Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

0.5
km

T Chow

68 Moonta Street, Adelaide

Telephone 08 8410 1413

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Asian & Chinese.

Average of 16 reviews

  • 4.2 / 5 Food
  • 3 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.7 / 5 Service
  • 4.2 / 5 Value
  • 15.1 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for T Chow

19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

jayd: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

fantastic! have been going here for 10+ years. while the serving size has decreased, the quality has remained very high. absolutely delicious meals including the t-chow chicken, scallops with ginger and shallots, mince pork and green beans, the BEST satay chicken skewers (such a nice crispy egg batter on the outside), yummy chicken sweet corn soup, and the fried icecream is fantastic - the only place that seems to understand the ice-cream to batter ratio... yummy. service is very friendly and helpful. a nice roomy restaurant, family friendly and very cheap for what you get. oh and never had to wait more than 15 minutes for the dishes to arrive!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for T Chow

 
 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Kiki: 9 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

T Chow is awesome, never had a bad meal here. just divine.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

aw8: 8 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Food was great (try the 'yam ball pudding' and the salt and pepper soft shell crab), decor was fine (didn't seem dated at all), service was prompt. A good place to eat- would go back again when in the area.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

miss scarlet: 11 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

About one week before Chinese New Year (CNY), a group of us decided to do "Chinese New Year Dinner". Most would know that it's close to impossible to get a table in any Chinese restaurant on CNY. Let alone a table for 12. T-Chow managed to accommodate our needs, albeit outside. On the day itself, the restaurant was a full house, yet they didn’t falter in the delivery of our meals (which was a $35 banquet aka Ang Mo/Guai Lo/White Man Menu). Our satisfaction came from both the bill that arrived at under $480 for 12 people (including corkage for more than a dozen bottle of wine (corkage was $3 per head) and tips) and excellent service from the staff members. A week ago, I came back to T-Chow with friends from interstate and regional SA. To be honest, I wasn’t expecting much, since it was a last minute decision and we didn’t book. Once again, I was blown away with their service and honesty. The waiter was very sincere in his opinion (he informed us that the steamed coral trout was over priced at $60/fish) and the suggested dishes were fabulous! We had “broad bean with mince pork”, “steamed coral trout with ginger shallots and light soy sauce” “T-Chow duck” (very tender and juicy), “Chinese Broccoli with oyster sauce” and a bean curd dish. All food tasted beautifully balanced, as Chinese meal should be… Ying and Yang. Once you get over the décor, T-Chow is a good place to eat and is very reliable. Honourable mention- when eating at T-Chow, drink the Ti Kuan Yin tea. It’s better than your typical Chinese tea.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

13 people agree and 13 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Asher: 11 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

After living in Adelaide for 24 years I went to T-Chow for the first time last month (very ashamed to admit it took me so long to go!). Once you get over the look of the place the food just blows your mind. Obviously a lot more traditional than typical suburban Chinese restaurant we tried many new dishes and wow. Quality was great, food incredibly tasty and great service. You go T-Chow.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

15 people agree and 6 disagree.

 
17.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

cb74: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

T-Chow; looks terrible, tastes divine. Some of the best, most authentic chinese dishes on Gouger (which says something) at fabulous prices. Some of the stand-out dishes I've had here are the Taro Duck, the cabbage rolls, the green beans and the oyster omlette. The drinks list is good too and if you have to bring along your favourite pinot for the duck, corkage is excellent. While the service is fair to middling - who cares with food like this! Very highly recommended.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Will: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Sure, the decor is a little dated, however that should not put you off this great restaurant, because I don't know about you, but for me the food is the most important aspect of a restaurant, and it is in that regard that this restaurant shines. The food was superb. Having eaten at most places along Gouger Street I can safely say that very few places come close in regard to flavour, value and authenticity. Another good thing is the service. The waiting staff are friendly and helpful but what I found most impressive was the speed at which the food was delivered. Even though we visited during a busy lunch period, we didn't have to wait more than 10 minutes for the food to come out. I look forward to my next visit.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 5

hendrix: 10 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Dont expect the best service. Dont expect the best ambience. But go expecting some of the best Asian food in SA. I had the Taro Duck with a bottle of Jim Barry shiraz and it was one of the most memorable lunches I have had in recent times.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

6 people agree and 7 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 5

Barry: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

The reviews here have hit T Chow on the head. A large, dated looking restaurant that feels more like a food court with average (at best) service. But the huge menu of awesome traditional Asian food more than makes up for it. If you haven't been, you're missing out.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
15
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 4.5

brendonpm22: 8 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

The $30 banquet is always great, I have been to T-Chow two times and am yet to have a bad experience, the chicken dish in the banquet is amazing, the duck is the best I have ever tasted and the prawns are good, the vegetable dish could use some more flavour, overall 4 out of 5. I would recommend to my friends

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Redchilli: 10 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Great Chinese food - can recommend the cabbage rolls, duck and whole fish. Service was good even though it was a busy night and we weren't waiting long for food. Good wine list but minimal corkage for BYO.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
14
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

Megalomaniac: 9 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Perhaps Adelaide's most popular Chinese restaurant, T-Chow specialises particularly in Chuichow cuisine. Their menu is extensive and has three banquet dinners that one can choose from, each consisting several courses. Specials are sprawled over colourful posters on the walls in a combination of English and Chinese characters. Where value for money is concerned this place offers sizable portions, fuss free food and you are sure to leave sated with a full belly as well as satisfied with the bill. On the whole, after a year in Adelaide, having eaten at Ding How, Mongkok (both located on Gouger Street) and T-Chow on repeat visits I have to draw a comparison of the general grade of Chinese food served up at these Chinese institutes to the popular fusion creation of Indian-Chinese cuisine. Three characteristics of Aussie-Chinese and Indian-Chinese are commonalities - heavy use of deep-frying, an affinity for thick sauces coating meat dishes and menu card featuring a regimental two to three sweet and sour dishes as well as lemon chicken. Of all the Chinese restaurants in Adelaide, Ying Chow (also located on Gouger Street) offers Chinese food that tastes most 'authentic' to me. Having yet to visit China (this is one culinary destination I can't wait to pack me bags for), my perception of authenticity is based on interpretations of Chinese food served in restaurants in Singapore since the Chinese influence has a strong tie historically, translating into culinary heritage. This is further compounded by the calibre of restaurant authenticity in the city of the Merlion considered both on a personal scale as well as critically acclaimed as 'reliable' authentic. Rest of review and pics: http://meagan-megalomaniac.blogspot.com/2009/05/t-chow.html

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

Anni: 9 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

We have eaten at many of the Gouger st chinese outlets but never at the Tchow, having heard so much about it we thought we would give it a try. Immediatley it was obvious that there were far fewer asian people eating there than at the other places, and that felt ominous. The menu seemed to have fewer authentic options and when I chose something "authentic" the waiter mocked me saying that there would be no refund, if I didn't like it. we also found the food not quite as well prepared I think we will return to the other places where we have enjoyed well cooked and fresh authentic chinese food at cheaper prices.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
9.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 2.5

janes: 8 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Visited TChow last night for the first time. We called and made a reservation for 10 people 2 weeks ago. When we arrived they had no details of the booking, so they put together a table for the ten of us which was way to small. We found the food to be ordinary. Five of the plates had large chips and cracks in them, and there was food stuck hard on the bottom of nearly all the plates from previous dinners. The toilets were very dirty and the restaurant linen was stacked on open shelves right outside the toilets. After dinner we asked for the bill so we could work out how much we all needed to pay. Unfortunately it came written in chinese, which no one could read. None of our party would ever eat there again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
9
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 2

Anonymous: 10 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

I dont think this place is that great value for money, we paid more here than we have at other chinese places nearby. There are other reasonably priced chinese restaurants in the vicinity which have alot nicer decor and food. The decor here was pretty horrible. The staff were very friendly and service was good but i think we are more used to "westernised asian" food, there were things like intestines on the menu so it is more authentic but we wont be going back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 12 disagree.

 
6.5
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 1

Mediumrare: 6 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

What has happened ? From one of Adelaide's best kept secrets for quality food, value and respect to patrons the current owners have succeeded in turning this into a rip off joint. Move on. There are many other quality Chinese restaurants where you will be happy . . . and pack the same credit card debit voucher amount in to your wallet as you leave for the night.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for T Chow

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience