Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

9.7
km

Jack's Fish Shack

108 Jetty Road, Glenelg

Telephone 08 8376 8333

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Seafood & Fish and Chips.

Average of 12 reviews

  • 3.6 / 5 Food
  • 3.5 / 5 Ambience
  • 4 / 5 Service
  • 3.1 / 5 Value
  • 14.2 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Jack's Fish Shack

18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

PJ1983: 9 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Excellent, I have been here a few times now and just cannot fault the food or the service. Fantastic menu, has your standard 'fish and chips' options, as well as some nice non-seafood mains too.... great service too, the staff are knowledgeable about specials, wines, inclusions/exclusions, and the guy who i presume owns the place is really friendly and clearly has a lot of pride in the place. Meals come out quickly too, even when busy. Here's a tip - have the roasted vegetable tartlet for entree, ordered this on a whim and was very impressed :-)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 2 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Jack's Fish Shack

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

I have been a few times and everytime i go there i seem to love it more and more the food is fantastic and the service is great too

Do you Agree or Disagree?

17 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Walter: 10 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

We continue to return to this great little restaurant on Jetty rd we find Jacks Fish Shack has great value for money seafood platters.The food and service is always of a very high standard.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

15 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
17
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 11 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

dined for the first time last night, pleasantly surprised !excellent menu, lots of choices ,good sevice from attentive staff.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

19 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Cris: 11 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Have been dining at Jack's for over five years ,every time the quality of food has been excellent !! Being on Jetty Road it gets a little noisy but certainly worth it for good feed.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

29 people agree and 6 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Lily: 9 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Wonderful food and service

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
13.5
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

Monte: 8 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

There's a real lack of good eating places at Glenelg, and this place does little to lift the standard. Whilst the service was prompt and friendly, the food was generally very ordinary. The entree of tommy ruff fillets was well prepared with a nice salad, but the mains fell far short of what a good seafood restaurant should be serving. The fish were completely lacking in flavour (due to a lack of seasoning), whilst the chips came with absolutely no salt whatsoever, even though I'd tried to dodge the standard chicken salt offering by asking for plain salt. What is it with Adelaide eateries and chicken salt? It's bad enough in a pub, but a fish cafe!?

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 2

Anonymous: 9 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Hate to disagree with previous posters but we ate here a couple of nights ago and was sadly disappointed. Nothing wrong with the food but it was very average. had the seafood platter for 3 (although it was only my husband and i eating) just to be safe that we'd leave not feeling hungry...well good thing we did because the platter was not huge. If there were 3 of us i don't think there would have been enough to go around (we're not huge eaters either). They did allow us to choose whether we wanted our fish grilled, battered or crumbed which was great because we could have a mixture if we wanted to. The calamari was nice and tasted fresh because it wasn't chewy or stringy. The butterfish however was a big disappointment. The batter was soggy almost immediately after it was served, the grilled fish was breaking up (i guess can be expected) into little pieces and the bulk of the platter was filled up with potato chips (hand cut in wedges type shapes). So the platter contained mostly chips. And for $60 that was a real rip off in my opinion. We had the option of going to either Jack's or Cafe Lido for their seafood platter...Lido's seafood platter is only $60 (normally $90) with entertainment card so basically same price but here's the difference, Lido's platter you get bug tails, fresh oysters, scallops, king george whiting etc. Jack's platter was calamari, prawns, fish and chips... The best thing about this restaurant i have to say however was their service and how they look after kids....as soon as we came in they organised a high chair for us and within 2 mins had colouring in paper and crayola crayons out for our 2yr old to draw with. THat kept her quiet for a long 15mins! Also the food came out very quickly (10mins max) so that was good not having to wait long for food. Value for money wasn't there so wont be coming back and the food tasted like any other fish and chip meal really.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 32 disagree.

 
11
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 1

Rachb: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Wow their prices have skyrocketed for the amount of food you get. Before it was 20 odd pieces of calamari in a pack, now it's down to 12. I won't be going back again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
9.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1

Rachb: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

I can't believe how much the prices have gone up and the food has gone down in quality and size! For example, a 28 piece pack of salt and pepper squid was $17.50 the last time we got take out, it's now only a 12 piece pack for $16.90. What a rip off!!! We won't be going back again as it is no longer value for money and the quality is just basic fish and chips.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
8.5
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

Foodie: 7 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Was absolutely stunned when restaurant manager gave sacarstic remark when bones were found in the fish and chips. His response was definitely uncalled for and no apologies was made. Food was only average and was in fact a bit overpriced. Service was a complete letdown. Restaurant is overrated

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
8
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1

Rod S: 8 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Had the special lunch deal, 4 small calamari rings, 2 even smaller prawns and about 10 chips cost $13.90, some special, more like a rip off.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
 

Add a review for Jack's Fish Shack

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience