Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

1.1
km

Jolleys Boathouse

1 Jolleys Lane, Adelaide

Telephone 08 8223 2891

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving International.

Average of 23 reviews

  • 3.4 / 5 Food
  • 3.5 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.1 / 5 Service
  • 3 / 5 Value
  • 13 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Jolleys Boathouse

17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

Monte: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

I have been here twice in the last year and on both occassions I've had a fantastic and memorable meal. The food is spot on - it's good quality produce that's well cooked with amazing flavour. The people in the kitchen clearly know what they're doing, and it's clear that the waiting staff are properly briefed on what's going on there. The service has always been professional. This is definitely one of Adelaide's better restaurants. Yes, it's expensive, but it's the food certainly measures up.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Jolleys Boathouse

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 12 years ago – Link & Share

We had lunch at the Jolleys Boathouse with much trepidation. Many friends had told us how good the place was, but we were skeptical, I mean.....no where could be that good, could it? Well, it is! The food was without a doubt, the best I have ever had in Adelaide. The service was superb. Definatley recommend this place, worth every cent.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

18 people agree and 23 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Insomnia Girl: 6 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

We capped off a great trip to Adelaide with dinner at Jolleys Boat House restaurant. For a Tuesday night the restaurant was almost full, but the setting and ambience was quiet and beautiful .. Set in gorgeous surrounds on the banks of the river, definitely worth going earlier as twilight sets. The restaurant itself was stylish and comfortable without being pretentious. The service was excellent and the food was divine. Servings were generous and tasted exquisite. While not cheap, it was worth every cent and made for the perfect end to our "food and wine" tour"! Highly recommended.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

rebecca: 11 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I completely disagree with the past couple of comments, Jolleys has been an icon for years, and particulally in the past few years the food has become amazing! The service is friendly, (not like some pretentious places around Adelaide)!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

greeng: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Went last sunday and had a great time. The dining area has lovely lighting and is nice and airy. Even though it was packed it didn't feel crowded. Our waiter was fantastic and helpful with our orders. I went for the unusual lambs tongues that were on special for starter and loved it. The only thing was that the mains were too big ! I'm not complaining but I didnt have room for dessert. The braised angus ribs just fell off the bone - rich and melt in the mouth; fantastic. Will be back !

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Linda G: 3 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Food was awesome, loved the sake and great wines! I Would definitely recommend others to your restaurant!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

Redchilli: 10 years ago – Link & Share

Having previously been to Jolly's for functions I was keen to try the al a carte. I like the decor changes since my last visit - it's smartened up a bit. The service was exemplary - both were knowledgable about the menu and the wine list and were easily able to answer our questions. The menu was great - we had a hard time choosing what we wanted. The food was delicious and the serves were spot on - value for money but we weren't over full at the end. Would definitely recommend for a long, lazy lunch.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
15.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Wozonzon: 9 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Nice, but not wow factor, food and a good selection of wine. Staff were attentive.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

babelybunny: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Having dined here with my partner for our anniversary I have to say this place is above average. Good flavours with the meals however drinks orders were not taken regularly and overall the service was pretty poor. Will return for food but not service.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5

tommy2: 7 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

The food was fantastic. exactly what we wanted. simple, but tasted beautiful. the service was so so. went in with a table of 5, but it was apparent that there was a few large tables/functions taking place in the restaurant. (perhaps if we were made aware of this, we would have maybe changed to a different day) the restaurant was incredibly loud because of said functions. yes it is slightly more than most average, but you get what you pay for. worth a try.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 4

Cash: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

I went to Jolleys last night (Wednesday) table of 2. The restaurant wasn't at capacity however it seemed very hectic. We literally waited for 30 mins for our drinks order to be taken (although we had been given some mineral water on arrival). We then had to prompt to have our food orders taken. We were given our aperitifs on the house to make up for the wait. After that, the food came pretty quickly however we had to ask 3 times for our wine to be filled from our bottle throughout the meal. It was apparent that a few tables around us were equally dissatisfied and one table had left with their table remaining uncleared for 45 mins. The food was outstanding and the dessert especially made me forget about the terrible service.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
12.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 3

Kenji: 9 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Service started off great, waiter new the menu very well and described every thing so well we wanted to order one of everything. Unfortunately after that service disappeared, empty plates were left on the table for a long time, drink orders not taken regularly enough and I waited 20 minutes for a dessert menu I asked a waitress for but ended up going in search of one myself. Food was good but there is many places in Adelaide where food/service is outstanding.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
12
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

Ben: 11 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

I went to Jolleys on Thursday night and was extremely disappointed. Food was average. Oysters were quite good. Garfish dish was superb, risotto was awful and the steaks were reasonable. Wine list selection was very limited. Staff were extremely friendly but i had to get out of my seat to ask for the account and then waited another twenty minutes. Very disappointing for such a well respected institution.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

6 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Food Addict: 7 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Steak was not cooked as ordered, waited for 1 hour for meals & had to send back to kitchen to cook again. When the food came back, they were not much different from before, the meals were half finished. Charged $5.50 per head just to cut the birthday cake we bought & we were not allowed to cut it at the table ourselves. Expensive & not that great service. Not happy, will not be back again!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

stomper: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

we had a celebration lunch there which was disappoining due to the service .our waitress introduced herself and said she was "new",this was evident orders were taken and forgotten we had to remind her continually for drinks which were we could see on the bar awaiting to be served .food was excellent when it was eventually served ,desert to die for .This waitress should have been helped but was left to stumble along .

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 2.5

CPP: 9 years ago – Link & Share

Quite expensive for food which was ok, but not great. It seems to aim at being 'fusion' but it doesn't really work for me. I found it a bit confused. The portions were massive! I think I'd prefer smaller portions at more reasonable prices. The service was charmingly incompetent. They had a very small drinks list as well, which surprised me. I'd certaintly never go there on my own dime.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
11
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 2

Anonymous: 11 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

I went to Jolley's in July 2008 as part of a table of 5 for a business lunch. We ordered some wine and when the waiter brought it to the table he had already unscrewed the cap. Unfortunately for him he had brought the wrong wine (same winemaker, different grape) so we sent it back for him to get the right one. He was not very pleased but it was his mistake to open the bottle before getting the customer's approval. The food tasted good but about 3 hours after the meal I got a very upset stomach and had to run to the toilet about 8 times in 2 hours. It was not to throw up if you know what I mean. At about 8pm I had to take some Immodium to stop the symptoms because I was getting too dehydrated. This also happened to my friend who was at the lunch. We didn't know the other people at the table well enough to ask them if they were having the same problem. It had to be something we picked up at Jolley's because that was the only place where my friend and I could have picked up something together. I do not have fond memories of this visit to Jolley's.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 8 disagree.

 
10
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1

Anilou: 11 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Poor value especially the one prawn (largish) wrapped in shredded pastry I received for my entree. Unbelievable. My husband scored better though with his entree of wagyu beef. It was pretty delicious and a little better value! Mains were just ok. We walked away after desserts feeling like we had only eaten one course.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
9
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 2

The diner: 11 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

We recently went to the Boathouse and lets say we it was far from Jolley. Whereby I found the entree' to be excellent it may have been a case that either the head chef had left the building or he had hit the bottle prior to delivering the main meals of tea smoked duck and crispy skinned king fish. The tea duck was dry and blackened to the point of tasting burned. The fish was no better and in deed there was crispy skin as was most of the rest of the fish, crispy and dry When we commented about our meals to the waiter we were proceeded to be given a lecture by the maitre'd sent out by "Chef" (and lets use that term loosely) about the tea smoked duck........ Well Mr Jolley Boat House chef..... I don't think the duck should have smoked the whole packet of "Esort Red" One of the worst dining experiences I have had in Adelaide in a long time. That even the blue rinse brigade persists with this outdated dilapidated venue amazes even me.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 8 disagree.

 
8
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1

Mrs. Un Jolley: 11 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

As my name suggests when I graced Jolley's Boathouse I was anything but jolly. The moment our group walked through the door we were greeted with the knowledge that our Sunday lunch would be a set menu at $80 per head (which is highway robbery). Mind you - the "manager" (I use this term very lightly in this instance) didn't seem to think that piece of information was that important when the booking was initially made. Perhaps this is their modus operandi - reel the diners in and then essentially force them to go ahead with the meal because they have the safety net of a $10 deposit from each sucker. Whilst the restaurant is set in a fantastic location, by the River Torrens, the food is as cold as the body of water this establishment sits beside. Apparently the set menu also means that the food was cooked the day prior and zapped in the microwave (only briefly mind you). I cannot tell you how dissapointed I was with Jolley's. I had heard so many good things about the restaurant. I don't know what went wrong. The staff were ignorant and uncaring (NOTE: the term 'customer service' does not register in this place) and the food was indicative of a second rate establishment.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 9 disagree.

 
6
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Jacoba: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Last night 10 of us attempted to have a meal at Jolleys but we left after an hour and a half of mayhem unfed. We had booked some time ago for 8 people and then added two more shortly before. When we arrived the table was only set for 9, we had to rectify this ourselves as the staff did not seem to be able to come up with a workable solution, we did order some wine and asked for tap water even though we had ordered some bottled water, at the price with so many of us drinking water it was too dear, we were looked down at, so attitude was terrible. Our wine was kept at a distant serving table, so we were at the mercy of staff to actually pur a glass, and they were very absent! We then waited an hour and not even a menu appeared, then we had a piece of printed paper given to us and we were told that we would be having a fixed $75 menu and could not have a choice. We asked to the al la carte menu and were told as there was 10 of us that wasnt allowed. We are not informed at time of booking. We were allowed to leave wihtout any management intervention, and left behind our wine, so $170 for an hour and half of grief and a taste of wine. Never again

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Customer: 6 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Worst restaurant experience we have ever had... The restaurant manager is rude and has no idea about dealing with paying customers.... Humiliated the whole table then deflects the complaints to his staff. Food was ok but for the price it was definitely not worth it because of the service.... The funny thing is that his staff were laughing at him for his behavior towards customers

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

BJ100: 8 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Terrible. Avoid at all costs.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for Jolleys Boathouse

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience