Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

0.5
km

Star House

1/39 Gouger Street, Adelaide

Telephone 08 8221 6303

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Thai, Yum Cha, Chinese.

Average of 17 reviews

  • 3.5 / 5 Food
  • 3.5 / 5 Ambience
  • 2.9 / 5 Service
  • 3.2 / 5 Value
  • 13.1 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Reviews for Star House

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Caitlin: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I cannot recommend it highly enough. It's currently my favourite yum cha restaurant. The normal meals are also so flavoursome and good value. The staff are helpful, if not a little forgetful about drinks but the service is efficient.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Dusty_Cowgirl: 9 months, 3 weeks ago – Link & Share

Starhouse Chinese Restaurant is awesome! It\'s our favourite place to go to for YumCha... especially on weekends when they have the full trolley service. I love it so much, I dedicated a video to it... check it out here: https://youtu.be/xuN9ylbES14 (thanks to the team for mot minding me turning up with a camera and then also playing along with me, you\'re great!)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Stevo: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I have been recommended to Star House on numerous occasions and decided on Sunday afternoon I would give it a try. Upon arrival I found this restaurant to be very busy however there were plenty of staff on (20+) which meant there were no problems with service. The restaurant is very clean and the staff are well dressed in their Star House uniforms - the uniforms made it feel like your were dining at restaurant inside a 5 Star Hotel. The food at Star House is delicious. Being a Yum Cha restaurant we were able to try a range of dishes from Chinese vegetables to pork, chicken and seafood. For those of you who are unfamiliar with Yum Cha it is a great experience whereby you enjoy a large number of small dishes. Being busy there was plenty of food already prepared and being offered by the staff - this is great for people who like to see a dish before deciding if they would like to try it. Overall the experience was excellent and value for money was perfect. I will be returning again soon.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

foodcritic: 10 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

delicious yum cha experience

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Catski9: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

We eat yum cha very regularly here and have not once been disappointed! The food is so fresh and delicious! A little bit more than some other places, but worth it! Also we've had dinner here a few times and the food has been exceptional! The only reason I didn't give 5 for service is that they are sometimes really busy, but then again that's part and parcel of a good restaurant!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Matt: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I dine here at lunch usually once a week. The food really is delicious and at a reasonable price. The staff are always quick to take our order and I have never had a bad experience. I would suggest Star House to anyone, especially those who like tasty Chinese dishes!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Vegassss: 9 years ago – Link & Share

There pumpkin was amazing

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 5

David: 10 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

I visited Star House for a weekday lunch. I was lucky to go with a regular as I wouldn't have had any idea what to do without him. Each table has a single menu with minimal description & no pricing. I blindly piggy-backed on the order of the regular who ticked 5-6 boxes & handed the order sheet to a passing waitress. After a short wait the yum cha (or yim cha as their business card states not sure if this is how it's meant to be or just a typo) started to arrive one by one. The food was authentic with the highlight being the ribs in black bean. The sheer number of people at the restaurant just reinforces this. Following the last course we asked for the bill with no real idea of what to expect. In the end it was $60, so no qualms when it comes to value (but it was worrying not seeing any prices prior to this point). Will be back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
15
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

Foodies: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Best valued dim sum in town. Can't go wrong. Met by an very impolite and grumpy waitress that served us. Service can be slow on Saturdays for yum cha. Bookings essential.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 3.5

cb74: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Star House; good food, above-average decor for Gouger St, reasonable wine-list, particularly for a Chinese restaurant. ABOMINABLE service. It's a real shame about that. I've dined here on a number of occasions and all have dissapointed due to the really bad service; few if any drinks, tables uncleared for literally hours, no enquiries as to our tracking whatsoever. If someone could inform the waitstaff that the real money is made through drinks and, well, food, Star House would be a winner.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

jenny26: 5 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

bad food and bad customer service,never come back there again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
9
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 1.5

Food critic: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Recently Star House advertises on Chinese newspapers offering 20% discount for the whole bill for all dinners for all diners. We dined in one night and the wait staff did not offer 20% discount to us. We then questioned and their reply was that not every staff knows about the discount. They are taking chances to rid people off, especially those not checking bills properly and those unable to read chinese!!! shame on them. the food is average anyway!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
7.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 1.5

jenny26: 5 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

bad food and bad customer service,never come back there again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
7.425
  • Food: 2.975
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1.475
  • Value: 1.475

Jayds Fire: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

We visited Star House a month or two ago for lunch on a Saturday, having heard rave reviews. We arrived about 1 :30pm, were shown to our table in the middle of the restaurant, and were promptly forgotten. It took about 20 min for us to be offered asny food. We were offered food from one trolley, and it then took around another 10 min for another trolley with different food to find us. After that, again, we were forgotten - until the first trolley found us again. Thus we were quite disappointed with the selection. The food itself was surprisingly mediocre. The same could be found at any (cheaper) yum cha restaurant. In fact, it is quite likely one of the final prawn dishes we had was right at the end of its lifespan. The ambience was terrible, as was the service. Yum cha restaurants normally have quite a lively atmosphere but this one was loud, noisy, and the dirty fish tanks we sat next to were not pleasant to look at. We ordered drinks, one of which was incorrect when served. For a full restaurant, the staff were few and astonishingly inattentive. To top it off, when we went to pay our bill we waited approximately 10 min, standing in front of the cash register, for the waitress to finish her conversation with a fellow waiter. All in all, I strongly advise against going to this restaurant. If you do, prepare to be disappointed.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
7
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

May13: 10 years ago – Link & Share

I was very unhappy with my experience at Star House. They served our mains and then informed us that they had run out of rice. Waiting staff were unhelpful had no idea where our food was. I will not be returning to Star House.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

mary: 5 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

We ordered pepper beef rib and they brought out this really oily beef pot that looked roughly similar to the picture in menu and tasted awful. We ate it and they later on told us they gave us the wrong beef and gave us another pepper beef rib. We found out at billing time that they charged us 40 bucks for that disgusting pot of oily beef (which most takeaway charges 10). The waiting staff were rude and mostly a motley crew of uni students that stood around. Took them 30 minutes to give us our water. For 30 bucks a head, the food was disgusting. I later on felt sick 3am in the morning. This restaurant used to be really good. It has either changed hands or has a completely different team of staff. Either way, not going back there again

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for Star House

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience