Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

11
km

Scenic Hotel

Old Norton Summit Road, Norton Summit

Telephone 08 8390 1705

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Modern Australian.

Average of 13 reviews

  • 3.6 / 5 Food
  • 3.8 / 5 Ambience
  • 2.8 / 5 Service
  • 3.2 / 5 Value
  • 13.4 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Scenic Hotel

17
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

Monte: 9 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

This is definitely one of the lovelier hotels in Adelaide. It has the look and feel of a cosy English country pub, so although we went on a mild spring evening, I could imagine myself eating lunch at the Scenic on a cold winterís day. The food is well above the usual pub fare standard and the service is efficient and friendly. Make sure you leave room for dessert.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Scenic Hotel

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

madbarman: 11 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Beautiful setting at Norton Summit overlooking Adelaide. Sit on balcony for the best views. Service is effeicent and friendly and food is excellent. Desserts are also good especially the slither or slice option for cakes (good if you are too full from the main!)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

Adelgirl_2007: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

In my opinion they have the best Cheesecake, I'm not a big eater but from this cake I really need two of the big pieces. The stuff is normally very friendly and helpful but sometimes the one or other of them seems to have a bad day and is a bit rude, slow or forget to bring the order, so I have to agree comments of other guest and gave only 4.5 for Service, sorry for that stuff members which are friendly, quick, helpful and have always a smile in the face..

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 10 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Well Ive been going to this pl;ace on and off during twenty years. My last visit was 5 months ago. Its got to be my favourite place to eat. I love the food, love the lo-cation, service is good. Menu is just divine. Cozy for the winter, great views in summer. I wish there were more places like this.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

Water Hero: 8 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

We enjoy eating breakfast at the Scenic due to its great menu and service. The no-pokies and homely atmosphere also helps

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

Rob F.: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Dined there recently on a busy Friday night and found the food to be up to its usual great standard. However the service was a little slow and we left without ordering coffee and dessert because they forgot to come back to our table with the dessert menu or to take our order.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
15
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Rands: 3 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Showing my age here but have been going to this pub on and off for over 40 years. Food quality has been consistently ok to good over the time, the atmosphere is generally terrific and the service has never been as bad as some of the poor folk above have reported. It really is arguably the most "scenic" hotel in Adelaide and surrounds with its excellent views and rustic location.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 5

pugglesrocks@msn.com: 9 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Had a lovely breakfast but seriously the waitress was in such a mood it kinda cut our stay short! Other than that we loved the food and views just think they need to rethink their staff.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
12.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 3

Gazza: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Waitress was abrupt, distant and tactless - a real Basil Fawlty experience!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
10.5
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 2

dymo: 8 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

A quaint pub situated on a nice vantage point on the Norton Summit Road. Unfortunately the picturesque location was not matched by the quality of the food. The dishes were reasonable but did not justify the prices we paid (entrees $15 mains $28). One could get more value in the city for what essentially is a pub meal. (Just the other day I was at the Dublin Hotel, Glenelg and the pepper steak dish there was ginormous for only $22) Entree salt pepper squid was tender but the ginger dipping sauce tasted like it was candied or made from ginger powder. The whiting service was generous but they appeared to have been frozen. The kangaroo was tender but the accompanying capsicum salsa and sweet potato mash was fairly unimaginative. The side serving of salad was under-dressed and not really that flavoursome. Dessert selection were standard fare and probably outsourced. We went mid-week and it was fairly quiet. It's hard to know how they would perform if really pushed. The service was adequate but seemed a little forced and detached. The open fires were cosy and gave a nice ambience but the place could do with a lick of paint.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
7.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1.5

Salc: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Went for Lunch, happy to turn up late for better service. Service was extremely slow although apologetic. Food was safe without being outstanding and expected better for the price. Venue tired but great potential. We were bemused by the argument between our waitress and the chef as they debated a request for a rare steak. We were assured of great service - having booked in advance - but everything seemed to take so very long. A simple drinks order took over half an hour to arrive and could have been compensated for by a few slices of bread and perhaps some dipping oil.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

mmmmmm: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

BAAAAAAD! On entry atmosphere was good,open fire appeared to be blowing wood smoke in to the bar,table for two for lunch no problem,two coffees ordered arrived about ten minutes later,good coffee, my wifes cup had coffee spilt down the side of the cup but the saucer was clean.Did notice not many people had meals, all appeared to be waiting.Decided to drink the coffee slowly, menu hard to handle and very limited, just sheets of paper on a board,finished the coffee, tried to attract the waitresses attention,looked around, the place needs refurbishment, filthy ceilings and walls,looked at the menu again for the umpteenth time....$32.50 for a lunchtime fish n' chips is an absolute disgrace,over twenty minutes now since we finished our coffee still waiting to place an order. Hang on a minute I'm the customer I've had enough lets go,approached the bar my eyes met the waitresses,she immediately said,"I will be around to take your order in a minute". Sorry we got to go says I. Paid our $7.50 for the coffees and headed for Maccas on Magill Road.Good food price and service here.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for Scenic Hotel

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience