Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

10.4
km

Grange Hotel

489 The Esplanade, Grange

Telephone 08 8356 8111

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Modern Australian.

Average of 11 reviews

  • 3.9 / 5 Food
  • 3.9 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.8 / 5 Service
  • 3.8 / 5 Value
  • 15.4 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Grange Hotel

19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Sarah: 11 years ago – Link & Share

Fairly well some of the best quality schnitzels in the western suburbs. I can been seen at the Grange hotel at least once a month or anytime the craving for a good pub meal hits. While I may speak of 'pub' food the Grange Hotel has a complete restaurant/ bistro, with competent, friendly and attentive service and excellent food. Not your typical 'pub grub'. I am yet to venture from my tried and tested favourite to some of the more exciting meals available, but I am sure like everything else on offer, they will be delicious and of a standard not often seen in suburban pubs. Can't wait to come back for my next schnitty!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 1 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Grange Hotel

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Hungry Hippo: 10 years ago – Link & Share

Agree with Sarah it is the best 'pub' meal you can get in the West!! I stick the the front bar for counter meals. I luv how you can order a caesar salad and for $3 per extra add chicken strips and calamari. Don't knock it until you try it!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

sellerto: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

I've been to the Grange for both pub and dinner 4 times. I live very close, which is handy of course! On Valentines (which is a difficult day for restaurants), we were given great and attentive service. We booked for 7.30 for 4. We were 20minutes late, so I phoned up and apologised understanding if we didn't have a table anymore. They were still obliging and said, "no worries, come on in". We were offered a table close to the window, but the waitress even decided to pull out the stops and move us lock, stock and barrel to the window. We were very happy considering that I had my mother here who just landed, for the first time, in Australia this day. My girlfirend and I were also very happy. Our other friend couldn't make it so we were left with three, but they didn't seem to mind. The menu was as good as always; however, we ventured with the specials which consisted of either NT barramundi or kangaroo, crocodile and emu sausages. The entree was an impressive array of tapas-type stuff like squid, feta cheese, bread and pita and so on. The food was very good. The service was very friendly and attentive. The ambience is great with great big windows looking out upon the sea. If one was to look for something to complain, the acoustics made it a little loud, but that could be alleviated with adding a few more soft furnishings in the room. Well done guys.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Hungry27: 9 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Great experience, not your usual pub fare, more like fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere. Food is excellent, good size portions, extensive wine list, a little pricey, but the food is worth it. Staff excellent, and will cater for any need. Good stuff.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Will: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

It is easy to see how this place won the best bistro in Australia. Everything from the ambience to the service is top quality. The best point is however the food. We ordered a couple of share platters and were impressed with the abundance and superior quality of the ingredients. In particular the seafood. It tasted as though thr scallops, prawns, mussels and oysters were most likely still alive earlier that day. We dined in winter and yet had a great time. I can't wait to go in summer, particularly now that the Grange foreshore has been redeveloped.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

meekin: 7 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

I ate here recently for a family event and the overall consensus was that the food was quite nice, generously portioned, and that the wait staff were helpful (especially considering our large group). Our only complaints were a lack of soymilk for coffee (which is pretty rare these days! Especially for a more upmarket establishment. Pick up your game, Grange!) and that some meals were overly salty. The dips and olive platter, while tasty overall, was a little overwhelming; salty olives are great, but combined with salty dips and very, very salty bread, it quickly became overbearing. The sauteed vegetables were fresh and crisp-tender, but came swimming in a pool of oil that overwhelmed the vegetables. Many of our group ordered pizzas, which were on a deliciously chewy crust and were very large! Don't be afraid to split them between two people if you're ordering sides or entrees. The standard pub meals were also favourites, especially those based around fish. Overall, it was a pleasant meal, and I'd recommend it to anyone looking for decent pub food in a very nice location.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
14
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

soothepanda: 8 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Decent pub food with great views of the ocean. Had a great caesar salad with amazing amounts of calamari for just $3 extra (same option for chicken). Huge serve, great salad, pretty decent calamari - very good value I thought. Reasonably priced wines by the glass, mainly pub staples but everything I could see looked good - big seafood platters with delicious looking scallops and my friend said her chicken parmi was excellent. Definitely a good pick for pub food with a view!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12.5
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 4

MasterCritiq: 9 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

First time excellent! Went a second to test the consistency - average, went again thought needed third time to make the scales balance and it was worst all round!!! Unaccomodating, unfriendly staff, lengthy waiting for meal, food not fresh, overcooked! Only meal which saves them is the Caeasar Salad with Calamari, consistently been fresh every time.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 2.5

plandc@optusnet.com.au: 3 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Hi, we went with a group of 6 on Saturday night, 3 had the Vietnamese Salad. It would have been the blandest, most disappointing Vietnamese Salad I have had. The minimal amount of chicken had been almost mashed and the salad was chopped too small and there was no dressing or flavour at all. $23 for something that you could pay $9 for in a cafe and enjoy more.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

nick h: 10 years ago – Link & Share

i think the chef here tries harder than most pubs to give innovative choices, yet still the usual pab fare. never had a problem, from big family groups to intimate tables for 2. big serves, good service.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
7
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

Anonymous: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

A very disappointing experience of waiting 1 3/4 hours for food to arrive after being ordered was compounded by the average quality of the food. Apparently the kitchen could not cope with serving the upstairs function as well the dining room. Overpriced and not worth the effort.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for Grange Hotel

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience