Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

0.6
km

The Village Indian Restaurant

125 Gouger Street, Adelaide

Telephone 08 8212 2536

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Indian.

Average of 16 reviews

  • 4.3 / 5 Food
  • 4.5 / 5 Ambience
  • 4.6 / 5 Service
  • 4.1 / 5 Value
  • 17.5 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for The Village Indian Restaurant

16
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

pot belly: 10 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Great service and fantastic food. Don't let it's position on Gouger St deter you from going! You haven't really tasted true Adelaide Indian until you've come here. The food is very rich and deep in spices and aroma. You can taste the care that the chef takes to cook his food. What makes this place special and a stand out compared to the other over rated Indian restaurants, is the fact that the waiters and the chef himself all take time out to come around and talk to the customers! They show respect and understand that the value of their business depends on customer satisfaction. I've never walked away from the Village dissatisfied with the food nor the service. It's a bonus that the food served is of great value. You will not find such good food for value in any restaurant on Gouger St! It constantly amazes me that I can almost always get a table when I come on a Friday night unannounced. This does not do the food nor the restaurant justice!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 0 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for The Village Indian Restaurant

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

madimoo108: 9 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

As soon as you walk in the door you can hear the nusic of India, you can smell the masala spices and see Indian oil paintings hung upon the wall. You'll be given the best service you'll ever come across in your life. When your authentic Indian food arrives (which is served very shortly after ordering), you will know that the chef learnt how to cook in India, bcause there really is nothing like it in Austalia. After eating a creamy butter chicken, mild or spicy lamb roganjosh or a thick-curry palak paneer, your tastebuds will be on a rollercoaster of flavour. Dessert can be hot or cold, choosing from the traditional Indian mango or pistachio kulfi (icecream), the sweet sensation Gulab Jamun (fried milk dumpling) or the Village Rasmalai which is also a dumpling in milky rosewater syrup- a definate must! Going to the Village Indian Restaurant will be the best desicion you'll ever make... always a satisfied customer :)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Grant: 9 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

The Village Indian Restaurant is fantastic. The food is exceptional as is the service. I visit at least weekly and can thoroughly recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves Indian food.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Jacqui: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

We have been to The Village twice and the service and quality was brilliant both times. On our last visit the chef even came out to ask all of the patrons how their meals were. Fantastic vegetarian options!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Tahls: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Been there 3 times and definately my favourite Indian in Adelaide. Tikka Masala and Butter Chicken are winners. Waiters are very friendly and chef came out and gave my 3yr niece a chef hat. Can't wait to go again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

wyatt: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

This place is awesome!! Tikka Masala, lamb rogan josh and saag paneer are all favourites. Been there 3 times and the service has always been first rate. The staff are super friendly and the chef has always come out and asked how the meal was.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

smv: 10 years ago – Link & Share

I am a frequent visitor of this authentic classic indian restaurant in adelaide city. The chefs signature dishes whole tandoori barramundi, morton bay bug masala, 9 lentil dal and butter chicken were simply superb with rich flavour, finely balanced spices and flavour. Court yard where we sat was very cosy, the service was stunning. I would greatly recommend this indian restaurant t all my friends and who has n't tried here yet. We keep going back with our big office group, as upstairs including the balcony and party hall were great for big parties. Well done Village. Keep it up.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

ecb: 9 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I adore this restaurant, the food is consistently the best Indian food I have had anywhere in adelaide, and the service is amazing. I have been going here regularly for a few years and am never disappointed. The staff are so welcoming and friendly, and the food always arrives in a timely fashion and is always delicious!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Ash: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Great staff. Probably not the best Indian food but very very close.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

Pete: 10 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Outstanding food and service. Amazing breakfasts on the weekend that are truly delish! If you havent had Indian breakfast, dont miss this! Mains are always a treat and full flavored and rich, never skimping on quality or quantity. Great staff and gifted cook, the village has me coming back with my friends on a regular basis, great for business dinners or luncheons too. Excellent.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

Bakes1964: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

A great dining experience. Service was fantastic and the food was extremely tasty and well presented. We thought that Raj on Taj in Hyde Park was the best Indian in Adelaide but no more. We will be back very soon.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 3.5

coggla: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Pretty good rich and spicy curries - perhaps a little spice overkill on the goat vindaloo (not so much hot but too rich for goat). Excellent fish and lamb curries using good quality fresh fish and meat cuts. Lovely naan. Friendly and accommodating service.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

Wozonzon: 9 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Good food, nice ambience and attentive staff. The banquet is defintely value for money with a good selection of dishes. Definitely worth a visit.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
15
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5

Redchilli: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Very ethusiastic sevice - water was topped up, dishes cleared promptly, checks to see whether everything was ok. The manager was all over our order so he noticed if a dish was late in arriving and followed it up without us having to ask. The food, whilst very tasty, had temperature issues. Our entrees were cold as was one of our mains. Reasonable prices.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
14
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 2.5

Oscar Emma: 9 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

We had high expectations after two visits where we were served consistently good food. Went back today and were disappointed: Rice was cold, chicken stringy and chewy, my Palak Paneer was too salty whilst other dishes lacked seasoning.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
12
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 2

JW34: 8 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

I feel abit dissapointed after reading such good reports on here , the place and service was great but im sorry to say i was dissapointed with the food, OH had the seekh kebab (tasted great) bug masala (flavour good but did not get through to the bug meat)... I had the veggy tikka which were bland and served with a sauce that tasted like bottled bbq sauce, veggie biriani (spl?) could not finish because the only flavour i could taste was chilli powder, very dry...had a side order of chilli mushrooms which was mushrooms in sweet chilli sauce (thought i had booked into an indian not chinese)...after spending $110 on a meal that i could not finish im sorry to say i dont think i will be back...:0(

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for The Village Indian Restaurant

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience