Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

0.9
km

Sugar Cane Vietnamese Restaurant

408 King William Street, Adelaide

Telephone 08 8212 9638

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Asian & Vietnamese.

Average of 16 reviews

  • 4.3 / 5 Food
  • 4.3 / 5 Ambience
  • 4.4 / 5 Service
  • 4.2 / 5 Value
  • 17.2 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Sugar Cane Vietnamese Restaurant

18.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Will: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

The first thing that strikes you upon entering the restaurant is the outdoor deck. It is a shame that we dined in winter because I can only imagine how popular it will be when the weather gets nicer. The interior of the restaurant is nice aswell. I particularly like how the design team was able to create a casual yet elegant dining space. Furthermore I also like the tasteful Vietnamese decorations located throughout the restaurant. The food was rich in flavour and generous in size. We had some difficulty choosing what to order as there were so many tempting options to choose from. Having said that, this does give us incentive to return. I strongly recommend the deep fried baby barramundi. However, the best thing about the restaurant is the service. The staff were so friendly and helpful but best of all it is as if they had ESP, as they were always around when we required something. For example, just as our tea had run out, and someone from our dining group mentioned this to us, there was a staff member there offering to fill up the tea pot with more hot water. I can't wait to return.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Sugar Cane Vietnamese Restaurant

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

C2011: 7 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Had a fantastic dinner at the Sugar Cane last week. There were 7 of us and everyone was complimenting how delicious the meals were. I had the lemon chicken and it was cooked perfect, not oily or greasy at all. My partner had the sizzling mongolian beef, which he happily ate every piece. Large servings, fresh and very tasty. Staff were friendly and attentive. Will be back soon. Highly recommend this restaurant, great menu, great staff and great food.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

AussieJD: 9 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Simple. Quick. Great for take-away lunch

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Joker: 6 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Great food and friendly service. We intend to work our way through the menu each time we get to Adelaide

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

srikaya: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Good food, great atmosphere, a tad pricey but worth it. Highly recommended and will be back again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

cb74: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

I agree with others that the decor of Sugar Cane is impressive and immediately gets things off to a good start. There's the nice outdoor deck if the weather;s good and inside there's either a cafe-style space or a very nicely decorated proper restaurant area. The service is great, quick and attentive, and the menu a good representation of typical vietnamese dishes. We picked a really nice salad dish and a thai-style duck curry. Both were great. Sugar Cane also has an extensive, and delicious, selection of rice hot-pot dishes (rather "stone bowl" here), my absolute favourite vietnamese meal. Prices are a little higher than some, but seem justified, and there's a good range of imported beers - just right for this food! Highly recommended and I'll definitely be back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Ontheroad: 7 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

We are regulars here - either eating in or taking away once a month. Food is always delish. Last Friday night it was takeaway salt and pepper squid, sugar cane prawn rice vermicelli and the Mongolian beef. Was ready in no time and tasted fantastic!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

ranjes: 7 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I visit this place at least once a month! The food may not be authentic but it taste great and the food is always fresh! The service is good, the staff are always friendly and you are never waiting long for your food!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

SA.: 9 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

I came here as part of a large function a few months ago & thus we were served a banquet. The food was delicious & the service friendly.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

DebbieSteph: 9 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Great decor except the waiter had really bad BO which wafted around everytime he walked past. But the food was great. We had the beef pho (big serving!) and vegetarian fried rice.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Redchilli: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Love the atmosphere - it's kind of like this little oasis in the middle of the city. From the moment we walked in the door the staff could not do enough for us. Had a hard time picking from the menu but ended up settling on roll your own cold rolls and papaya salad for entrees - both were delicious. The whole fish is a must - it was cooked perfectly and the staff boned it at the table which made eating it a lot easier. The rice hot pot is another must try - we were all fighting for the crunchy bits at the bottom.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

foodie123: 9 years ago – Link & Share

If you're after an Authentic Vietnamese meal, perhaps try somewhere different. While there are some Vietnamese dishes (cold rolls, pork balls, sugar cane prawn, hot pots), the menu lends itself more to a Chinese restaurant (with Thai and Japanese influences in some dishes too). Having said that, the place was lovely, the food was good (we had steamed barramundi with ginger and shallots, and a sizzling chicken dish) and the staff provided us with good service. I would recommend it to those after a choice of Asian cuisine rather than just Vietnamese food.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
16
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5

A.Rammen: 8 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

The most striking feature of this restaurant (judging by the other reviews as well) is the ambience. It surely is a beautifully presented restaurant with a stunning outdoor area that will be ideal in summer. The staff are friendly and very polite. The food is good; but that's it - just good. There is nothing wrong with it but it does not have the "wow factor" that a lot of other (and less expensive) restaurants have.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

Lawrie: 8 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Excellent service by friendly staff who knew how and when to communicate. The Plum Duck was "to die for". Every dish was tasty.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15.425
  • Food: 2.975
  • Ambience: 3.975
  • Service: 3.975
  • Value: 4.5

Lili: 7 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Wonton soup taste good but have a hair in it. We ordered cold roles which are no flavour because they are stuffed with too much vermicelli noudle, a little piece of ice-berge lectuse and a little portion of meat. It's very disappointing meal. Main courses, t-duck is very nice but the meat a bit tough, sizzerling creamy chicken...the sauce is taste good but no capsicum as mentioned in the menu. the meal is bed on a lot of white onion and red onion, a couple pieces of mushroom. Fish fillet stir fired with ginger and shallot, not much shallot good for people who prefer soft plain flavour. Steamed rice is quite hard and dry, and not very warm. The portion of each meal is quite generous. The service is alright, very friendly and reasonable. Most of waiting staff obviously doen't have professional train. Decoration an atmosphear is pretty fullon. We got table that half of table facing glass storage cabinet. Is not nice offer for advance booking. Absolutely not recommend to family special night out, with friends and don't think too much is ok. We are not sure that we will go back again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
14
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3

sarah: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Food was quite nice, in particular the pork balls, which you wrapped up into rolls yourself. However, i found the portion sizes a little too small considering the price, especially the quail, which was far from generous.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
 

Add a review for Sugar Cane Vietnamese Restaurant

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience