Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

10
km

Gringos Mexican Cantina

1 Colley Terrace, Glenelg

Telephone 08 8295 3524

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Mexican.

Average of 30 reviews

  • 2.7 / 5 Food
  • 2.9 / 5 Ambience
  • 2.5 / 5 Service
  • 2.4 / 5 Value
  • 10.5 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Gringos Mexican Cantina

19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 10 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

The food was great, the servings were big and the service was great. The restaurant is in a good location and makes for a nice night.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

10 people agree and 10 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Gringos Mexican Cantina

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

LT: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

I go to Gringos on a regular basis. We go because we LOVE the food and drink, its a great place to start a night out (especially with a few sangiras under your belt), have a relaxing lunch or even a good value take away. Food is awesome and has been for the many years I have been going there. Am yet to meet a better plate of nachos.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 9 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Katrina: 10 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

I went here awhile ago but had a fantastic time. Good value for money and great meals. Our group enjoyed the litre carafes of margaritas too!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

12 people agree and 22 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

rlik: 7 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

i have been going to gringos for years and everytime i go it never changes, maybe the owners have changed but the food sure hasnt. i love i always go back for the best in adelaide for sure.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Jan & Janie: 11 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

great ambience in the restaurant, service was quick and friendly, food was fantastic and very reasonably priced, portions very generous. atmosphere typical mexican, nicely located and easy to get to.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

25 people agree and 42 disagree.

 
18.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

tshirtweather: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Great to sit outside with a plate of dips, a couple of carafes of margaritas and good friends on a warm afternoon while you watch the world go by.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 5

rest_reviewer: 9 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Always great mexican, stick to the bottled drinks though..the usual tacky mexican decor.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
15.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5

Redchilli: 8 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

I returned after many years to find that Gringos hasn't changed a bit. The burritos are still huge and tasty and the margaritas are still good. Even though it was packed (people were getting turned away) we didn't wait long for our meals.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
14
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Anna: 3 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Used to go a lot before it changed hands and had a reno. Went last Sunday and it's closed. Rang today and no answer. The best sangria and nachos in Australia. I guess the new people stuffed it up as we haven't been for a couple of years due to bad and grumpy service and atmosphere. But did think we'd try it again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3.5

Steve: 4 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Recently went to Gringos, Here is an observation, Food - quite good, perhaps a little over priced, but good serve size. Service - Good, But the main problem is the level of noise, the walls are very reflective, being hard and with a bare concrete floor. Every time someone moved a chair - it was very loud. The music from the sound system was acceptable, but when combined with the extra reflections etc, it became annoying. Almost too hard to carry out a normal conversation. Sad really, because the place could have a nice ambience. Now - people at Gringos, add some sound proofing, disguised as wall art, Then add some felt to the bottom of the chair legs - And I would definitely return. Steve

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
11.5
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 3

soothepanda: 7 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Perfectly good Mexican food. Not great but fine. Big serves of nachos won't blow you away but will certainly satisfy an urge for a melted cheese binge or hangover fix! Take away is good value. Burritos yummy.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
11.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 1

AjBC: 7 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Good service and good food.But Mexican food is meant to be hot, the food wasnt hot and we had to pay extra for chillies/jalapenos! That's cheating!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
11.325
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 2.325

Foodcriticmate!: 6 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

The worst service, food and incredibly unhygienic. Staff are oblivious and don't care about any of their customers. We sat at a dirty table waiting for it to be cleaned for 20 mins and waited an hour for the blandest tasting food. Never again we hope the place gets shut down!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
10.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Nature Boy: 7 years ago – Link & Share

Overall, it was a horrible experience at Gringos. Somehow they made mexican food taste bland. The only thing that gave their food flavour was the jalapenos which we had to pay extra for!! After eating there, I felt very sick. I have heard from a number of people who have also felt sick from eating here. They pre make all of their food which I think is pretty poor when paying $20 for nachos. I would avoid this place, much better places in Glenelg that won't make you sick.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
10
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 1

blucatz: 6 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Was very disappointed, had read great reviews, but we found the food bland and over priced. No fajitas or enchiladas on the menu and $20 for a small nachos,...i mean really!! Stick to bottled drinks. Only saving grace was the authentic lemon margarita!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
9
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 2

Lilac: 6 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

1 hour wait for average food. This used to be an awesome place but has gone down hill in a big way. Grumpy staff too!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
9
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

Novie: 6 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Not once but TWICE in 2 weeks have I been treated like absolute crap by the older woman that works behind the counter all because I wanted to use the Entertainment voucher that GRINGO'S put in there First excuse is that it was School holidays (they are not allowed to do this) then went on to say that it should have never have been a 2for1 voucher and should only be 10% off - like this, as the consumer, is my fault I went back tonight and went to use the voucher - We ordered a main and 2 entree's with another lady - when we wen to pay our tab the older lady didn't want to take off 1 entree as she shoved the voucher in my face and said "See it says main course" I dont understand why it was such an ordeal to take a $10 meal off rather than a $20 meal off!?!?!?!?!?! All the other staff are lovely and the food is really nice - however the way you are treated for using an entertainment book voucher that the company put in there to bring in customers is appauling and would never recommend this to anyone Such a shame :( I have reported this to the entertainment book and will never go there again!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
9
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 2

Kiwicate: 7 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

My experience here was extremely poor! I went with a group of 20 and they hadn't prepared enough tables for us for a start. We were there for over an hour before our meal order was taken by a lady who was so sour, she looked like we were a burden to her! The menu was very limited. I was one of the lucky ones who ordered a very mediocre nachos. I have had better at Kibbi's Hyde Park and they're not a Mexican restaurant! Others, however, were not so lucky and ordered the Buritos which came out cold! We spent far too much, in that the service and food were very poor and we spent over $500! I don't think any of us will ever return to this restaurant! I don't know how they are still in business.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
8
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 2

miss: 7 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

i use to love gringos but after my most recent experience i will never go back, we were treated like crap by the waitress, the food we ordered came out wrong or not at all in some cases. One of our party waited an hour for a coke, two others waited the whole evening for food they ordered but never came to them. When food was sent back because it was the incorrect item, the correct item was never delivered so half our table went hungry. When we complained the hostest told us to leave so paying customers could be seated at our table and when we requested she fix her mistakes she threatened to call the police if we didnt pay for the things we didnt have and leave. I worked in hospitality for four years and iv never seen someone behave the way she did or have i had a more disgusting experience at a restaurant.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
8
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 1

theneverwhen: 6 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

All I can say is that I wished that I had read the five most recent reviews. My partner and I ate there tonight , the food was late, slightly congealed from overcooking and then cooling down to almost room temperature while waiting to be delivered to the table. How people in adelaide put up with service like this ??

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
5.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Scott Mcginn: 5 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

SLOL!!!! (That's a sarcastic laugh out loud) this place came under new owners about 2-3 years ago. They have since changed the decor from the old surfers cafe to a generic earth colours and wooden tables look. While the decor has been changed the quality of the food hasn't. It is still the same tired rubbish that the old owners used to serve up. It's sad that 4 years ago this was Adelaide's best Mexican food. Since that time the arrival of Chile Mojo on Magill Rd at St Morris has meant the availability of ingredients we once only dreamt of in Adelaide. With the coming of these ingredients people started playing, and restaurants such as Lucky Lopitas, Maiz and Mezcal and the bar food at The Hotel Tivoli have shown how great Mexican cuisine can really be. My meal at Gringos certainly wasn't forgettable. My stomach was still acting up 2 days later. I ordered combination tacos, one with Shredded Beef and one with Frijoles. The plate came with about two thirds of it covered in a chopped salad that looked like it had come straight from a prison kitchen. Some stale corn chips where along the side. I had been asked if i wanted the tacos served with fries or lime rice. I opted for the rice, and was shocked by the quarter cup pile of tasteless slop that was on my plate. The bean taco was canned kidney beans mixed with nothing and some taco sauce that must have come straight from an Old El Paso taco kit. It was tasteless rubbish that and I think I would have got more enjoyment eating the can. The beef was shredded beef that seemed to be completely unseasoned. Finely grated processed cheese was stuffed in the bottom of the crisp plastic like shell and the taco was topped with more of the Old El Paso sauce. All this food cost me a lazy $20. The service. I arrived at 17:50, the restaurant apparently having been open since midday. I was the only customer there, although some tables had reserved signs on them (I have no idea who would reserve a table here, unless a kid was being punished for bad school results). I had three staff members walk past me without acknowledging me, I ended up approaching one to ask if I could sit. She looked a little taken aback. They cleaned around me, seriously at 17:50 at night!!!!! I seriously wouldn't recommend this place to anyone, with the possible exception of Justin Bieber, in the hope he got food poisoning. AVOID!!!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
5
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

bubbagump: 4 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Hadn't been to Gringos for about a year. Was very disappointed! Not sure if under new management or what but the ambience has gone, no longer are all the cool Mexican artefacts, it is now BORING, painted plain red with nothing to look at on the walls. We went for lunch the music was grunge (not everyones taste) & SO SO loud you could not have a conversation, asked to turn it down, it barely went down a notch. They did not seem to care about the customers. The only good thing was the burrito the salad was awful & we had HOT beer yes HOT beer and it was a warm day so a cold one would have been nice....so disappointed, it used to be just a wonderful place...bring back the old management. Wont go back again now.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4.5
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

novakane: 6 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

The service here SUX - The head lady is horrible and will bite your head off if you complain - the food is ok - about the only thing going for it besides the location - The old owners where much better and werent horrible to their loyal customer - I WILL NEVER RETURN!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
4.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

sue99: 6 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Worst mexican food I have ever had , so bland that it was a joke Staff need training too as they lost our orders and took over an hour to finally sort out our meals. Cant believe this place is still in business good location is its only good point

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Melly: 3 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Called to make an order was placed on hold and forgotten about for 5-6 minutes which is usually fine but, could hear the whole conversations between staff members as there was no hold mute or music whilst on hold so know they weren't serving other customers. Then could hear the phone get picked up and then we were hung up on! I Then called back and was told the call must have been disconnected or something which was a lie as I heard the phone get picked up and hung up by the lady on the other end. Then we were told there would be a 45 minute wait for a simple take away meal of two burritos and a chilli con queso! As a past employee with the old owners I know full well these dishes take 5 minutes to make and prepare, so I cancelled our order as the wait time was ridiculous and after the terrible service it just topped it all off! Will never order again from gringos glenelg and by the looks the terrible service is regular trend these days!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Kiki: 9 years ago – Link & Share

this place is terrible, just terrible. from the service to the food on the plates. the margaritas are dreadful, like sucking on a lemon... no crushed ice. food is so overpriced and covered in so much salsa, which by the way doesn't even taste that nice. nope never going back again just horrid

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

JennyJ: 6 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

We could not book for 7pm although I'm not sure why as when we arrived at our booked time of 6.40pm we were the only customers. We were initially ignored but the patient waiting did finally pay off and we were finally acknowledged. When the food came the chicken burrito was cold in the middle and did not taste fresh also the chicken was difficult to find. The nachos was also cold but the taste was ok. My husband and I use to frequent Gringos years ago and I was looking forward to going there again but I will give it a wide berth from hereon in. When we were asked how our meals were we were honest in our appraisal but the staff could not have cared less. They would benefit from intensive customer service training and to learn that a smile goes a long way. Stay away if you enjoy good food and good, friendly service because you won't find either at Gringo's in my opinion!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

bazoongas: 6 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

I could have made much better food at home considering the cost of the dishes. Do not attempt to try the Sangria, it's awful. Staff are scarce, especially when you would like to complain about the quality of the sangria and the food.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Tarasmith: 2 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Horrible experience. Rude staff, night ruined. Ordered a margarita jug that tasted disgusting and like pure alcohol so we asked if they could add anything to make it taste better. Had the bartender Come out and say that he just made it that's why it's strong and said do you want it or not and we said no, he took the jug and didn't offer money back or any other drinks so we were left over our dinner without even any water. Will never return here!!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Foodcriticmate!: 6 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

The worst service, food and incredibly unhygienic. Staff are oblivious and don't care about any of their customers. We sat at a dirty table waiting for it to be cleaned for 20 mins and waited an hour for the blandest tasting food. Never again we hope the place gets shut down!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
 

Add a review for Gringos Mexican Cantina

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience