Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

7.3
km

Magill Estate Restaurant

78 Penfold Road, Magill

Telephone 08 8301 5551

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving International.

Average of 8 reviews

  • 4.1 / 5 Food
  • 4.1 / 5 Ambience
  • 4.1 / 5 Service
  • 3.6 / 5 Value
  • 15.9 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Reviews for Magill Estate Restaurant

 
 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

babelybunny: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Went here for my birthday because i wanted a fine dining experience. Food was good, though pricey. At over $500 for two people its probably only a special occasion restaurant in my eyes. Portion sizes are small yes, but presented beautifully and full of flavour. Service was excellent, though i am told from other diners it can be inconsistent depending on who is on board that night.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Jane19: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

An incredibly disappointing experience. We had booked and confirmed in email the private area with interstate visitors to enjoy the view. The function coordinator didn't relay this and we were seated at the back of the restaurant, no views, drafty, cold. Food was slow to be served and of minuscule portions. We thought we would have dinner not just tiny tasting plates! Overpriced, overrated ,failed to honor booking arrangements. A humiliating experience for interstate friends.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Sean: 9 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

For a night that cost over $500 for the 2 of us I expect perfection in everything. I dont expect to find the toilets dirty, I dont expect to look at light fittings and see them full of bugs but I do expect the maitre'd to return to my table after I gave him some constructive feedback about the meal....I got nothing!! On a positive note 6 out of the 7 courses on the dugustation menu were beautiful. To be considered great this restaurant needs a far greater attention to detail

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Kirsty55: 9 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I currently took my bf here for his birthday as we have both wanted to go and heard it was fantastic. We were not let down, the evening was more than we expected, from the service to the food. The service is the best in Adelaide! It was pricey but worth every last dollar, we didn't leave hungry and were very happy with the overall experience. We look forward to going back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

MeatEater: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

New chef Luke Stepsys is doing good things and a few of his dishes would not be out of place in Sydney and Melbournes' elite nosheries. Magill Estate has a great outlook over the city and an experienced waitstaff who know just when to appear without getting in the way. If Adelaide diners want to have a restaurant that is up there with the best in the Eastern states then the should support what is happening up at Magill Estate.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Sarah: 10 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

I felt privileged to be taken to Magill Estate for a romantic Friday night dinner. To celebrate Valentine's Day for a second time, my partner and I both enjoyed the degustation menu with matched wines; it was a flawless experience. The meal began with a trio of house made bread, then continued with the usual order of courses. However there was nothing predicable about it, with each course came new experiences and surprises. The combination of flavours and textures that I could have never imagined possible, blended harmoniously, providing new taste sensations and leaving us both in a state of awe. It was an expensive evening, and possibly because I was not the one forking out, I feel that it was worth every cent. It is not a dining experience easy to come by, nor one that could be recreated at home, and with all my expectations exceeded, it is well worth the premium price tag. If I had the budget I would return regularly, but at this stage it is reserved for special occasions. I can't wait to go back!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

8 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
14
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 2

Anonymous: 11 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

hmmm magill estate. nice food, nice staff, however very, very pricey for what you get. very small portions... for very big dollars!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 11 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Jerome in the kitchen is a bit of a wiz - great food and great view out over Adelaide with the huge glass window that is the feature of the restaurant. The prices are a bit steep but much cheaper for the same quality in many interstate of overseas restaurants of this quality

Do you Agree or Disagree?

11 people agree and 8 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for Magill Estate Restaurant

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience