Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

1.2
km

Milano Cucina

80 Hutt Street, Adelaide

Telephone 08 8227 0961

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Italian.

Average of 12 reviews

  • 3.3 / 5 Food
  • 3.2 / 5 Ambience
  • 2.6 / 5 Service
  • 2.9 / 5 Value
  • 12 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Milano Cucina

17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

David: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

After reading the mixed reviews here, I decided to try Milano for myself. I visited for a simple weekend lunch of pizza & pasta. Both were tasty & at less than $50, posed good value. The service was friendly & attentive. The restaurant itself is stylish, but the colour scheme does make it look a little cold & too much part of Channel Ten (which is upstairs). I'll visit again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Milano Cucina

 
 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Brent: 11 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

A bit noisy. Service was great until the coffee and the bill - they were slow. The food was excellent. There were five of us and everybody rated what they had as great. There was a great variety on the menu. Everybody said that we'll need to go back to try something else.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

11 people agree and 10 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 10 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Great to find a quiet, quality Italian restaurant. Excellent menu with a variety of choices including old favourites and some more unusual dishes. Each course was well presented and of good quality. Prices were reasonable (eg.good value for the quality recieved). Service was a bit slow on occasions - on a very busy night - but not slow enough to spoil the evening. A pleasant atmosphere (without the reverberating chatter and noise of chairs scraping on tiled floors like in many italian restaurants). Highly recommended - and I will be visiting again - there are still some interesting menu items to explore!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
15
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

angeeee, kella!: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

food was great! look of the place was also very good. Although the day i went the service was appaling. The main waiter raised his voice at another waiter for failing to acknowledge a table waiting to be ordered. When i went to order my gelati the lady was abrupt and even brought me a different one to what i ordered, although she did apologise and go get me the right one. i would return there again - perhaps i just caught them on a bad day?

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 3

Richard: 11 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Excellent menu with a variety of choices including old favourites and some more unusual dishes. Although the waiter was very friendly I was somewhat disappointed with my treatment on arrival. I would have like to sample something other than pizza but I was disappointed to find the kitchen was closed. Naturally I didn't have a problem with this although I became rather annoyed when one of the so called "celebrities" from upstairs at Channel 10 walked in and suddenly the kitchen was open. The fact that I've worked long and hard to get to a position of respect at work had no bearing on the owner, as it shouldn't, it shouldn't matter if I worked checkout at Coles. I don't know why reading the weather at 5:50pm weekdays commands more respect so I left feeling disguised and therefore can not comment on the food.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

11 people agree and 15 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

RKMC: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Dined there on a Thusday night...half the restaurant was full. Pasta's are reasonably priced for the size and quality. I had a seafood linguine and although i was excited by the serving size (i had expected something much smaller), i was disappointed by the taste. It had a couple of scallops, some mussels, a few cockles and a about 4 prawns in it but the pasta tasted very bland...almost similar to just eating boiled pasta tossed in some olive oil to not make it dry out. There was hardly any seafood flavour to the dish and in the end i felt like i was just filling up on a handful of seafood and boiled pasta. My Girlfriends had the Gnocci (which was apparently very nice) and the Prawns in basil sauce (bit spicy but nice). They could have done with an extra waiter because everytime we wanted to get their attention it ended up with Us walking up to the Counter to find someone. Would return but definiltey try a different dish.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Lawrie: 7 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Had dinner last night with a Scoupon (I am unsure what hosts anywhere think of such deals ? ?already paid so won?t get more? or ?make sure they come back?). Was a little nervous about past reviews on this site. We found the staff to be more than expected; attentive and friendly without being in your face. They made us very welcome. The entre, Schiacciata (white pizza bread) Tre Formaggi Tre Funghi, was excellent; an absolute must. Sitting outside was a great option as it was a calm warm night. We thoroughly enjoyed the visit and will definitely return.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
10.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2.5

charlie_chops: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

VERY BAD EXPERIENCE. we had a coupon received through "Scoopon" application. Obviously because we weren't paying in full we were treated differently. Once we chose a place to sit they tried to get us to move because it was a booth (even though it wasn't reserved) after we had already chosen a place to sit. - once we ordered they told us that because its a 3 course meal our "main" is going to be a "small" because no one ever finishes their food.? i dont think that management has a say in how much food they want to give us because of a coupon. - once we ordered, we ordered extras like Coffe - coffee didn't come until 30 minutes later. - our bread rolls came out and after 15 minutes of waiting we still hadn't received small plates for our rolls, so we had no other choice but to cut into our rolls and spill the mess on the table. - after asking for small plates and the staff realising they had forgotten them they had told us that we can actually now get our mains as a MAIN SIZE. - once we had finished our 1x pizza and 1x pasta there was still some food left over, therefore making it some how appropriate for the waiter to comment on the fact that this is the reason why they wanted to give us small servings. (entre') wouldn't advise anyone to eat there, staff seem careless/caring depending on how much money you are spending even if its over $30. worst experience i have ever had or been treated before in a restaurant. - professionalism of chef's were also poor, twice in the same hour a chef was outside in plane public view in full uniform smoking. (gave us the coffee for free because it took 30 minutes)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
10.5
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 2.5

soothepanda: 8 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Disappointing. Nothing awful about Milano Cucina - but nothing wow either. Agree with the poster how this place has survived with so many great Italian restaurants in Adelaide. Food was fine - but not exciting or delicious. Menu looked great and I was looking forward to my selected items - sadly they didn't live up to their descriptions. Decor feels a bit old and tatty, service is nothing special - definitely somewhere where you're either treated really well or ignored, depending on how important you are/if you're considered a 'real' diner or 'just a scoopon purchaser.' Wouldn't rush back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
8
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1

Anonymous: 10 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

It's so easy to find a good quality Italian restaurant in Adelaide you really have to wonder how Milano has survived even its first year. Aside from affable service nothing else came even close to being acceptable when I took my 3 year old son out to dine there recently. The food wasn't cooked, prices were beyond reasonable and given only 4 tables were in use the service was very slow - albeit friendly when it did arrive. Food - of a simple lamb chops with potatoes and spinach meal we experienced dry Lamb, uncooked potatoes that were raw in the centre and spinach so bitter it wasn't edible. Price - a childs size serve of gnocchi with butter and 2 strings of brocollini = $20. Service - when our plates were collected (and baring in mind that most of my meal was uneaten) I enquired as to whether the head chef was working that night but the only response received was "yes, of course". Perhaps they don't expect customers to dine more than once ! And when you combine Milano's really poor food with totally over the top prices and slow service you have three good reasons to either pop across the road to Bocelli (cafe style but so much better) or one of our authentic Italian restaurants - Enoteca and Botanic (to name just two)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
7.5
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 2

BJR: 7 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Had the "Calamari stuffed with seafood" which was really, "Calamari stuffed with fish paste". The paste was dry and pretty ordinary. Service was hopelessly slow (2 hours for a main course and a coffee on a Monday night) and we were initially served the wrong order. Coffee was tepid and in a small cup. Won't be bothering again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
5.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Kait: 8 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Horrible experience. We waited over an hour for our meals to be brought out. During this time the waitress didn't even acknowledge us and it was up to us to finally inquire about our meals. Unfortunately we were not impressed with the food either. Won't be going back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
 

Add a review for Milano Cucina

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience