Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

2.4
km

Sato

131 Melbourne Street, North Adelaide

Telephone 08 8267 3381

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Asian & Japanese.

Average of 10 reviews

  • 4.2 / 5 Food
  • 3.9 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.9 / 5 Service
  • 3.4 / 5 Value
  • 15.4 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Reviews for Sato

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

magachef: 8 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

For mum's birthday...we ate here. My first impression is that it looked a like a Japanese street corner restaurant. Nothing fancy which I liked. We were excited to eat Japanese for it's been so long, because my bro and I are tempura addicts and we need to satisfy this urge. It was satisfied indeed. Delicious from start to finish with the green tea ice cream...my favourite flavor.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Gian: 9 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I have dined at Sato several times, and each time it has been a warm and inviting experience. The decor and traditional-style seating was a fresh and exciting way of eating. Together with a number of friends, we ordered the banquet, and were not left disappointed. The appetizers included marinated mussels, broccoli in soy sauce, and marinated shredded tuna steak (some occasions the tune being replaced for diced beef steak). Following that, we supped on an entree of gyoza (steamed pork dumplings) and yakitori (marinated chicken skewers), both delightful and a treat for the palette. The main course followed, with such selections as the beef and chicken teriyaki, traditional sushi, kara-age (deep fried marinated chicken) and tempura vegetables, with sides of delicious miso soup and steamed rice. Our last course was the crowd pleasing green tea and vanilla-flavoured ice cream with traditional Japanese red bean paste. The perfect way to cleanse the palette after the first 4 course. The first time I dined at Sato, I was left speechless at the sheer quantity of food. Each course was better than the next. I left Sato feeling full and satisfied, and pleased with myself for introducing my friends to a new dining experience, and opening their minds to Japanese cuisine. The staff were amicable and helpful (on one occasion, even making special vegetarian sushi for us in lieu of raw fish) and dining there is always a pleasure. Highly recommended, one of the most underrated restaurants I have had the privilege of dining in. Dōmo arigatō!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Tanya: 12 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Loving the sukiyaki. They let you cook it on your table. It is loads of fun and good for a laugh or two. The sushi and gyoza are both excellent. Can be a little pricey, but well worth the money spent. Make sure to book ahead and ask to sit in the raised section of the restaurant.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

13 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

munchmunchmunch: 10 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Nice times as always

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5

cb74: 9 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Sato's a sweet little restaurant, I haven't been here in years but was delighted to find it's just the same! I found the menu a little hard to navigate, I'm not really sure why, but once I had I was very pleased with my choices. The sushi and sashimi were particularly good. The wine list was fairly average but totally serviceable and our waitress was particularly pleasant and efficient. The kitchen's "efficiency" was the only let-down; serving us extremely quickly, well some of us - half the table were finished their courses by the time the others got theirs... But that was the only quibble really. Recommended, as are bookings - Sato's a very small, and popular, place!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4

soothepanda: 9 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Very nice sushi - on a par with Hotaru on Gouger St but not quite as good as Wasai on Field St (off Gouger St).

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5

A.Rammen: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

This was a good experience with brilliant food and friendly service but my opinion was that the restaurant was a little small and cramped (a little awkward given the tables are placed so close together). However, this may appeal to others?

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 1.5

bob the builder: 7 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

the food was very good. I enjoyed the lowered tables

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
15
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

my friend the sandwich: 10 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Love the lowered tables where you can sit, shoes off, in the traditional style. Excellent sushi but you pay for it. Staff are kind to the non initiated.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

qwer: 7 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

it was terrible never again

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for Sato

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience