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

I enjoy Ginling's food however after eating here for ten plus years I would expect some change in the Menu. However there has been none at all. Good food but it would be good to see some new dishes on the menu. So how about it Ginling ADD SOME NEW FRESH DISHES.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

emma: 6 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

bad service, didnt get any free prawn chips like everybody else. oily noodles, toilet was disgusting there was dried urine all over mens toilet seat. would not go there again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Shazza: 6 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Their Duck is the best food I have ever tasted in my 58 years of life and have travelled extensively around Europe and some Asian Countries. Well done

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
12
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

Sally: 10 years, 12 months ago – Link & Share

The restaurant was busy (Saturday night), staff & service were good but we felt a little disappointed with our food - it was very average, it was presented ok but was not very tasty. The rice was gluggy, the crispy chicken was average - fiddly with the bones and not much chicken, the honey prawns were a little doughy and there was a 'frozen taste' to them. Overall, we were disappointed.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 19 disagree.

 
10
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 4

Martin72: 5 years ago – Link & Share

After dining quite regularly for a couple of years, we experienced "smoked fried rice", clearly something wrong. The staffs way of dealing wi.th it, was just to listen to our complaint and fob us off. Never dine there again

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1.5

Nobody: 6 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

After reading the many positive reviews on this site, I was looking forward to finally trying a decent Chinese restaurant in our area. I must say I was extremely disappointed with the food. The spring rolls and other food that had been fried had a terrible smell, as if they had been fried in oil that was very old. The meats, particularly the duck was fatty, obviously not the best quality. Based on the reviews this was supposed to be the best Chinese restaurant in this area, one that people would drive 20km to get to. I can confidently say the food was appalling and I will not be recommending or returning to Gingling Chinese restaurant on Marion rd.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Andy Tong: 6 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

P.S. i rather eat Kantong

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Andy Tong: 6 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

I think the waiter name was Alfred or Albert dirty old man

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Andy Tong: 6 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

There food is awful the fried rice was not fried correctly, the roast duck was far too salty with all bones, the worse dish was the satay beef i counted 6 pieces of beef and they charged me $15.00 my bill was 90.00 and i had to stop off at maccas i would suggest House of pearl on Gouger not only that to top it off the old waiter coughed on me , you would think to cover your mouth you old fart!!!!!! the worse

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Andy Tong: 6 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

House of pearl is a great place to eat!!!! gouger street there duck destroys GIN LINGS roast duck

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for Ginling Chinese Restaurant

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience