Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

9.8
km

Sammys on the Marina

12 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg

Telephone 08 8376 8211

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Seafood.

Average of 30 reviews

  • 2.8 / 5 Food
  • 3 / 5 Ambience
  • 2.4 / 5 Service
  • 2.2 / 5 Value
  • 10.4 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Sammys on the Marina

8.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Nature Boy: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

We had the seafood platter, some things like the smoked salmon and octopus was quite nice though other seafood wasn't. The staff were rude and service simply wasn't there. It is way too overpriced!! Not returning

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Sammys on the Marina

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

study smart triathlete: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Mmmmm

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Alice: 12 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Great service, fantastic food and brilliant views!! South Australian seafood at its best! Make sure you save room for the desserts - YUM!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

8 people agree and 17 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Sarah: 12 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Food was delicious, however additional uncrumbed items on the menu would make the most of the fresh South Australian produce. Perfect service and location made for an enjoyable birthday and farewell celebration. Looking forward to my next visit!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

13 people agree and 14 disagree.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

Bec: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

I dined here with my boyfriend for a late lunch on a Sunday. We arrived 5 minutes before the kitchen was closing but they were more than happy to still serve us the full menu. I have an intolerance to gluten and they went out of their way to make sure that none of the ingredients used contained gluten. The meal was great, we shared a seafood platter, the snapper and grilled king prawn skewers. It was such a lovely dining experience, very quiet and the views are great. Definitely a good place to dine for a seafood meal.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
14.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5

Nurse: 6 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

After phoning to book I was told that the only tables left were outside. No problems, until we arrived to find that most tables outside are facing the setting sun. This was unfortunate for what was a lovely setting. The service was pleasant and timely. Our Sammys platter was able to be changed and have some S&P squid. The giant prawns were fairly tasteless the novelty was their size. The octopus on the skewer was tough and chewy.Would have liked some pickled fish / octopus. That is where the complaints stop. The oysters a good size and tasty, the battered and grilled fish nice and the skewered grilled prawns nice. Good chips and fresh salad. Would I go back for the food... probably check out other places as always looking for the ultimate platter. Suggest you go when the sun has set and that is when I would go back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
14
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 4

lizamori: 8 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Food was delicious however waited over two hours for our meal and the restaurant was half empty. The waiter could not explain the menu, the service was absolutely terrible, they just took our money (literally) at the end and didnt even apologise for the wait on our food, ask how our food was or say thank you.....ruined a very occasion which is disappointing.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
13
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3

Drenched: 7 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Will not be back! ever! We visited from interstate and heard sammys was great. Were seated and had to step over an umbrella stand to be seated. Our first drinks arrived in a good timely manner when the waitress went to serve my son his drink she did not see the umbrella stand and fell awkwardly hitting her head on a steel beam divider between to glass panels & landed on the ground all twisted & up went the drink. Our first instincts was to help the poor girl up and make sure she was ok, she was in a bit of shock and hurt. Another waitress took her out back, we told the waitresses she had come down very badly and my be hurt and to check and keep an eye on her. My son ended up wearing a full glass of beer over his head & down his shirt he was drenched, I copped the tail end of it and was partially wet. We used our serviettes to mop our selves up. One waitress came to see if we were ok & we told her to go check on the girl. We were not offered clean serviettes & we had to ask for another drink to replace to spilled one on us. Our dinner arrived and was good however went to pay we were charged full price even for the beer that was spilt on us, I said we should be somehow compensated as we sat wet to eat our meal and did not even get offed a bottle of wine or desert complements for the mishap. I asked if he was the Maitdre which he said he was, I asked him that in his position why did he not assist us to check on our care as customers, he denied he did not know what I was talking about, I said I had seen him go to the the waitress as if he was consoling her, he denied he did not go to her. Long story he only gave me $21 off the bill 3 beers. Never again!! I will now send a email addressing this incident to the manager who clearly has the wrong staff as front of house whom has no customer service skills what so ever!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
13
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Redchilli: 10 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Sammy's has good views however, we were seated upstairs in what appeared to be an overflow / unused function room area. This could be why the service was a bit lacking. We weren't offered water until we asked for it well into the meal and it took a while for the drinks to arrive. However, the staff were really friendly. No problems with the kitchen as the food came out in a timely manner. The food was generally good - the only real complaint was that the amount of olive oil and dukkah that came with the bread was small compared to the amount of bread! The scallops were also on the small side. Can highly recommend the snapper - it was a decent serve and it was perfectly cooked.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

foodlover77: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Service very average, had to ask for salt & pepper, get up & order own drinks from bar (waitress no where to be seen) then wait another 1/2 hour for the drink before asking for it again.Scolops mushy, tasted like they'd been frozen too long. Whiting very average, served almost cold, over priced for what it was. What happened to Sammy's? Use to be our fav seaford restaurant. Won't be going back. Told door guy as we were paying that service was average upstairs. He replied with 'thank-you' (??)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1

Paul: 11 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

I thought it was Glorified Fish and Chips. Very over priced for what you get. A great location nethertheless.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

16 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1

peter: 12 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Party of three dined there 7 November 07, 2 guests from interstate wanted to try King George Whiting, we all ordered same, ordered fried, the fish was extremely dry, and came with soggy chips and small bowl of salad, a la counter meal, at $33 / serve was expensive, waitress relayed drinks order to another person, first drinks took 15 minutes to arrive, restaurant was very busy and staff was scarce. would have liked to have had oysters, but at $29 a dozen for natural, was out of the question (they were $16 at the Oyster Bar, a few doors down, on being wednesday, they are always $10!) Won't be going back!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

25 people agree and 7 disagree.

 
11
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 3

Hungry27: 9 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

What happened to Sammy's? This was definitely the best seafood place in Adelaide a few years ago, but sometimes things change when new owners move in. The food is still good, and the location makes it. DON'T sit upstairs, you'll be forgotten. Outside on a warm night is perfect and can be well worth the effort.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
11
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

Dwayne: 11 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Had window views with chairs stacked in front of the windows so hence no views. Cutlery was dirty The window blinds were down and stained from food The main came out quite quickly once the entree had been completed The chilli prawns had not chilli flavour and were drowned in tomato paste The staff were friendly and nice The staff did seem as though they were relatively new to the restaurant

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
9.5
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 1.5

Pisces: 9 years ago – Link & Share

Not friendly, male reception staff member couldn't speak English. Female who took over was rude. Waited 2 long for entree. Floor leading to toilets was greasy and slippery - OH&S hazard! Same male reception staff member at end of evening - didn't say "good night" or "thank you" or "best wishes for the festive season" - rude, rude, rude! Never going there again!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
9.5
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 3

Mr B.: 8 years, 12 months ago – Link & Share

We arrived for a 12.30pm for a Lunch (mid December) for 11 people. We were seated upstairs in an overflow area. Waiting staff were good, however we didn't receive entre's until 1.45pm and didn't get our main courses until 3.40pm which when they arrived were barely warm and generally un-appertising. This was a real dissapointment given have eaten there previously and it was OK. Based on this most recent experiance avoid it during the busy times as obviously the kitchen can't handle the volume.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
9
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1

janet: 12 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

table of six, monday 5 nov. expensive and very average seafood, good crowd but stressed out waiting staff.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

19 people agree and 10 disagree.

 
9
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 2

Anonymous: 10 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Been to this place four times & sadly my dining experience got worse every time. The only thing this place has going for it is the lovely views when sitting outside. Apart from that....over priced, very dirty looking upstairs in the corner area and service in general was very average. Certainly wont be giving them another chance.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
9
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 1.5

Lone Diner: 9 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

A'las I have again been disappointed by this establishment. The service was ordinary and staff a little distant, perhaps as it was Adelaide Cup Day, the kingfish & mussel dish had so much potential but the mussels were killed by an overly salty brew which also effected the taste of the asian greens that accompanied the meal. As a penultimate comment the wine prices are shall we say over the top but not as outrageious as some at the Marina. Last time around the Fettachine Marinara was ordinary. As a final comment I doubt I will return for a third try which is a shame as the location and view is 1st Class as long as your seating let's you enjoy the view .

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
9
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 3

food lover: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Food was really good. Restaurant very noisy. Staff were very friendly, however we never got offered dessert. We had finished our meal before the couple next to us, who got offered dessert straight away. We were forgotton, even though there was only a few tables of people left. Staff were more concerned about setting up new tables than serving us.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
8.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 1

LeighC: 6 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Sammys have you changed hands? Took a beloved family member there for her 80th and had the worst food! My husband picked out a dish that claimed to be incredibly aromatic (so much so that our lovely server actually mentioned it again to him as he ordered to make sure he was aware) but when it arrived it was nothing more then fish in (what tasted like) store bought minestrone soup. I ordered a fettucine marinara and what was placed in front of me was what seemed to be a whole packet of fettucine. Looking in amongst the pasta I found 7 rubbery strips of squid, two incredibly dry prawn ends and 1 piece of fish roughly 2cm squared. As I was hungry I choked these down before eating a small amount of the over proportioned pasta to fill my stomach. Since we paid roughly $40 for each meal I found this to overall be a disgrace and disrespectful. Sammy's owners, do you really think that because you have such a premier spot in Glenelg that you can justly charge such exorbitant prices for such swill??? I sincerely hope that you end up reading this, I normally wouldn't bother writing a review, (in fact I only signed up to this website to write this one) but I felt that the greater Adelaide public needs to know to stay away from you. Seriously Adelaide, take your business elsewhere, these cheap dirty thieves do not deserve your money!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
8
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Cris: 12 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Have dined here quite a few times over the years.(on invitation not by choice) Location is lovely, service very average, menu is very limited, basically over rated & over priced !

Do you Agree or Disagree?

16 people agree and 13 disagree.

 
7.925
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 2.975
  • Service: 1.475
  • Value: 1.975

Rob: 9 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Have been going to our favourite restaurant Sammy's for a few years, but unfortunately it has gone downhill in the last year and this weekend was the last time. Waiter asked us literally to point out the wine on the menu after saying we wanted a particular bottle 4 times. Then oysters came out natural on the platter after clearly ordering them as Kilpatrick. When the hot platter came out, cooked seafood was cold, chips stale and fresh prawns were white, dry and clearly old. I have had better fish out of the freezer at home!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
7.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 1.5

foodlover77: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

forgot to add my score to the review..

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
7
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 1

IanK: 7 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

great service & thats it ! over priced & very poor quality we paid $150 for a seafood plater that had about $40 of seafood on it. the BBQ prawns were raw & the octopus was so overcooked it was inedible. desert menu is very basic & again very overpriced.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
6
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1

Jye: 10 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Another glenelg seafood restaurant that is a let down. The food is second rate and overpriced. The flavour is bland and when i went there on a saturday night it was empty. I wouldn't go back even if i had a free voucher

Do you Agree or Disagree?

6 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
5.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

C2011: 7 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Went for dinner with family, I arrived a little late due to trying to find a park on Colley Tce and once I was seated with the rest of my family I had a menu shoved into my hands and asked what did I want to eat & drink by the waitress. Sorry but I need a least 5-10 mins to look at the menu to decide what to eat. Asked 2 more times what did I want to eat and just decided on the salmon to be able to finally greet my family and have the waitress leave me alone. Meal was ok, very average but overpriced. Will not return, the only thing going for this place is the views. Pushy wait staff, overpriced average food, not worth it. Prefer fish & chips from Jetty Road and the Broadway, much better quality.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
5
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Adamski: 11 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

The food, service and ambience of the place was probably the worst we've experienced in Adelaide and we've tried many restaurants. I couldn't recommend it in any way.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

10 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
5
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

a_ndy: 10 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Manager should be fired or demoted for the surly way in which we were treated. Expensive it may be, but that does not warrant the stuck up attitude and total disregard for the patrons we witnessed on our visit. Great location and the floor staff seemed friendly enough, shame their manager didn't share the same approach. If it's insincerity you are looking for, then Sammy's is the place to go. Personally I found the overall attitude to be out of step with current service standards and expectations. The duty manager we had the misfortune of dealing with needs to re-evaluate his career as he is not suited to the industry.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Terry007: 7 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Having been fortunate enough to dine at some of the finest venues around the world, I took the advise of a TV advert and went to 'Sammy's at the Marina'. Anyone who enjoys fine dining should avoid this cramped and expensive cafe. Both the wine and food are extremely overpriced. As part of my meal I ordered the Morton Bay bug entree. When served I began a search for the meat in amongst the shells. Unfortunately I failed to find any. I spoke to the waitress who stated that she would inform the chef. Nothing further heard about the lack of @22 worth of bug meat. When paying the bill I was asked if all was OK, after reiterating my complaint the waitress arrived at the counter to inform that the man behind the counter did not understand nor speak English....? The waitress explained that as there was a lack of meat in the bug tails I was given extra (empty) bug shells to compensate......? During the ensuing conversation I was prompted by the non-english speaking man to pay the bill. This was done by raising the hand held card reader. The first thing I read on the machine was 'Enter Tip.....' Yeah right! My 'Tip" is for those who like value for money....go somewhere else.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
 

Add a review for Sammys on the Marina

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience