Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

9.8
km

Holdfast Hotel

83 Brighton Road, Glenelg

Telephone 08 8295 2051

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Counter Meal.

Average of 12 reviews

  • 3.2 / 5 Food
  • 3.3 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.4 / 5 Service
  • 3.2 / 5 Value
  • 13.1 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Holdfast Hotel

4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Kiki: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I dined at the holdy a few months ago with my husband and another couple. i ordered the thai beef salad while the others went for the steak or chicken. within seconds of us returning to our table my salad was placed in front of me. they had used the inner bitter part of an iceberg lettuce, some tough meat and carrot. no chili, coriander, red onion nothing. safe to say i sent it back. then my husbands schnitzel came out.... our friends waited and waited for their food so much so that my husband asked the waitress to take his meal back and keep it warm. so that everyone can eat at the same time. we than asked the manager as to why the meals weren't coming out together. the response we got was " you didn't let staff know that you wanted to eat together" are you kidding me. isn't it common knowledge that when people go to a restaurant together and sit at the same table that they would expect to eat together. get real Holdfast Hotel. your food is awful and your service is just as bad! you spent all that money making the place look great perhaps you should have concentrated more on providing better service and nicer food. we will never be back. word of mouth advertising is a powerful thing!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Holdfast Hotel

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Tiffany: 6 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

A good friend and I had dinner at The Holdfast Hotel last night. I only rang and booked that afternoon and the lady who answered the phone was very pleasant. My friend ordered Rump Steak and chips, she's a bit of a fussy eater but she was delighted with her meal. They were happy to swap the Parmesan Potatoes for chips without any extra charge. She likes her steak blue, but asked for it rare. It was cooked perfectly, was tender enough to cut with a butter knife and her chips were cooked to perfection. I ordered the Thai Salad, which was superb. The food salad was fresh, with light thai flavours, the steak was tender and there was plenty of it. The staff were lovely, not overbearing or annoying but friendly. Your pricing for your meals were reasonable too. We will definately be returning to your Hotel soon. We saw Clearway there after our meal and didn't feel "out of place" as you can sometime feel in some Hotels. Overall our experience was great, had a fun evening...thank you.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

m&m: 9 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Our favourite place for a burger!! This is our 3rd trip to the Holdy for their unbelievable $12 lunch time special! Sitting in the beer garden with a burger & pint has gotta be the best way to spend Australia Day!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

mybooktwitspacefacer: 9 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Absolutely so much better than 3 years ago. The Holdy has really hit the mark now and is firing on all 16 cylinders. They have a new chef in the last couple of years. Some of the wonderful staff is still working in the dining. Well known lovely staff since the late 90's that are completely customer focussed and couldn't do enough to help you. What a great experience. We had 2 barramundi fried and a serve of lamb curry at very reasonable lunchtime prices. The barra was so fresh and the crunchy light batter blended very well with the light and tasty special tartare plus sauce. The curry was beautiful with a good measured kick and that is very good to kick off those winter colds. I could rave on for hours about how good this place is but I won't today. Will go back there again and again. Thanks Holdy. Believe it - this is a genuine 19.5 out of 20 and yes it is achievable for a local Glenelg hotel. Well done for believing in yourselves. Long live the Holdy. Btw they brew their own wonderful beers too but you knew that anyway didn't you? :)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

Paul: 4 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Went there with another family on Sunday night (so 5 adults and 4 kids aged 12-16) and was surprised that there weren't more people there. It was very quite but shouldn't be!! We ALL loved the meals we had (ranging from amazing burgers to chicken schitty's) - and found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The choice of burgers (ranging in price from a very fair $10) was huge - and although there were 5 different burgers ordered among our group they were all cooked very well - with a generous side serve of traditional pub style chips, everyone left there very satisfied. Do yourselves a favour, get in and enjoy this very classy, high-end looking restaurant - but without the high-end prices! Paul F

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

rest_reviewer: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Maybe Kiki, you should order all at once rather than ordering seperately simply cos you are cheap and don't want to split the bill evenly, god forbid you might pay an extra 50 cents from one of your friends meals. If you are at a pub, and order seperately (especially on a Tues) the chef will start your meal soon as the docket comes through, so therefore it is to late when the others order 5 minutes later. Hope this advice helps Kiki.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
15
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5

Mayumi Ono: 5 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Ambience is great,clean, waiters/waitresses all happy and friendly,convenient location...sometimes fish is too small or batter is too thick,salad lacks dressing, the usual barra has gone, and curry sauce comes from a jar or a tin, learn from the Indians or Pakistanis!Otherwise we love coming to Holdfast 2x a month!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 3

Rachb: 10 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Meals are normally not too bad. Depending on the meal, sometimes they are quite small serves, eg curries & garlic prawns. Good on Sun, Mon & Tues nights as kids eat free with any paying adult main meal.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Kiki: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

we did order all at the same time... and i paid. but thanks for your comments anyway! perhaps next time keep them to yourself.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
7.5
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1

gregnotm: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

poor - service average and back ground noise drowned out speech really the food average quite disappointed as food was suppose to be good- wrong

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
6.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 1

Amandaloubee91: 4 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

RATED Visited for drinks and nibbles with my partner... Have never felt so disappointed $25 for a tasting plate that was stone cold, sloppy and the poorest quality of food. We mentioned our meal was cold, it got taken back and "zapped" in the microwave, inc. the salad that was on there. can see why this place has completely gone downhill over the past couple of years, I urge you not to waste your money. The girl behind the bar was apologetic and sweet, however it sadly didn't help the sour taste that was left in our mouths as we left, due to the biggest waste of time and money.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

yougotreviewed: 10 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

I was looking forward to trying the food at the newly renovated Holdfast hotel - as a local, I stopped going to the 'Holdy' because their standard of meals and service declined as the pub looked old and worn out. Since the renovation, the pub looks great and I thought I'd give them another go. Upon entering the new beer garden, it was warm and humid, so I went in the bar where it was dark but cooler. The barman was too busy texting on his phone to look up and ask what I'd like to order, once he'd finished texting, he noticed I was there and promptly and sheepishly took my drink order. I asked to see the food menu which was slid in front of me. I ordered the Asian beef salad which sounded beautiful on the menu but when presented, it was nothing more than cos lettuce, grated carrot, chewy pieces of steak sprinkled with chopped nuts (similar tot hose you find on top of a kids ice cream sundae). The guy from the gaming room, with the personality of a geranium, delivered our meals but no sign of a smile or anything symbolizing their appreciation of our business. Admittedly, we dined on a Tuesday lunch when it wasn't busy and the attitude may be different in the bistro but I certainly would not return for a bar meal. We didn't wait for our table to be cleared, we left soon after we finished our meals and it would seem they were glad to see us go. My advice? Stick to meals in places you've been recommended, not 2nd rate pub food.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for Holdfast Hotel

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience