Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

9.9
km

Outback Jacks Bar & Grill Glenelg

Shop 11 Marina Pier, Glenelg

Telephone 08 8294 2203

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Modern Australian.

Average of 32 reviews

  • 2.3 / 5 Food
  • 2.5 / 5 Ambience
  • 2.2 / 5 Service
  • 2.2 / 5 Value
  • 9.2 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Outback Jacks Bar & Grill Glenelg

6.5
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

rest_reviewer: 10 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Tried when they first opened. Had a group of ten. I'd finished my 1kg rump along with wedges & veg before my friend had their meal brought out! And his steak was med-well instead of rare (thought they were a steakhouse? - should know how to cook them)...on 2 occassions our drinks were not brought to us and several other times we waited ages, even though we were the only people in there!! (and the bar was literally 2 metres from our table!) We were told to stay seated but got sick of waiting so we got our own drinks at the bar as they were just left there. No lemon/lime with coronas but lime gets served in you scotch? Tried to give them a second chance but was thoroughly disappointed when we were served a starter that cost $16.95 for only 4 tiny skewers (croc & roo)...the meat on the skewers were no bigger than my thumb. Worst dining experience I've had in a very long time...both times.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

6 people agree and 0 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Outback Jacks Bar & Grill Glenelg

 
 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

flippa: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

great food service was excellent. best bernaise sauce i have ever had. all 4 of us left feeling very satisfied.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

hungryman: 8 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

I have been to OBJs many times and have always had a good experience. The wait for food can be a little long at times but this is typical of every restaurant in Adelaide. The oysters trio is excellent, and my steak has always been prepared the way I like it.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

kez: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Kez and friends..saturday dinner...march We arrived to find there was a mix up with tables ,We allowed the manager to fix the problem which he did promptly and to make up for the wait he put us at a beach window seat with apologies .We found the food amazing and all six of us had a fantastic time and all were wrapped with their meals.I have to say thankyou for a great night with a funny and efficent waitress that topped off a fantastic night.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

oogle: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

I first dined there on their second night of business, a friend and myself were the first two people to complete the 1kg challenge. I have returned to the restaurant on many occasions. The food has always been fantastic, although at times there has been a bit of a wait for out meals, it has always been worth it. I have been into the place on a Sunday afternoon, and had a great time with my mates, their cheap beers and massive servings keep me and the lads happy. I would recommend any person/group/ family to give this place a go if you are after a great meal and reasonable price.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

James: 8 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

If it sounds too good to be true, it probably isn't. Beware of coupon offers and you may not be able to get a booking when you want one either. However, this is not all Outback Jack's fault and we found that the tucker is OK and it's quite a good place to eat.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
16
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4.5

Georgie: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Best steak I ever had.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 6 disagree.

 
13
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

shamen: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

We used our Scoopon voucher. It had 7 weeks to go before expiry, but we could'nt get in for a Fri or Sat night, so we went on a Tuesday night instead. The service was excellent!!! They took our drink orders straight away, and food order not long afterwards. They were friendly, and more than accommodating. As for the value of the Scoopon, I think it was good value for $45.00, however portion sizes were smaller(we have dined there before, and know the normal sizes!)and they gave us a cheaper wine than was advertised as the deal. The steaks were sort of dry, but it was'nt the worst meal I've ever eaten. But overall, you can't get that much these days for $45.00, so I was generally happy.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

Slats: 8 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Dining experience that fell short of expectations. We bought a scoopon voucher for $45 that had a value of $162 at the restaurant. However mamagement has made a special menu that restricts your choices (not advertised or sold this way)- was very much looking forward to a Waygu steak - but not on our menu - instead settled on an eye fillet that was hidden on the plate by the salad bowl. Entree I choose was the "Prawns Australian' - the menu states a price of $16.95 - we received 4 prawns - no value here if paying full price. Desserts are at your cost not part of the voucher but again not as advertised. Our waitress was great as was the food we had - however as the meals appeared to fall short of the normal menu making a return visit way out of contention. Great value on a coupon - very poor value if paying full price. Management need to understand that you need to produce your best at all times if you are looking for repeat business and recommendations from your dinners. Check out Zoots to see how to promote a business.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Delect: 8 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

We were a bit nervous about using our Scoopon at Outback Jacks Glenelg after reading the above reviews but everything was really good. If using a Scoopon perhaps a week night is better? All the staff were really friendly and helpful and the owner in particular was very genuine. Our meals were good, the entree does seem a bit smaller than if you were not using the Scoopon but it works out well because the mains are so generous. Would definitely go there again. Excellent value for money in terms of the Scoopon :)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Arnie: 8 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Dined at outback jacks for the first time group of five . My daughter and I had the surf/turf med rare . Dry Dry Dry not what I was sold on .Not Happy very disapointing.I will not go back !

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
9.5
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 3.5

Tom 52: 8 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

We bought a Scoopon deal which listed a number of exclusions from the normal menu, no problem. We were given a special Scoopon menu which had many dishes missing from the menu we looked at on their website. When we enquired about this we were told that Scoopon had got it wrong and that we could take what they were offering or leave it. The deal included a bottle of wine and the person we complained to told us she had upgraded us to a better bottle of red wine, which had obviously just come out of a fridge! The service was very poor, it took 2 hours to be served an entree and a main course and the actual food was below average. We will not be going back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
9.5
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 2

FoodLover: 6 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Very ordinary food. Small serves and over priced. 1 hour wait for food.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
9
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2.5

Eat and review: 7 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Well for the reputation this resturant has it certainly doesnt live up to it. The steak we ordered had more fat than actual meat and with a side of chips that looked like they came from a happy meal. Surroundings on the other hand were nice, we sat outside on a warm night which was pleasent. Unfortunetly The staff acted more like salesmen that waiter's, constantly asking over and over "would like somthing to drink?" I mean how many times can you say no? how ridiculous. From this experience i dont think ill be dining there again anytime soon

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
8
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1

johnb: 1 year, 3 months ago – Link & Share

the worst meal I have ever had today 18/11/18 Had chicken wings that were cold and were drizzled in the worse sauce ever. Pork ribs were a very unapitising slab of meat and the meat was not cooked in the marinade. I will never return and also tell my circle of influence of my terrible experience. John Bulk

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
8
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 1

Norma Jean: 8 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

well must say the greetings were great, the staff friendly which was fantastic....until we all ordered our meals.....my guy ordered a MEDIUM steak .....came out very well done....but what i ordered i did get as i ordered medium well and that's what i got and it was great....Now we were in a group of 9 as it was our nieces 6th Birthday yesterday and that is where she wanted to go, now not only did my sister who is the 6 year olds mother ask not once but three times for her birthday cake to be brought out so we could do the birthday celebration as every family does....it fell on deaf ears, so after asking 4 times to no avail and on the forth time be told we are busy well that got the hackles up of the mother in law...so she went up and sorted it out with the gentle giant i think he is a kiwi (if not my apologies)....only after her mother in law speaking with this guy did he hand over the cake which i must add my sister had bought from home it was not supplied by out back jacks at glenelg.....so finally we had the cake not after her brother had fallen asleep due to being tired and couldn't wait up for his slice as he is 3........so after all that around an hour later a waitress came up and asked if we had the cake as she forgot all about it as they were busy.....so she asked the birthday girl if she would like a complimentry ice cream?- she said yes- what flavour topping would you like?- chocolate please- no worries will bring that to you now......she got it with strawberry topping not with chocolate...ffs are you kidding me........ hmmmm.....should i also mention that us 9 were in before anyone else yes granted it turned out to be a full house but when your the first in and have ordered drinks and meals only to be waiting for ages as they have stuffed up said orders, over cooked orders etc etc and then they ask how was you evening...well all i could do is bite my tongue and look up with a grin as because if i had said anything it would not have been pleasent and i did not want to ruin our nieces 6th birthday, but having said that will not be dining there again i feel, steak house i think not as the grill chef does not know the difference between WELL DONE,MEDIUM,MEDIUM WELL, MEDIUM RARE, RARE etc.....i yes i do have my ticket so i know what i am talking about.....you need to seriously get full trained and certified grill CHEF'S if they were experienced and trained mistakes like that wouldnt happen. but will see if i ever return....highly doubtful.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
8
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1

MasterCritiq: 9 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Busy for tues night this is always good sign!! How could so many people enjoy tough badly cooked overpriced steak with cold sides (jacket potato came straight out of fridge and may have got 1min tops in microwave) chips luke warm like the rest of us probably sick of waiting on warmer tray.Side salad recycled grass growing on side of road without any dressing!! Saw waitress only once during night and that's when first walked in after that we had to ask for bill at end no one bothered to top up drinks ask if wanted more etc. Walked out feeling hungry all the way to golden arches Thank god they were still open for coffee and cake! Note to grill chef there are various degrees of cooking meat tartare/ bleu /rare/ medium rare/ medium/ med well done/ well done we had two people order medium one got rare the other med well!!! For specialist grill house your cook is a few grills short of being anywhere close to a grill chef

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
7.5
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 2

auntytracy: 7 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Saturday night was busy but to have to wait 1.5hrs for our order and for half of it to be cold and congealed..if it wasnt that my 6yr old nephew had chosen the place for his birthday treat, we would have left after the first 40 minutes. A great location let down by poorly trained staff and management

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
7.5
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

barkdog: 9 years ago – Link & Share

I ate there for my birthday. Was fortunate enough to sit outside on a pretty bitter day, right next to the store owner. After ordering our meals we had the pleasure of waiting over an hour for our food to arrive. New customers had the time to arrive, order, eat and leave before we got our meals. After the food finally arrived it was lukewarm. The store owner had overheard us complaining and spoke to the manager. After this she had the nerve to ask us if we enjoyed our meal without offering any sort of explanation for the wait or any sort of apology. As soon as we had finished we paid for our meals were the same manager asked us again if we had a good time. I then explained the situation in which she replied "Maybe you should try one of the other restaurants next time". Overall the food was OK but the service was dreadful. Would highly advise skipping this place!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
7.5
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1.5

shopah: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

shockingly bad!! terrible service. we had to ask for drinks. had to ask to place an order. steaks were all overcooked. wait staff couldn't care less about anyone there. no direction from floor manager. kids 'playroom' is upstairs and out of sight of tables/parents. so can't leave kids there as can't supervise, and is up lots of stairs. had a scoopon voucher and had a look at the total bill if we had paid full price - for 2 steaks, 1 kids meal and a bottlew of wine $$120!! there is no way we would have paid that for such a crappy experience.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
7
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Spades: 8 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

If you're not going for the steak, don't bother. Meals are both overpriced and undersized, and service was slow to boot.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
6
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Tae_vuong: 8 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

DON'T IGNORE! THE WORST EXPERIENCE! It was my birthday, the service was slow. Had to ask for three empty glasses for water THREE TIMES and in the end we got attitude when they tried to con us and make us pay for a $200+ bill that wasn't ours. WORST RESTAURANT EVER. The staff was HORRIBLE. ruined my birthday. DONT EVER GO THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
5.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Samson: 8 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

aug wed night ordered fish and a steak med - well done. Extremely disappointed with quality of food. Fish tasted like a fish finger texture - had better from a good takeaway fish&chip store. Steak was grissly, fatty and oozed blood and smelt funny...couldnt eat, place didnt care less...NEVER WILL I RETURN. Great stuff if you want to spend good money on bad food

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
5.5
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Loz: 8 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

The Chicken was dry and overcooked beyond recognition, they had sold out of ribs at 7pm on their "ribs night" and the service was appauling on so many levels. When paying the bill the manager attempted every trick to try and overcharge us for things and was extremely arrogant when we questioned it and after finally agreeing they produced a second bill which added 6 items to our bill that we never ordered or received! Neither myself nor my friends have EVER receiving such rude treatment anywhere, and it wasn't until a second staff member jumped in and fixed our order did things get rectified. They should have their franchise taken away in my opinion, it lets the whole chain down.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

parker: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

DO NOT GO. This is the most appalling resturaunt i have ever been too. A bucks night of over 15 very drunk men in there you could not hear yourself talk,a nd they kept on serving them food. To really ice the cake they servied ys raw chicken wings to me who is 7 months pregant and my 2.5 yr old!!! It as a disgrace. When we told them just looked at us and took it away!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

boglebonce: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Sunday Lunchtime, two adults three kids. They took 1/2 hour to take our order and and hour and a half to serve our lunch. Our three year old was very, very fed up by the time the food arrived, and the food was absolutely crap when it was finally prresented to us. The burgers (described on the menu as burger and chips) came out without the chips and we had to show the waitress the menu description before she grudgingly brought out a bowl of chips. My steak arrived 15 minutes after everyone elses food, the steak was cold and tough and the chips had barely seen the chip pan, but by that time I could have eaten a scabby dog. It was a total shambles, quite possibly the most unpleasant dining experience I've ever had, and I eat out at least twice a month, so that's quite a few experiences!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

ell: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

waited an hour and a half for our meals and could not get an answer from staff or manager as to where our meals were. We left without having tried anything except for oysters.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

kenno: 8 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Attend the venuue with a group of 11 on a Sunday afternoon.Entree's were mixed up with another table and the drinks took forever. The drinks were just left on the bar and not delivered to us - grabbed them from the bar ourselves. 1 hour had passed with no sign of food.No acknowledgement from staff on the status of our main meals. We left the restraunt after 60 mins due to the ill treatment by the 'owner' who was working behind the bar. Worst serive I have ever come across. Do not go there.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Samson: 8 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Glenelg - avoid at all cost overpriced food...

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Samson: 8 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

ALERT TO ALL OUTBACK JACK CUSTOMERS....if you have to wait too long for a meal, if the staff are not polite and friendly and accommodating, if you have to ask more than once for something...even if you have ordered your meals...STAND UP AND WALK OUT! Because my friends...IF YOU STAY YOUR NIGHT IS GOING TO BE RUINED.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

DONTGOTHERE: 9 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Don't go there, that's all I can suggest. Ordered a med-well steak. Took 40 minutes, after asking twice how long. Eventually what came out was the worst meal I have ever had in my life. Steak was cooked burnt-over well covered in a sauce which words couldn't describe. Took 1 bite, sent it back. WORST EXPERIENCE EVER. In over 15 years of dining out, I have never had a meal so disgusting. DON'T GO THERE

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Steve66: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Not a steak house by any stretch !, of 8 meals 4 steaks cooked wrongly. Service very slow, over an hour to get served. Overpriced, more like sitting in a noisy front bar than a restaurant without front bar prices or quality

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for Outback Jacks Bar & Grill Glenelg

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience