Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

0.7
km

La Trattoria Ristorante

348 King William Street, Adelaide

Telephone 08 8231 5858

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Italian.

Average of 19 reviews

  • 3.9 / 5 Food
  • 3.5 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.2 / 5 Service
  • 3.4 / 5 Value
  • 14 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for La Trattoria Ristorante

15
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

jayd: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

pizza was fantastic, as to be expected from the prices. the restaurant was set up quite nicely - traditional italian, almost as if you were dining in italy! the old italian music does get dreary after a while though! service is a hit and miss, on my first visit the service was atrocious. the older italian male serving us was extremely pompous, rude and arrogant. instructing us to place our bread plate on the 'correct' side of our main plate and how we used the wrong butter knife to butter our bread... these kind of rude comments continued throughout the night making everyone at the table feel very uncomfortable and belittled. my second visit was much more pleasant thank god we didn't get the same waiter however he was still lingering past now and again with the same arrogant smirk on his face!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for La Trattoria Ristorante

 
 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

R-M: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Best family Italian restaurant in Adelaide. The Spaghetti Marinara is made to perfection.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Kim: 10 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

I have been to this restaurant several times and have thoroughly enjoyed my meal and the atmosphere everytime. I think it MAY be due for a little face lift, but the service is incredible! Great guys who know their stuff!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Love my food: 9 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Love this restaurant. We go regularly. Food qualilty is always consistently good. Can get quite busy so can get quite loud when sitting inside.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Kommestable: 7 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

In the years gone by La Trat has cemented itself as one of Adelaide's finest pizza makers, and this is a well deserved title. The atmosphere is comfortable, and the service is magnificent. It appears the staff have not let their reputation get to their heads as I have always felt welcome with any rag-tag group of friends I decide to drag along with me! The primo of Italian ristorantes

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

hawkey: 6 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

best italian food in adelaide,veal scallopini and pizzas to die for,been going to chris and andys latras for years and would recommend to anyone although the place gets very busy due to its popularity so my advice is to book early

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

Hedonist: 7 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Thank god they got rid of that delivery driver who used to abuse us coz he couldn't find a carpark

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Asher: 11 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

I have been visiting this restaurant for about 15 year with my family. The food has stayed with the same great quality and you always know your going to get a awesome meal. Pizza Marinara, yum. Always guaranteed to see famous visiting Adelaide here too.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

8 people agree and 9 disagree.

 
17
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

tom: 11 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Love this place! Go there a few times and the "authentic" Italian staff recognise you. Great food, generous serves and friendly service. Love the spaghetti marinara, monte bianco pizza bread or any of the scallopini's. It's also a good place to "spot a celebrity".

Do you Agree or Disagree?

15 people agree and 19 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Christian: 12 years ago – Link & Share

Great food, especially there pizzas. They were named the best pizza 'in the world' last year! True family restaurant. The style is very Italian, I'm assuming their Nona (grandmother) was out the back making the regions dishes just like she would make them at home. Fine ingredients and great family service. They make you feel very welcome.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

19 people agree and 32 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 10 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Very tasty and fresh food. Everyone enjoyed their dishes. Must book ahead as they are very busy any night of the week.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
13.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 4

Rainy: 8 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

While the food here was good, the service was very disappointing. We had booked a table for 8 earlier in the week, and when we arrived saturday night, there was no table ready for us, even though we were on the booking sheet! They placed us at a table that was too large, and that had been booked for someone else. So, when those people arrived, we were asked to move by another waiter. We told him that we had been sat here, and he proceeded to get angry with us! After 40 minutes of table shuffling, they finally found us a table in a squishly little corner, and left us alone. 15 minutes later, we were asked if we would like some drinks, and then 30 minutes later our orders were taken, even though we were given menus the first time we sat down. 2 hours after we arrived we finally got our meals, which were, I must say, very yummy. I do understand that they were very busy, however much greater care needs to be taken when seating customers, greater communication is needed between staff, and a much higher level of customer service needs to be provided, especially since we were there for a birthday and had booked well in advance!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Megalomaniac: 9 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

This third generation family owned Italian restaurant was born in 1975 and having survived decades of change has made it somewhat of an indelible landmark in the city of Adelaide. The place prides itself on its "traditional old school service", replete with Italian cronies. Perhaps a little too old school, given that most are 55 years +, agility, precision and timing are therefore obvious setbacks, as well defunct hearing, ears that are possibly out of commission - making hand signals and frantic waving mandatory at La Tratt. . Acclaimed for its award-winning pizzas, sadly most of my dinner companions (self included) were in a pasta mood and missed out on sampling a slice of their much talked about pie. . The menu splattered with the usual Italian suspects: a good offering of pizza's - regular and 'gourmet', as well as pastas and meatier options (steak, veal schnitzels and chicken) offers a substantial variety. . We started off our meal with a rather overwhelming salad slathered in blue cheese salad and a bottle of red before diving head first into out mains. I opted for the gnocchi cooked with garlic, sliced bacon, sundried tomato, basil, black pepper, Parmesan cheese and virgin olive oil and was impressed by the flavours of the dish but after a couple of bites realised that the pasta could have been fluffier and lighter without as much potato making that made the dish heavy and a tad bit stodgy. Rest of review and pics: http://meagan-megalomaniac.blogspot.com/2009/06/la-trattoria.html

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

hilary_vw: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

since i was 13 ive had many of my birthday dinners here. fantastic food to suit all tastebuds. cant go there withuot trying the bruscetta monte bianco.. one of my favourite foods. friendly and welcoming staff do recognise you and the atmosphere is fabulous! can also grab most main meals from la tratt (their take away store next door)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
10
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2.5

Tod: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

food was great - could not complain about the service as it did not exist. The old waiter was rude and on more than one occasion confirmed an order with an incorrect response. An evening at a restaurant marred by poor service and subsequent mediocre value.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
10
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 3

Meagan Abraham: 10 years ago – Link & Share

This third generation family owned Italian restaurant was born in 1975 and having survived decades of change has made it somewhat of an indelible landmark in the city of Adelaide. The place prides itself on its "traditional old school service", replete with Italian cronies. Perhaps a little too old school, given that most are 55 years +, agility, precision and timing are therefore obvious setbacks, as well defunct hearing, ears that are possibly out of commission - making hand signals and frantic waving mandatory at La Tratt. . Acclaimed for its award-winning pizzas, sadly most of my dinner companions (self included) were in a pasta mood and missed out on sampling a slice of their much talked about pie. The menu splattered with the usual Italian suspects: a good offering of pizza's - regular and 'gourmet', as well as pastas and meatier options (steak, veal schnitzels and chicken) offers a substantial variety. We started off our meal with a rather overwhelming salad slathered in blue cheese salad and a bottle of red before diving head first into out mains Read the rest and check out pictures at: http://meagan-megalomaniac.blogspot.com/2009/06/la-trattoria.html

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
9
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

Anonymous: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Abysmal service - rude, abrupt and evasive waitress. Waited half an hour before having our order taken... only to have food delivered to our table at different times - the last meal arrived once the other 4 people at the table had half finished their meals. So disappinted. Had such potential to be a warm, friendly and inviting dining experience... but failed miserably.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
6
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1.5

Tina: 6 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

I recently ordered pasta marinara to takeaway costing $28.00 and tasting very average. Soon after eating the meal I was very ill. When I called to inform the restaurant of the fact, I was spoken to in a very rude manner and was then self diagnosed by the restaurant as having the "flu". This was a ridiculous statement and quite frustrating to hear given that it was definitely food poisoning. Horrible experience, I would not recommend this restaurant.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
5.5
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Debbie: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

If its a special day and you want to go out to a nice restaurant for good food, good wine and pleasant dining experience with staff and the host showing a bit of respect toward you then I would suggest you try everywhere else but definitely not this place. I dine out quite regularly and have been to this place few times previously and I would say that the food is okay and the service is pathetic. The waiting staff seemed to have lost interest to respect customers and everytime I have been there I have been the victim of their arrogant and grumpy nature. I would say I have had enough and I would never go back to this place nor recommend it to any of my friends.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for La Trattoria Ristorante

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience