Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

28.1
km

House of the Red Dragon

11 George McCullum Road, Smithfield

Telephone 08 8254 8585

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Asian & Chinese.

Average of 20 reviews

  • 4.1 / 5 Food
  • 3.6 / 5 Ambience
  • 4 / 5 Service
  • 3.9 / 5 Value
  • 15.6 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for House of the Red Dragon

19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Damon: 11 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

I love eating here. The food is excellent and in large quantities. The staff are friendly, well presented and quick. If I had to complain about one thing, it would be that the decor is a bit old and out of fashion. Other than that this is one of the finest Chinese restruants I have ever eaten in.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

6 people agree and 2 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for House of the Red Dragon

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

kbond19: 9 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I love this restaurant!! Have been going for over 20 years and will be going for the next 20 as well

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

RooDee: 8 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Same owners for 30 years. They are Chinese and do the most glorious food. Really comfortable ambiance. Sure it's decor is dated but it's traditional. Glad this place survived and flourishes now - it's a must try. Great value for money too.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

scareykerri: 7 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Love this place! Been going there for the last 10 years and gradually taking different groups of friends there who also continue to go back. Staff are great, food is fantastic and the service is usually pretty quick. Pricing comparable to other chinese restaurants. Decor is dated but that adds to the charm of the place. Would not be the same if they changed it!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

trish666: 5 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

so yummy

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Gurgi: 5 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

I've been going here for over 20 years, never disappoints, the staff are always friendly, food is always amazing and there's nothing more entertaining than some lucky person having the the birthday song put on for them. :)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

LyndaB.: 6 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Had wonderful night there on Friday night, staff are wonderful, food was great. Pleasure going there. Had one customer that was trying to cause trouble but staff managed her extremely well. Well done.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

MrsEllis: 6 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I LOVE the food at Red Dragon. It is UH-MAZING! (So much so it is the first resturant I have reviewed online). Meals are not super cheap, but definitely worth the cost with great cuts of meat and fresh vegetables used in all dishes. I cannot comment on the resturant feel as I always order take away. TOTES DELICIOUS!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

Hungry 1: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

never dissapoints

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

SAlex83: 9 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

The Housse of the Red Dragon serves good services of nice food with good service. It can be a little squashy when busy but it is worth it. I reccommend the squid fritters for entree and the crumbed fish with mushroom sauce for main. Very nice and reasonably priced.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Buzzit: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

The tables are too jammed in, but apart from that the service is friendly without being over effusive, the food is exactly as it should be, no weird stuff and cooked perfectly. Pricing is fair by todays standards.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

NuggetSA: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Food was good and plentiful. Place was busy giving a lively atmosphere but not too noisy to talk. Several large parties having birthday celebrations which the venu looked after well. If you want a quiet romantic meal probably not ideal but good food with a bunch of friends in a good atmosphere you'd get our recomendation.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Amanda: 10 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

I always have this as my favourite take away, when my family dine in, there service is good, the food is great. Always leave will a full belly. If there happens to be any left overs they are more than happy to accommodate and provide left overs in take away containers

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

MJ #23: 6 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Always fantastic service & great quality food. My family have been eating there for over 25 years & we have celebrated many birthday's there including the extremely loud & embarrassing but always entertaining pre- recorded "Happy Birthday"- sensational!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

Senshin: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Great food, enjoyed the recommendations and it was spot-on. The foods are spicy and full of flavours. Servings were big and plenty. Maybe a bit pricey, but good value for money, nevertheless. Decor is maybe a bit old, and there could be more asian music to give that real Asian feel. No music was playing when we last visited. But would definitely recommend.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

Anonymous: 11 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

The food was really lovely and heaps of it. Fresh colourful, delightful, staff attentive. Was a little squashy for a romantic evening for two. But still really enjoyable ta.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
11.9
  • Food: 2.975
  • Ambience: 2.975
  • Service: 2.975
  • Value: 2.975

Toolicious: 6 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

we went there and ordered a banquet ... very beautiful food ... but the drnks cost a pretty penny ... appart from that we loved the decor very old chinese style very pretty ... the customer service is very good ... i will be going back ... i wont be ordering a banuqet for just me i learnt my lesson haha <3

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Food Lover: 6 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

I have eaten Chinese food all over the world and this is possibly the WORST interpretation of Chinese food I have ever experienced. They firstly forgot an item in our order, which fortunately I noticed before I left. Then when I got home, I realised they also forgot the sauce for our honey chicken. I called and they were understading about the mistake and when I returned, they only wanted to give me the sauce(not replace the cold chicken) I insisted and they accommodated me. The young man who worked there also made it better by offering me a free bottle of coke. Although not a great start, I was still looking forward to the food. Unfortunately it was Inedible. The spring rolls were overcooked and there was no filling in them. The chicken was tasteless and the batter was soggy, I might as well warmed up some honey at home and it would have tasted better then the sauce they provided. The "sizzling" steak was braised and the meat was obviously a cheap cut, which was not what I was expecting for 18.90 and a so called chef "special." The dim sims were overly stuffed mince balls with no flavour. The rice was okay but I think I was just happy that one thing in my meal was somewhat edible. I have never reviewed a restaurant before but I just threw away 70 worth of food and thought I would warn others so they do not do the same. If you like Chinese food, choose another restaurant, please don't waste you hard earned money.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

bella6881: 6 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Disgusting! Food is dearer over the phone than shown here and not by 20c by at least 15% per item! Dont speak English so dont get your order correct, absolute morons, DO NOT USE!!!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Julie R: 4 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

We dined at this restaurant this evening before heading of to a saturday night movie. After our orders were taken we received our main meals an hour after being seated, unfortunately these arrived before our entrees. The main meals were then returned to the kitchen and our entrees were prepared and served after another short wait. After our entrees were finished our main meals arrived my meal was correct, but unfortunately my sisters meal was not what she had asked for. She received a totaly different meal to what she had actually ordered. I must say that our dining experience here in this restaurant was quite appauling. Needless to say we will not be dinig there again or recommending it to anyone in the future. Very disappointing.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for House of the Red Dragon

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience