Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

1
km

Hotel Tivoli

265 Pirie Street, Adelaide

Telephone 08 8223 4790

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Counter Meal & Modern Australian.

Average of 11 reviews

  • 4.4 / 5 Food
  • 4.2 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.9 / 5 Service
  • 4 / 5 Value
  • 16.5 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Hotel Tivoli

13.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 3.5

Monte: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

This place has been really well refurbished to give diners the experience that they are eating in a restaurant rather than a pub. It's just too bad that they've decided to keep that old pub tradition of ordering all your food and drinks at the front bar, then carrying them to the table yourself. According to the Hotel's sign, it's supposed to keep the food prices down, but it also makes for a dislocated experience when you're paying an average of $27 for a main course meal, which is prepared by a kitchen that is clearly aiming high. This wasn?t helped by the lack of staff to take our orders or the one hour wait for our mains. In the end, the food was very enjoyable and I would have liked dessert, but decided that I?d finished work for the day.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Hotel Tivoli

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Kenzo: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

You can see why this place won the AHA Best Bistro Award! Clever pub & Restaurant food with fresh and in season influences like a summer salad with fresh peach, Paella was amazing as was the rump steak, best steak in town!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

Sarah: 9 years ago – Link & Share

I went to the Tivoli for dinner with family on Sunday evening. We ate in the front bar, it wasn't too busy, and was comfortable and stylish. We all ordered schnitzles which were of good quality and were good value. We also had a serve of the roasted garlic and sweet paprika bread, which was again a large serve and very nice, not oily like many others. I will definitely be back to try some of their mid week specials.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Kelly: 7 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

I haven't been here for years, however the renovation is excellent. The waiting staff were sensational, they were friendly, fun, approachable and very helpful. The food was amazing, courses timed perfectly. My only concern is they may not get much passing traffic, however I would def go out of my way to head there again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
18.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Adamski: 10 years ago – Link & Share

Eight of us visited for lunch arriving at 2.00pm on a Sunday. Although late this was not a problem at all and the service was extremely proficient and friendly. The range of choices on the menu is excellent and makes good use of local produce. The oysters with a chilli, lime, mint and coriander dressing were fabulous and everyone raved about them. The mains were well presented, well balanced and of a very high standard. The wine and beer choices were also very good with an excellent South Australian representation. All in all we had a top notch experience with great food in funky surroundings. Highly recommended.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

soothepanda: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Fantastic, interesting pub food. Funky decor and friendly staff. We had the licorice dusted kangaroo (delish) and the chinatown duck burger - I'm not normally a burger fan but this was so good! Beautiful Asian salad, tender pieces of duck in an awesome marinade. Will definitely be back!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

statenlea: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Tasreful renovation - awesome food. The lamb rump dish (Moroccan Spiced South Australian Lamb Rump Red Pepper Salad, Mint & Yoghurt Panna Cotta, Cumin Scented Beetroot & Salsa Verde) was beautiful to look at, each element individually delicious, and a superbly flavoursome and balanced whole. Looking forward to working through the rest of the menu!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5

AAA: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Exceeded all my expectations. Tapas and mains were very tasty. Highlights were crispy chicken, double cooked pork belly, paella, and moroccon spiced lamb with amazing beetroot relish.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
14.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Im a real connoisseur no bullshit: 9 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Have been there a few times for meals over the last few months, very good pub meals. Delicious burgers. The decor is atrocious though, gold paint everywhere, the hideous artwork freaks everyone out and they give you all your change in dollar coins so you can pour them down the pokies. Pretty tacky...

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
12.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 2.5

Jane: 7 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Nice food, if somewhat overpriced, it is still only a pub, after all. Don't order your garfish grilled, it wouldn't be enough to feed a cat. Don't ask to share a meal with a friend, they will not bring you a dinner plate, you will have to eat half a schnitzel, chips and salad on a tiny bread and butter plate....speaking of bread and butter, it used to be included, however I had the cheek to ask for some and the bread was stale. I was also told I could not book for my large group for 12 noon as there was another large group at that time, we had to wait until 12.30 however there was no sign of another large group when we got there. I will not be returning and neither will many of my friends.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
11.5
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 2.5

my friend the sandwich: 9 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

I'm sorry to say it seems the Tivoli Hotel have taken a serious dive food wise. I went there recently with a group of 6 and we were extremley dissapointed with the food. Most of it was cold, especially a liquorice dusted kangaroo fillet which inexplicably included vanilla custard in the plate. When we asked what temperature it was supposed to be, we were told 'room temperature'. Not a flicker of warmth though. Spicy prawns were good but the accompanying sweetcorn and fish dumplings were also cold, tasteless and gluey. The pumpkin puree it was served on was soupy and bland. Things just didn't go at all - it was quite bizarre especially given the rave reviews and awards, which is why we went. There's obviously creativity in the kitchen but getting flavour combinations right is paramount before anything else. Fortunatley the drinks and tapas are much better. The shared platter had good grilled chorizo, koftas, arancini and so on. Bread was served with olives but no olive oil or butter, which we ended up asking for. The 'long, long' iced tea served in a jug is delicious, as you would hope at $30 a pop. Go for the drinks and nibbles and a funky atmosphere, skip dinner.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for Hotel Tivoli

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience