Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

4.9
km

My Yen

74 Belair Road, Hawthorn

Telephone 08 8271 9077

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Asian & Chinese.

Average of 18 reviews

  • 3.5 / 5 Food
  • 2.8 / 5 Ambience
  • 2.6 / 5 Service
  • 3.9 / 5 Value
  • 12.8 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for My Yen

17
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Kim: 12 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

You know it's a good Chinese restaurant when it's filled with Asians. This is one of the ones people come from the other side of town to dine at. Best thing is it's one of the most reasonably priced restaurants and often we've gone in for a meal for 2 people and paid only about $20 for dinner (total). Service can be better but not bad overall.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

11 people agree and 17 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for My Yen

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 12 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

To die for! Second to none! The Best Chinese Food in Adelaide. We are from the northern suburbs and would not hesitate traveling there at least once a month for a good feed! We have had Chinese New Year celebrations there for the last 5 years, make that six come 7 Feb 2007! Highly recommended!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

8 people agree and 8 disagree.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Ness: 8 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

i like the takeaway here. the owners are so nice!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

may84: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Fantastic value for money, plenty of variety, pleasant polite staff. Would definitely dine there again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 5

BJ The Food Critic: 9 years ago – Link & Share

I saw with my own eyes a fresh Lobster, hand picked by a table, and it was HUGE and certainly still alive!!!! So frozen lobster, not on my visit.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 5

BJ The Food Critic: 9 years ago – Link & Share

Certainly one of Adelaides best all round chinese experiences. Sure, you walk in and the decor is dated, BUT it has that traditional Chinese lure that you soon makes you realise it's not about pretty tables and chairs, but good old fashioned chinese food. 2 Menus, Traditional Chinese & Modern Chinese, both acceptable. ENTREE: Steam Dim Sim, certainly portioned well, tasty, fresh and a good gauge of whats to come. (served with bonus complimenary prawn chips) MAINS: Crab Yei Mein, a tasty little number, simple yet effective, carrying crab flavour a plenty, generous in portion size, and not greasy in the slightest. Lemon Chicken, 2 whole chicken breasts, lightly battered, sliced, and with with quality cuts not overcooked or over sauced. DESSERT: Deep Fried Ice cream. Perfectly portioned, suspect it was deep fried and then re-frozen which was a little dissapointing, but I hardly had room anyway :P. OVERALL: Cute yet cliche chinese 80's decor, vibrant atmosphere, great menu selection including a great looking banquet, BYO, pretty slow on the service, but a friendly reminder here and there helps push things along, and at the end of the night, table fo 4, 2 bottles of BYO ALL for $100!!! Amazing value!!!! Don't hold any expectations and you won't be dissapointed with a very affordable, tasty, generous night out which will no doubt see you going back for more.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4.5

nickki: 9 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Food are tasty with authentice chinese cooking. The cheapest lobster you may get from here! (but frozen one). still yum!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 5

Never Disappointed: 10 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Never been disappointed. Coming from an asian, it's the best value and tasting chinese restaurants in Adelaide. I took my relatives from Melbourne (the Asian food capital), and they even commented on how yummy the food was and how cheap it was compared to Melbourne chinese restaurants. So much so, they returned again (particulary for the shark fin soup) before going home. I highly recommend the Mud Crab with ginger and shallot in YiMei (noodles) - when in season. The succulent crab meat is juicy and sweet with freshness. The YiMei is exquisite and to die for! This dish is finger-licking good, so make sure you have clean hands =) Also, the shark fin soup is the best in Adelaide, particularly with shredded chicken! It's packed with flavour and depth. The shark fin is crunchy and generous as shark fin soup should be, unlike other restaurants I've been to. There are more dishes to sample. Like another reviewer has commented, ask for authentic Chinese/English menu. There's more variety and genuine dishes to offer than the standard menu.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
15
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 10 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Great cheap Chinese food. Don't let the cheap prices fool you! This is a classic case of disproving the whole 'you get what you pay for' belief. I have been here on more than 10 occasions and each time, I've walked away full and my wallet hasn't suffered for it, either. The only thing is when you organise a big function, with mass banquets, then the servings become smaller in size and the quality drops off a bit. But no such problems for smaller outings! Wouldn't recommend the Peking Duck though, their pastry isn't as nice as other places- a bit too much dough. Would recommend the Buddha Vegetarian Hot Pot, Hot & Sour Soup, Lobster Fried E-Mein. All very lovely dishes.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
14
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 5

rah: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

For those of you who enjoy good food, and appreciate good value, put this on your list. I have always found the food to be of a high standard, for the 1st timer I would recommend any of the hotpots, but don't be afraid to step out of your comfort zone, as this place will amaze and excite you. Sure you can pick fault with the decor, but the food speaks for itself. I reckon you will find something on the menu that will drag you back time and again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
14
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 5

Ethan: 11 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

My favourite restaurant for chinese cuisine in Adelaide. The schezuan dishes are exquisite, and so is the crocodile dish served here. SECRET: MAKE SURE you ask for the menu which has things written in chinese as well as english. They have two sets of menus in this place. One of them is only in english, and it differs from the menu which has both english and chinese written on it. WATCH OUT! Good Points: 1) FOOD is awesome. Heaps of variety, and everything I have tried so far has tasted great. My Asian friends love it too, and that cannt be a bad thing! 2) CHEAP AS! The final bill never ceases to surprise me! Its always less then what I expect it to be after a huge meal including drinks, and dessert... Not so Good Points: 1) SERVICE is average at best. The staff are friendly but there is a bit of communication gap at times, which is fun sometimes, but does get a bit irritating on other occasions. 2) AMBIENCE needs an uplift. OK, it dosnt REALLY matter to me, and most other people, but there are some who want to eat someplace really nice, and better lighting and furniture always helps.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
13
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 4.5

d-m-d: 9 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

FOOD: Delicious and fresh. Personal favourites include salt and pepper chicken (off asian menu), sweet and sour chicken, lemon chicken and fried rice. SERVICE: Language gap and cultural differences. Meals do not come out and same time and always have to ask. Slow to serve takeaways, so always dine in. AMBIENCE: restaurant needs re doing and new furniture, paint and decorations. VALUE: very cheap able to share dishes and pay $10 each Recommemded for food only, so BYO patience!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
11
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

amylou37: 9 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

not a good experience,beef with vegetables consisted on ONLY celery,and heaps of it. In fact the chicken dish was the same. Give me gouger street chinese anyday

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
8.5
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 3

coggla: 8 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

The menu is disappointing - the usual 100 dishes you get at every other suburban Chinese restaurant, straight out of "Muriel's Wedding". Interestingly, some of the Asian customers were eating great looking dishes that weren't on the menu like oysters, crab and lobster, so I'm not sure if they just give non-Asians the uninspiring "Western" menu. Certainly the Asian customers seemed to get better service from the wait staff - they turned into inattentive zombies when required to serve us. Dishes came out individually after really long intervals and plates were left on the table when dishes were finished (at all tables), and we had to ask for eating utensils and napkins. Having said that, the food was of good quality and cooked well, and the wine list isn't bad for a Chinese restaurant. I probably wouldn't eat there again but would consider getting takeaway next time.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
6.5
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

Ann: 6 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Ranked as one of the worst dinning experiences I have had. Entered restaurant at 5:10pm with my daughter for a quick dinner. Ordered fried rice, 2 mains and 1 serve of spring rolls. We received fried rice after 3/4 hour, then our drinks arrived. 1/2 out later one main arrived. I complained at 6:45 that we still had not received all our meal after which our spring rolls appeared. We then paid and left after 2 hours of waiting and still no Honey Chicken. Further drinks were not offered either. Very disappointing! They did take 10% off the final bill, minus the Honey Chicken.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

AsianInAdelaide: 9 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Eiither they Changed owners or changed chefs but, Food was horrible. Frozen lobster and Fish, Sweet and sour pork was disgustingly sweet, Salt and Pepper squid smelt like Yeast. Service Was always horrible. Ambience was always Horrbile, Value was good but shit food is not worth anything. Dont go there anymore.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

not hppy Jan: 9 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

not happy Jan. the Worst chineese food I have ever had. went to a family dinner on the weekend it was disgusting. service was non excistent satays we that burnt that they were chinders. had to ask three times for cultery instead of chopsticks and plates that we were meant to eat off of were dirty. can't believe that they are stilli in business Wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Anonymous: 9 years, 12 months ago – Link & Share

I decided to order a take away meal on a Wednesday night, no special occassion or particular night just a regular Wednesday night. Anyway, i ordered my meal over the phone at 7.10pm and was told it would take 20 minutes. (By the way i only ordered things like spring rolls, chicken with cashew nuts, mongolian lamb and fried rice, nothing too fancy or anything you would think would take too long to make). I got to the restaurant at 7.30pm (20min wait as per instructions) and waited..... After 10 minutes i was finally spoken to and asked what my name was and told the order would be ready soon.... The restaurant seemed relatively busy and there were a few other people waitng for their takeaways. It was now 8pm and still had not received my takeaway. People in the restaurant were constantly asking staff to be served and some diners went up to staff and complained several times asking where their meals were. It was now almost 8.30pm and I had still not yet received my meal. A group of diners had to leave with out eating because they had a function on and didnt think it should take over an hour to get served. From the time I rang the order in to the time I walked out of the place in disgust and with out my takeaway meal it was an hour and a half, yep 90 minutes and still no food. during this 90 minute ordeal i had a chat with a few other people waitng for their meals and we had all been waiting a similar time. I would have given a better review for this place but since i never got to actually eat anything well what do you expect??

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for My Yen

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience