Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

3.5
km

Tandoori Oven Restaurant (Closed)

292 Unley Road, Hyde Park

Telephone 08 8373 4404

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Indian.

Average of 30 reviews

  • 4.6 / 5 Food
  • 4.5 / 5 Ambience
  • 4.6 / 5 Service
  • 4 / 5 Value
  • 17.7 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Tandoori Oven Restaurant (Closed)

19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Dale: 11 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Everything about this restaurant was great. The food was fantastic and I would recommend it to anyone.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

11 people agree and 7 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Tandoori Oven Restaurant (Closed)

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Ash: 11 years ago – Link & Share

Undoubtedly the best Indian restaurant in Adelaide. The 'ckicken tikka' is like having it in the best Indian restaurant in India.. This place is very close to Authentic Indian food. (not at all oily, just the right amount of spices & cooked to perfection) The butter chicken & especially the dhal are outstanding... their deserts are great - try the gulab jamun... yummmm... I come to eat here at least twice a month..... If your looking to have Indian food - this is THE place..

Do you Agree or Disagree?

8 people agree and 7 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

batgirl: 10 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

The best Indian restaurant I have ever been to! It is my favourite restaurant in Adelaide and has one Best Indian Restaurant in Australia for many years. They have the best butter chicken ever!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

MasterCritiq: 11 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

putting the oo!!! back into tandoori & indian cousine this has to be one of adelaide's classiest restaurants !!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

13 people agree and 6 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 12 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Absolutely amazing. The food is delicious!!!! Especially the butter chicken! I've been to this restaurant a million times, and the food has never failed to satisfy

Do you Agree or Disagree?

26 people agree and 16 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Sundara: 12 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

i really enjoyed the atmosphere there, my family also enjoy the friendlness of the waiters. The customer service at this resaurant is very inviting to us.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

21 people agree and 17 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Barry: 10 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Like most people, I have my local Indian place. It's good, but it's more so just a case of convenience. After seeing Tandoori Oven on this website I decided it was time for a change & gave it a shot... and wow, I'm glad I did. It's a touch more expensive than my local, but so worth it. It's great, great food & the extra few bucks is worth every cent. I think I've found my new local - it's just a pity it's 15 minutes away!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 11 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

I love going to this restaurant all the time.The food is great and the service is impeccable, warm and it feels like you havent left home. I feel it is a bit high on the price range but it is modern fine dining and in summation it is good value for money. When we entered the restaurant on a very busy friday night they were glad to see me, a smile on their face to welcome us and even though our table wasnt ready the manager walked us to a table at the bar and in the next 10 second we were holding a drink in our hands. Thats excellent service, that introduction completely overwhelmed us and we looked forward to the rest of the night. We are coming back again

Do you Agree or Disagree?

9 people agree and 6 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Peter: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Love love love this restaurant. Beautiful place, beautiful food, beautiful staff...but where did Sam and Mel go??? I haven't been for a number of months and it seems like they have left. Anyway, still a fantastic place to have the most elegant Indian food.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Anon: 8 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Amazing food, so sorry it had to close. Fans should check out Jasmin in the city (hindmarsh sq)!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

ts3333: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I'm just so devastated this restaurant has closed, it was my favourite

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 11 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

You haven't tried Indian butter chicken till you've tried it at the Tandoori Oven. The only thing better than this is the food served in Indian itself

Do you Agree or Disagree?

20 people agree and 10 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 12 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

My absolute favourite restaurant!!! You must get the butter chicken!! I always go with my family and we get a main meal each and all share. These mains always include butter chicken and chicken tikka. Then we get a slice of plain naan each and a serve of rice each. Each table also gets(for free) some papadums and dip - very very yum! The food is delicious!! And the best way to eat it is to get a bit of naan, pile on some rice, pour on some butter chicken sauce and the green mint chutney sauce you get on your table or with the chicken tikka, then add lots of bits of all the different meats you have, add more rice and sauce - and eat!! May result in a bit of mess but delicious!!! The restaurant is a bit on the expensive side but it's quiet, classy, friendly waiters etc. and the food (as i've already said) is the best ive ever had. it's also great to get (if you're buy yourself or with a few people) this meal that includes about 4 different mains, naan bread and rice. it ends up working out the same as you would normally pay for one main and accompaniments. i think this curry mix includes butter chicken, chicken tikka, beef and prawns. i dont like beef so i just swap the beef for more chicken.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

21 people agree and 17 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 12 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Though on the more expensive side for Indian restaurants in Adelaide, you get what you pay for. The curry plate is really good value and has a selection of the top curries on offer: butter chicken and the prawn & basil curry. I always substitute the third curry which is a beef korma for the bug tail curry - they are always more than happy to do so ($2 extra charge is nothing given that you're substituting with bug tails!). And if you're a mango lassi fan - then you must order one here!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

36 people agree and 21 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 12 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Highly recommended. The #1 Indian restaurant on Unley Road (and according to awards it's won... in Australia).

Do you Agree or Disagree?

42 people agree and 29 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Vivek: 12 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Would highly recommend this restaurant for romantic dinners or family get together....The service is excellent.. Although the food is a little over-priced but atleast as compared to Maya and many other Indian restaurants they do not serve crap. The food out there is much more authentic and very close to real Indian food.....For the vegetarians, eggplant masala is awesome especially when asked to be served hot and spicy....

Do you Agree or Disagree?

24 people agree and 19 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

rest_reviewer: 10 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

First went there because a friend worked there & I've still been back after he's left. Great food, little expensive but warranted.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 12 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

It's a wonderful place to eat. I can't quite justify the ambience and service for the price though. What I ate was interesting, and took usual Indian fare to the next level but I'm not intregued enough to go back and try the rest of the menu, so I'd say that is an indication that it wasn't that spectacular when weighed up with the cost.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

14 people agree and 23 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

cb74: 10 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Now _this_ is a restaurant! Ok, so the prices tend to put it out of my everyday dining list, but when it's an occasion, the Oven is just the bee's knees. Beautiful decor and good wine list, sure, but it's the almost-psychic service (once we swore they'd bugged our table they were so spot-on) that really makes it a winner. The food is damn good too, particularly if you go all-out and get the banquet. The separate bar area is also a very good point of sophistication other Adelaide restaurants would be well advised to take up. I've never been disappointed with the Oven!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Pete: 11 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Fantastic food and service. Environment worth the little extra in prices. Possibly the best Indian Restaurant food I have ever tasted and I have tasted lots. This is a total experience in excellence

Do you Agree or Disagree?

12 people agree and 7 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Di: 12 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

A really classy restaurant. The service was fast and friendly, and you don't even have to ask for water as they bring it on arrival. The food was tasty, especially the butter chicken. The atmosphere was quiet and it was perfect for a romantic dinner with your loved one.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

28 people agree and 21 disagree.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 3.5

amandac: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Simply Adelaide's best Indian!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 3

Craig: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Amoungst the best indian food i've ever eaten.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 3

Anonymous: 11 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

I think this is one of the best Indian restaurants in Adelaide. I have been going to this restaurant for years and I have never had a bad meal. The ambience and service is excellent, but it is quite expensive though.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

18 people agree and 11 disagree.

 
17
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

muddacha: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Fantastic almost military precision service. The food was great, and considering just how full they were the meal was brought out quickly and correctly. Will certainly be back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

Alycia: 10 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

I accidentally placed a takeaway order with Tandoori Oven and was more than plesantly surprised! The restaurant was so classy and elegant. It looked beautiful, I will definitely be going back for a restaurant meal. The matri'de was very polite and professional. The takeaway servings were huge and very tasty. The food was still hot when I got it home, but not as spicy as I prefer.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
11
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 2

Janine: 11 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Food was of a good standard but poor value for money. Waiting staff were not particularly helpful or friendly. Unfortunately was quite disappointed considering all the great reviews this restaurant had received.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

8 people agree and 10 disagree.

 
11
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1

Martin: 10 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

This was the first Indian we have had since leaving London 4 years ago so we went for this restaurant due to it's reputation. At best it was OK. Certainly over priced. It was tasty and indelicate but that's a given for most Indian food. We ordered rice which, when it arrived was only barley warm and when it was returned to us was only slightly warmer. The service was OK and the atmosphere was good, ie busy but not crowded. Way, way too expensive for the food standard. Will not be going back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
9
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 3

eric: 12 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I had read that this restaurant made some great indian so I decided to give my regular indian restaurant a miss this week (located in hindmarsh square) and give it a try. I phoned in an order for $70 of take away for a hungry family at home and set off to pick it up. Getting caught in traffic after work i was 10 minutes late, but instead of keeping the take away bag warm in the kitchen (like my regular) they had it sitting on the counter and yes it had gone pretty cold by the time i got home. The samosas were very ordinary - like you would get from a supermarket and the lamb was fatty with little evidence it had been in the tandoor. Overall dissapointing - i guess if you are on a good thing you should stick with it.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

26 people agree and 30 disagree.

 
8
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Anonymous: 10 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

always found it expensive but good food is worth paying for.however at our last visit the food was still good but much smaller portions and the banquet no longer includes extra food if you wish and as the portions were so small we did not feel satisfied. very disappointed and the service was poor (always used to be good)i felt a very clear Snob factor from the maitre de

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for Tandoori Oven Restaurant (Closed)

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience