Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

2
km

Raj on Taj Unley

13-23 Unley Road, Parkside

Telephone 08 8272 3377

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Asian & Indian.

Average of 24 reviews

  • 3.8 / 5 Food
  • 3.3 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.4 / 5 Service
  • 3.9 / 5 Value
  • 14.4 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Raj on Taj Unley

18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

danib: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Everytime we feel like Indian - this is the place! the food is great! this place is always packed but it's worth waiting for a table!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Raj on Taj Unley

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 12 years ago – Link & Share

I'm a regular at Raj on Taj, mostly for take-away. I live only 5 minutes away but there are at least half a dozen other Indian restaurants in between & I've tried them all...cheaper, similarly priced, & a great deal more expensive. Raj on Taj wins hands down every time, so we just don't bother going elsewhere anymore. It's not meant to be a five-star restaurant, but the service is more than friendly and the food is the tastiest, traditionally prepared Indian food at a reasonable price that I've found in Adelaide. I particularly recommend the Malai Kofta...if you like a bit of sweet & creamy in your savoury. DELICIOUS!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

29 people agree and 21 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Emma44: 6 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

I love Raj on Taj! It's one of my favourite Indian restaurants in Adelaide. The food was delicious and their staff were so friendly! One time, I ordered something too spicy for my taste, and they brought me some complimentary cucumber and yogurt. Another time, the sunset was right in my eyes, and they moved one of those outdoor umbrellas to shield me from the sun. They are so nice there! I recommend it!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
19.9
  • Food: 4.975
  • Ambience: 4.975
  • Service: 4.975
  • Value: 4.975

Mary7: 7 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

My family eats at Raj on Taj almost once a week and the food is amazing every time! The best Indian food in Adelaide! Eating in or take-away the service and food is always good!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Snish: 6 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Got take-away from here and have done so several times over the years; I don't know how they do it but the food is consistently great every single time! I just don't waste my time trying anywhere else because of this reason. I rate the chefs highly.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18.575
  • Food: 5.025
  • Ambience: 4.025
  • Service: 4.525
  • Value: 5

chrisyodawg: 6 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Raj on Taj is a spendid place. The food is absolutely divine. Service is fairly good, and the people there are very friendly! Ambience is also quite nice, however on numerous occasions my accompanying diner has asked for the airconditioner to be turned down as it is often very chilly. Value is also very good and I cannot find good indian food for this price anywhere else! I would recommend this to anybody. -Christpher

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Caitlin: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Great food served without pretence. You know you're going to get consistently tasty food for a good price, take away or dine in. The servers are quick and the restaurant itself a bit quirky but nicely done.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Will: 11 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Although the restaurant hasn't got the most sophisticated or elegant decor I have seen, the quality of the food and hospitality of the hosts more than makes up for it. I have eaten at many Indian restaurants and I have yet to find one which has better food for the price. The service is always efficient and always with a smile. I have visited other places yet I will always keep coming back here.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

17 people agree and 9 disagree.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Anon: 7 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

One of many indian restaraunts local to me, but Raj on Taj is the favourite. Good value, great food and friendly people.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 10 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Fantastic Indian food. The cheese naan is an absolute delight. The staff are always friendly. The decor is an eclectic mix of nouveau dodge cafe with the occasional kitch Indian inclusion. Fantastic value. A favourite.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 7 disagree.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Louise-Anne: 3 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

We dined here recently and over all we were happy. My partner had the spinach chicken. They do spinach beautifully and neither of us are big spinach fans in general. I had the lamp chops and although very nice I was disappointed with the lack of sauce on the plate. That would be my only complaint. Oh and where people pick up take away was right where we were eating..so their butts were kind of right in our faces. Maybe they should have the take away area somewhere else..just my 2 cents worth :)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4.5

anonymous: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Good food and less expensive than others along this strip but they don't cut down on detail. It does not pretend to be 5 star but quality is good

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Genie: 11 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Really good food. Im more fussed with food than service, so this was great. The marsala was good, chicken shaslik fantastic, butter chicken nice. The korma was not what im used to, so it was just ok. As a point of interest I like to have popdoms accompanied with an array of dips, it gives you something to do while your food is being prepared.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

6 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
15.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

johungry: 9 years ago – Link & Share

Love Raj on Taj. Always tasty and fresh. Bit of a chaotic resturant to dine in - they have so many staff running around I wonder if any one gets paid. But anyway the food is always great and reliable. Don't think I've ever had a bad experience there. Prawn Jalfrezy is great as are their cheese naans!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
13
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 3.5

subi2: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

the food is great and value for money but as we are a family of five they always put us on a 4 seat table, even when the restaurant is not full or even busy.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Anonymous: 12 years ago – Link & Share

The place is a little small and the environment is not very decorated at all. The food and service was average the price was rather cheap though which was good. All i can say is ive had better.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

17 people agree and 17 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 9 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

We used to go regularly to Raj on Taj, Unley Rd but found the food standards dropped. Since we havent been for almost a year i think, we thought we'd try it again the other night to see if it had picked up again. But im afraid to say the butter chicken was still watery and flavourless. It used to be my favourite dish. We wont be going back until i hear they have gone back to their old standards. Shame as its very reasonably priced and used to be so good. But we have heard never to go on a saturday night either as you get smaller portions and flavourless food.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
11
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 3.5

goidyberg: 9 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

I've had take-away from here which was great and friends rave about it so took my mum and child there for the lunch deal for a treat. Well, it seems if you're not a meat eater, you don't qualify! they can't swap the main to a cheaper veg dish and give you the deal. Given the place was empty at the time I wouldn't have thought it would be too hard. Anyway, we sat at a table near the door freezing in the draft. Some dishes came out, waiting, waiting, can we have some rice please, thank you, waiting waiting for the rest of the meal while everything went cold ... finally asked what was going on - oh, they thought we had only ordered one lunch deal (for the meat eater amongst us). By then, couldn't be bothered. Won't be going back, a shame though, because food is great. Talking to a friend who lives a long way away and got take-away from there Friday night for his wife's birthday - got all the way home - only half the meal - excluding her fave dish. What do you do? Drive back while the rest goes cold? As I say, shame coz food is great.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
10
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 2.5

ozdazbo: 7 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Was not as good as usual the service is slow and I am sure the dishes are getting smaller. $18.90 for chilli chicken take away is also getting expensive.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
10
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 10 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

I agree with the other reviews, this place has gone down-hill. We used to come here all the time & get take-out from here and loved it but the last few times we have been really disappointed. The last time we got take-out the Butter Chicken & Lamb Spinach (which Ive had numerous times and were my favourites) were watery and flavourless, this happened the time before as well so this time i rang up and complained. We wont be going back. Has it changed ownership or something?

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
10
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 3

Anonymous: 10 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Went there today for lunch with a couple of friends...we were the first ones there for the lunch session but even so, service was slow. My husband and i ordered 2 x serves of their lunch special (any item off the main menu exluding the gourmet corner and any seafood dishes, serve of potato salad and rice) for $8.90 The meals took a little while to come out and even though there was noone else that had arrived as yet (maybe 1 other couple) our friends had to go in and ask for their rice because the mains came out but no rice for them. All our meals weren't even luke warm and wasn't the tastiest indian we've had either. lunch servings are small (we had to order an extra serve of rice). We've tried almost all the indian eateries in Adelaide and i would have to say this is one of the ones on the bottom of our list...won't be returning.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
7
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 2

Grant01: 8 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Went here this week and have to say it's the worst Indian food I've ever had. I eat out a lot and this takes the cake. Bland, tasteless food. Disappointing. Would not recommend.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Anonymous: 11 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

The first time we went, the food was Great...!!but the two times after that the food was not so good , the service is getting poor as well.The food is not authentic Indian food.........:( Won't be going there again and definitely won't recommned it to anyone

Do you Agree or Disagree?

9 people agree and 12 disagree.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Anonymous: 11 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

This place used to be great! What's happened?? Have they changed ownership. Shoddy service etc. Don't go there.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

8 people agree and 11 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for Raj on Taj Unley

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience