Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

1
km

Jah'z Lounge

10 Vaughan Place, Adelaide

Telephone 08 8232 9944

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Italian.

Average of 17 reviews

  • 4.4 / 5 Food
  • 4.3 / 5 Ambience
  • 4.3 / 5 Service
  • 4.4 / 5 Value
  • 17.4 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Jah'z Lounge

18.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

copycat: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Great food from start to finish, lovely wines, nice chat with the owner, art on the walls, crayons on the table, tablecloth as a canvas. We had a wonderful evening and will be coming back again soon. Excellent value; top quality food in a laidback setting.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Jah'z Lounge

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

a.seramoore: 8 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

I would also like to comment on the review from jennyfay, which I think is ridiculous. I am an avid kangaroo lover and this girl clearly doesn't understand that kangaroo is not like beef, and that a medium rare kangaroo will look different from a medium rare steak. Rather than 'gossiping and bitching', I think the waiting staff and the chef would have been confused as to why this stupid girl would send back a perfectly fine kangaroo fillet. Although after reading her other reviews, I'm glad she'll be steering clear of this lovely restaurant and sticking to more 'compatible' dining, namely mcdonalds.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

a.seramoore: 8 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

After catching a movie at palace nova, my friends suggested this quiet little restaurant across from the elephant, which I never knew existed. We were greeted by a man we later found out was the owner, who was very gracious and welcoming - something which nowadays seems to be a rare trait. The food was divine, I had the Kangaroo while my friends chose different pasta dishes and the lamb pie. We all agreed the food was excellent and the waitress was lovely and very attentive. The icing on top of a perfect evening was the lavender creme brulee!! All in all, it was the best outing we've had in a long time! If the owner is reading this, you have charmed us all and we will be back soon!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

a_3_Headed_Monkey: 7 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

We have been going there annually for 9 years, and it has never disappointed. Good size meals, great flavour. Try and pick a quiet night and 'Z' will be sure to entertain with a story or two.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19.9
  • Food: 4.975
  • Ambience: 4.975
  • Service: 4.975
  • Value: 4.975

MenuSearcher: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Went last night, did not even know it was there, only found it because of the Entertainment Book. Finally a restaurant with extremely comfortable seats, not jammed in, good background music but not so loud you couldn't talk, very good menu and food. Good service, personalised service from owner. Only drawback I would say is once again paying for only half a meal, having to pay extra for the vegetables. I am not sure how restaurants ever got away with charging for a meal and then only providing half of it, but that is a pet hate of mine. Prices were reasonable though, so you won't break the bank going there. They should give you a receipt with everything listed rather than one with just totals. But I would highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely be going again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Noms: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Had a great experience at Jah'z last night. Food great and big servings, service excellent and in the entertainment book. Owner is lovely and very helpful. Restaurant wasn't busy so was a little quiet (other people could hear us talking!). Will be back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Bailey: 8 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Amazingly sensational! Have now been there twice to ensure it was as great as we thought. Not only did the owner remember us and make us feel comfortable, he also remembered what we had ordered last time. Many great selections on the menu for Gluten Free meals and very reasonable prices. The steak was cooked to perfection yet again and the accompaniments were divine. We will be returning to this fabulous restaurant not only to draw on the tables with the crayons and enjoy lovely food but to have a laugh with the entertaining owner.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

KLB: 7 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

My Fiance and i only found Jah'z because of the Enterainment book. We wanted to try somewhere new and we are so glad we did! The food was amazing - great big servings. He had the Pork belly and i had the kangaroo. Pork belly was succulent. mosit, tender - just would have liked the skin to be a little more crispy. My kangaroo was cooked to prefection. The atmosphere was great and they were busy becuase of the Fringe! Defintieyl give this place a try. It's tucked away off vaughn/Cinema place off Rundle street - one of Adelaide's little hidden treasures. Prices are fantastic! Where would you get a prfectly cooked Pork and Roo for only $23?! Well worth the money and we will defintiely be back!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Stephie23: 8 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Great experience! Friendly, personal staff on a Friday night. Wait for the main took a while, but we were entertained with the scrumptious entree, people watching through the big windows, and of course the crayons on the table. The wait was worth it, the risotto's were amazing! Owner was very accommodating. Will return!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18.9
  • Food: 4.475
  • Ambience: 4.475
  • Service: 4.975
  • Value: 4.975

adelaidediner29: 8 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

i never write reviews but in the case i think its important to let adelaide know about this amazing restaurant! i have been to Jah'z Lounge several times now and have not once had a less that perfect experience. The owner is such a friendly person and always greets you with his cheeky but professional attitude. the food is to die for, the pork belly and the kangaroo are the best me and my partner have ever had. I also recently went to Jah'z with a bunch of my girlfreinds and we ordered a share plate at $10 p/p. the serving was humongous and the qaulity of food was amazing! and after our wines and dinner the owner sneakily shouted some shots of baily's on the house. If you looking for perfect food, service, ambience and a good all round experience i would highly reccomend this place!!! you cant go wrong!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Leigh: 9 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

One of Adelaide's best kept secrets, as it is set off Rundle Street and is often quite. The prices are themselves neither particularly cheap nor particularly pricey, but the food, wine list and ambience are of a quality you would ordinarily associate with a much higher priced restaurant, making it actually very good value. Thrown in a slightly cracked owner and crayons on the table, and the place is also marvellous fun! Jah'z is a great place to go if you're after something better than a cheap feed, but without breaking the bank.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

julian1v: 9 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Jahz Lounge is one of my favourite Adellaide restaurants. The service is good and the menu always has interesting choices as has the wine list which has been thoughtfully researched. For a quiet meal I suggest through the week as weekends can get busy but even so, the accoustics are better than many other open plan eateries.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

fussy eater: 7 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Jah'z lounge is great!! I walked past so many times on the way to the cinema and admired the funky table decorations before i finally went inside and had the best dinner! Crayons on the table delicious food, perfect local wine, friendly staff. Worth many visits :-)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

john0427: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Jah'z is a great little restaurant. It's a shame that is is set off Rundle St, because so many people miss out on it. Crayons on the table, great wine list, eccentric owner and fab food. What more could you want?

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

jennyfay: 9 years ago – Link & Share

Went to Jah'z on a b

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
11.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 3.5

Nattyjayne: 8 years, 12 months ago – Link & Share

From the outside Jah'z looks warm, welcoming and friendly. After entering you get blank stares from the waitresses we were obviously there to eat but still had to ask for a table and their responses were then to stare at each other blankly like we had just made a request in German. Lucky they had crayons on the table because the half an hour it took to ask us if we would like a drink and about the same if we were ready for food, when the food came we were disappointed with their standard of medium rare and it seems the waitresses are quite skilled in avoiding contact and after four attempts had to ask quite loudly for some attention as well as salt and pepper as for some reason they don't keep it on the tables, the meal was fixed along with the complimentary dirty looks through the window of the kitchen door, so much potential for an ideally placed restaurant in a bustling part of the city but so disappointing!! Will not be returning...

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
6.5
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1.5

jennyfay: 9 years ago – Link & Share

Went to Jah'z on a busy Friday night, when me and my friend walked through the doors the front of house staff stared blankly at us, I had to ask them if we could get a table for two after a few awkward minutes, We got seated and had our order taken. Service was very slow, even with drinks. After waiting for an hour, our mains finally came out. I had the pan seared kangaroo fillet I asked for it medium rare and what I got presented with a very rare looking kangaroo meat on a pile of vegetables. If it was beef I wouldn't mind it rare, but being that type of meat the taste of raw kangaroo is something I'm not game enough to try. I had it taken back to be cooked for a few more minutes, when we FINALLY got the waitress attention she took the main back to the kitchen and all the staff followed her behind the house, to obviously gossip and bitch about us, which I think is very immature. Overall I am very disappointing with the experience I had here, after reading good reviews I wanted to try it out and if the experience was decent, return for my birthday dinner. But I was very put off, I will safely say I will never eat at Jah'z again nor recommend it.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
 

Add a review for Jah'z Lounge

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience