Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

0.4
km

Mekong Thai Restaurant

68 Hindley Street, Adelaide

Telephone 08 8231 2914

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Asian & Thai.

Average of 12 reviews

  • 3.8 / 5 Food
  • 3.8 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.5 / 5 Service
  • 4.2 / 5 Value
  • 15.3 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Mekong Thai Restaurant

8
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 5 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

this place may offer cheap meals, but the food is horrible. i had the tom kah gai.... it was watery and had no flavour and the chicken larp also had no flavour. it was served on the smallest plate ever so when i went to try and eat it it just kept falling off the plate onto the table.. nope i will not be returning to this place ever.service, what service. perhaps i blinked, but i didn't see any.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 4 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Mekong Thai Restaurant

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

ChefSuzie: 4 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Food is amazing here! Actually spectacular! My husband and I spent a week in Adelaide and trialled multiple restaurants but Mekong Thai was by far the best experience. Great food, great service, GREAT prices and the atmosphere of the restaurant was lively and enthralling. Will definitely be eating here again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

James go fly: 1 year, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Very nice overall, warm on such a cold night, very friendly. Recommend to anyone

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Mr Phil: 2 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Hi eyeryone! I'm from KL, Malaysia & been living in Perth for almost 4 years, very familiar with Malay/Thai food and can cook them as well :) . Today, somehow I appeared in Adelaide for some reasons & straight away went to this restaurant. I selected a satay with vege & rice & my wife ordered a chicken cook with basil with rice. Just after a few minutes the order arrived.Surprisingly, the food were really delicious eventhough it has been adapted to OZ taste a bit(not too spicy, but a bit sweet since not all OZ can bear the hotness of chili, isn't it?). We even order another satay rice( I love eating satay&been eating satay since my babyhood) and padrik/paprik rice for take away. Amazing food right? For your information, the chef himself came over to send all of the food to us. Really touching. The services is very good and quite fast. While for the price, my wife and I think it worth and cheap. :) Frankly, it's value for money. If you come to Adelaide, please dine in this restaurant. * While we were dining here, there was a middle aged French couple, a regular customer waiting his meal for take away, a regular customer waiting her roti canai/prata for take away, a group of 4 aged 20-40 years old men dining as well, and a few other customers too. "TASTE YOUR TASTE BUDS HERE FOR REAL!!!" Cheers! ( Just finished my take away Satay with vege & rice) Yummmmmmmmmmmy!!! This is my personal experience, others might differ.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

samara: 7 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

if you live within the delivery range of mekong thai and haven't had their seafood nasi goreng delivered to you door... you're mad. do it! as a piscitarian (seafood eating vego) i always have a wide range of dishes to choose from but can almost never go past this fresh, tasty and satisfying dish. mix it with kang kong or another of their crisp, vegy dishes for a quick, inexpensive meal that is a total treat without the guilt. my husband swears by lamb rendang but the seafood nasi goreng is his #1 pick too.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

14 people agree and 13 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

beepjo: 3 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

an amazing array of fresh vibrant flavours and a great authentic atmosphere makes for an affordable, enjouable evening leaving you wanting just a little bit more - even though you are full!!! i love this restaurant! try it tonight.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Martina_Adel: 2 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Hi fellow diners! I would like to offer the following: the food is fabulous! I always have the Pad Thai - I have found it to be the BEST pad thai in Adelaide. It has a great sweet, yet a little bit of sour flavour and the amount on the plate is awesome considering the cheap price. I have taken lots of friends there for lucnh and it is always tasty - not one complaint about the food. The restaurant is always buzzing with the lunch time crowd yet the staff are fast and friendly even if sometimes a bit frantic. The service can be a bit sporadic particularly when they are packed out, but when you're busy you can't do everything instantly. Overall a fantastic quick meal for a great price! Will be returning again soon!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

PJ1983: 5 years ago – Link & Share

The food is better than 5/5, I have never had better Thai food in Adelaide. Yum yum yum yum YUM!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Frank: 2 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

I have visited this great place every time I'm in Adelaide. I have never been disappointed, and I can strongly recommend Mekong Thai if you love thai food.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Diwoo: 5 years ago – Link & Share

great tasty food , try cambodian dishes

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
11
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 4

ASP: 4 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

I had Phad Thai and it's quite frustrating..although it's a big meal, but it's sweet and it's cold..it doesn't taste like it's freshly cooked at that time. The cashier who is also the waitress is quite rude, doesnt have a nice manner to work as a customer service.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

kai_isman: 3 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

I went to mekong thai expecting great malaysian/thai cuisine, especially after reading the good reviews on this site. But how wrong I was. First of all, i am singaporean so I guess i am pickier than others aussies when it comes to proper msian food. I ordered the beef rendang, wife ordered laksa and we shared the seafood nasi goreng a reviewer here raved about. Beef rendang, ok ok. Laksa was bleh, bland and tasteless. Seafood nasi goreng was the biggest dissapointment of them all. Really tasteless, messily cooked dish that any university student can cook. My baby was sitting in their infant seat and it was filthy. Very filthy like it's never been washed for 10 years. I couldn't finish the food and my wife asked it to be doggy packed. To our amazement, the waiter came with two empty container and just put it on our table expecting us to put it in the doggy bag ourselves. First time in all my years of dining that i've been asked to pack my own takeway. And when i came to pay the bill, there was this big sign on the table stating that every single means of electric payment fees had to be paid by the customer. For eg. service fee for eftpos was 30cents and I have to pay for that our of my own pocket! Considering the amount i paid for crap food and lousy service, i still have to pay the service fees for electronic payment. Amex was 2.50 service fee. But eftpos was a measly 30 cents, come on! If u want good malaysian food, i highly recommend 'taste of spice' at gouger street. Price reasonable, excellent food, proper service. I've been there three times and all three times i've left a happy person and my plates clean. Mekong thai big dissapointment.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for Mekong Thai Restaurant

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience