Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

2.1
km

Ginza Japanese Restaurant

48 Unley Road, Unley

Telephone (08) 8357 3888

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Asian & Japanese.

Average of 9 reviews

  • 4 / 5 Food
  • 4.1 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.6 / 5 Service
  • 3.4 / 5 Value
  • 15.1 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Ginza Japanese Restaurant

18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

Food critic: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

heard about the new restaurant ginza few weeks ago & finally here tonight. very impressed with the japanese garden style dinning experience. food was great especially the sushi platter. Very fresh salmon & oyster. the serice from the staffs is great and they look fantastic in their traditional dress. highly recommend this place!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 2 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Ginza Japanese Restaurant

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Dan: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

i lived in tokyo over 3 yrs and returned to Adelaide recently. I get used to having japanese food and luckily Ginza made me feel like being in japan again. I strongly recommend the Ginza platter, extremely fresh salmon, oyster & tuna. will be back shortly

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

Food critic: 7 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Just had a meal at Ginza, a brand new menu with lots of new dishes, better pricing and value. Enjoyed it, well done Ginza! will be back next week with my mates!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Food critic: 8 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Been back to Ginza last night, very impressed again, i just loved the Ginza platter!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

Rusty05: 8 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

It is a little on the expensive side however the level of preparation in proper japanese food (and this is) more than justifies this. Local Japanese dine there and swear by it. Going back this week.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

soothepanda: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Great Japanese food, great decor. Outdoor courtyard looks great - keen to try sometime. Had Sunday night dinner here in a group of 4. Food quality was excellent but I agree with other reviews, it is a little on the expensive side - quality is similar to Wasai but prices are higher. For two of us, 2 entrees, 2 mains, 3 glasses of wine and 1 side came to $115. It is however in the trusty entertainment book so definitely recommend trying it. Highlights were the takoyaki (if you like Wasai's, you'll love these) and the incredibly fresh sashimi. Tempura udon soup was very tasty, thoughyou can expect the same for a fair bit cheaper at Wasai or Hotaru in the city. Service was excellent, decor is lovely, fish is so so fresh and I will definitely return... though I may stick to Wasai for the same delicious food but better value.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
14
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5

rah: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Overall we enjoyed the experience. We have eaten at better, (and cheaper) Japanese places in Adelaide, (Wasi). I would agree with other reviewers with regard to the cost. A little on the expensive side. The Tempura was very ordinary which was disappointing. We were both in the mood to be upsold on food and drink but the language barrier made that impossible. We decided not to give up on the place and will try it again some other time. Worth a try.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
9
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

japanesenoodles: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I had dinner there last night, and my friends and myself have pledged it was one of the worst experiences and we won't be going back. Restaurant looks nice from our table out front. But service is poor and poorly managed. Waiting staff were not attentive and whenever we tried to get their attention, we were always ignored even though they made direct eye contact. This happened numerous times throughout the night. Food took a long time to come out. This is mainly because they waited for your to come clear your entrees before they even let the kitchen know to start your mains. And to get them to clear your table, it takes forever because they ignore when you want to get their attention (when they are busy its excuseable slightly but later in the night when it was empty, that is totally unexcusable). Drinks also took forever to come out and when we asked for more tea or water, they never came back. Two of our last dishes never came out even though we politely asked waiting staff twice about it. So we just cancelled those dishes after two hours of this waiting and asked for our bill. Food is not above average. Yakiniku beef and yakitori chicken tasted more like korean boolgogi and the chicken was sickly sweet. Okonomiyaki is soggy and takoyaki didn't have any octopus in it. Tempura was the only decent dish. Plain rice that we waited for 15 minutes to come out after a reminder was so mushy, and by then out meat was cold. Root of the problem is poor management, staff is all over the place and nothing is ever followed up. Even though we sat at the front, we stank from the smell of the BBQ at the back and that was disgusting. Need to install decent fans to suck out the stench. If anyone really wants to eat here, they should only order a big sushi platter or as little courses or dishes as possible because the more dishes the longer you have to wait and with the poor service, you will be waiting very long, and more likely not see your food at all. Would not eat here esp in you don't set aside 2 hours+ I didn't think the food was nice overall so I also didn't think it was worth the price. Would not recommend. It was such a wasted of time and money.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Kiki: 9 years ago – Link & Share

this restaurant is awful. food dry and bland. service there isnt any and ambience yuk. i would just say dont bother... and incredibly expensive. wont be going back

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for Ginza Japanese Restaurant

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience