Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

0.3
km

The Corner Bistrot

7 Leigh Street, Adelaide

Telephone 08 8212 9444

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving European & French.

Average of 29 reviews

  • 3.2 / 5 Food
  • 3.2 / 5 Ambience
  • 2.9 / 5 Service
  • 2.7 / 5 Value
  • 12 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for The Corner Bistrot

4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

jim: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Sat night 5/9/09 terrible experience, moody manager abused staff on the floor, plates cold food looked like a child had prepared it. We ate and left never to return..very expensive for the crap you get..Not the French way at all in this place..Never to return to this place it is a disgrace to the French and its food.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 1 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for The Corner Bistrot

 
 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Desperado: 10 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

I came here last Friday with my significant other. The food was superb. The vegetable crepes were divine, and my tarragon chicken was to die for. My other half had the shallot and red wine skirty steak which was beautifully cooked and tender, juicy and superb. Such an underrated little restaurant. Can't wait to venture back!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Jas: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

My wife and I went last night to celebrate her birthday, the experience was fantastic, the food is delicious, perfect portions and the service was excellent. We'll definitly be back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 11 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

This is one of the best restaurants in the city. Perfectly cooked food and something for everyone on the menu with great specials, service friendly and efficient. It is the only place we go where we always leave full and happy and contented. Every time.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

11 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Chouchou: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Such a fantastic little place. Has quickly become one of my favourite eating places. Never been let down on taste!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Y-T: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

What a delightful place to eat at for our anniversary. Quaint, slightly rustic, intimate and cosy. We were seated on the balcony over looking the restaurant, which made for a great atmosphere! For entree we ordered Escargot and Vol au vent Prawns and for Mains we had the Braised Lamb and Duck. The meals were sensational, the waiters were attentive, polite and friendly and they have French accents which ads to your experience! I almost didnt want to write a review so i could contribute to keeping one of Adelaide's best little secrets but it was such an enjoyable evening. What makes this place great is that it still feels 'homely' even though you're dining out and the fact that it isnt a typical mainstream restuarant. It's unique.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Loveponyyy: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

My family dined here recently and were thoroughly impressed. The escargot, pate and garlic prawns were brilliant entrees, which we savoured till the very last bite. We chose the porterhouse with blue cheese & peppercorn sauce, pork fillet and fish of the day (perch) dishes and found them to be delicious and perfect in portion size. While the accompanying vegetables and bread were perhaps a touch pricey, the service was professional, yet very friendly and we came away from the meal extremely satisfied.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

Aud3012: 9 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

I spent a 8 months travelling to Adelaide for work and stayed near the area. Over 4 months I ate at the Corner Bistrot 3 or 4 times. I kept going back because I liked the food so much. My favourite is the skirt steak which was always beautifully cooked and tender. I tried other dishes too and they never disappointed. Vic, the owner/chef, always came out to say hello and ask how the meal was. I love this restaurant and will look forward to going back when I'm next in Adelaide.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

annonym: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Revisiting France... great and honest food, friendly service and a cosy warm feel to this small 'bistrot'. Keep coming back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 10 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

An authentic french bistro that reminds us of the small bistros in rural France. Delicious, simple food and a romantic dining experience.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

9 people agree and 6 disagree.

 
17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

William: 7 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Lovely place, dined with family (3 children), service friendly, food wonderful. Prices quite reasonable.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 3

Anonymous: 12 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

The one and only time I dined at The Corner Bistrot was memorable. It was my birthday, we were dressed up, and the food and the service was incredible. A beautiful French waitress, simple yet perfect crepes, everything was just right. We were seated upstairs. The atmosphere was subdued but elegant - I nice mixed of older regulars and new young types like us. For the main I had the skirt steak and my partner the Poulet à-la-va-vite, both were delicious. I would highly recommend this restaurant for romantic night for two. I can't wait to go back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

17 people agree and 18 disagree.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 5

Restaurant Patron: 7 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

My food was delicious, serving portion was a good size, the owner/manager needs to pay attention to all patrons not just the 2 pretty ladies that walk in after my husband and I, needless to say the ladies entree and dinner was served before ours and we arrived and seated first!!! Rude I think. Other wise we had a pleasant dinner

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

David: 12 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

A small and inviting restaurant, with friendly service. Food was delicious — I had the escargots and lamb medallions and would recommend both. The highlight of the night was the ice cream profiteroles though — can't recommend them enough!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

21 people agree and 15 disagree.

 
15
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5

Megalomaniac: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Quaint, cute, cosy and charming all at the same time, The Corner Bistrot is utterly and completely drenched with romanticism. The place loves up to its name since from the moment you walk in you feel like you’ve been transported to a Parisian sidewalk ‘corner bistro’. The setting is intimate, with just a handful of tables sprinkled over two floors, faint yellow lighting giving a warm welcoming hue, little wooden tables and petite salon style chairs completing the old world European feel. For a mid-week meal the first floor was running almost completely full, with a good mix of local Australian couples, French speaking couples and a single French gentleman dining alone – seeking out flavours of his home come hell or high water – the true mark of a good French establishment in my opinion! The wine list is a compact, comprehensive mix of French and domestic Aussie wines. To kick-start birthday celebrations we had to of course slurp down a customary glass of French bubbles. We enjoyed an appetiser of classic escargot (French snails) done with a contemporary modern twist – out of the shell, pan-fried in butter and garlic with bacon, walnuts... GET THE REST OF THE REVIEW AND PICTURES AT: http://meagan-megalomaniac.blogspot.com/2009/09/corner-bistrot.html

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

thankana: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Was really looking forward to eating at this place with my girlfriends. I thought it was a bit pricey for what it was but we gave it a go. Garlic prawns were the best garlic prawns I have had anywhere, amazing! I was very disappointed with the chicken some of the girls ordered. Chicken breast, a bit dry with a bit of watery sauce. One of the girls had steak and altho the mushroom sauce was delicious the steak was tough. I had the duck cooked two ways. The breast was perfectly cooked but the leg was dry. The mushroom and truffle sauce was lovely but I didnt taste the truffles so I actually wondered if there was any truffle in the sauce. We ordered a side of potatoes but for $8 it should have been a decent serving instead it was the size of a mandarin. The bill came out and the pricing was different to the menu, approx $1 more expensive per serve. I didnt make an issue but knew I was going to review it so saved it for now. For the prices the food should be Windy point quality food but sadly it wasn't. The prices should be dropped by about $5 per item. Wouldnt reccommend the place to anyone.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
11
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1

MasterCritiq: 11 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Food tasted great Ill admit that but after my entree, main, dessert, & two baskets of bread (which we paid for can you believe they charge for frozen baguettes heated in the oven!!!!) plus a relatively decent bottle of wine I felt like saying "garcon le entree a ete tres bon vous pouvez apporter la bouffe" (and I ate before I went!!) Ok so most of you reading must be thinking this woman is a big fat pig- no Im not nor do I have worms. To top it all off the bill gave me indigestion!!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

8 people agree and 9 disagree.

 
10.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 2

5000: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Very dated decor, good but not great service. The food is a reasonable representation of a French bistrot but done without flair. Go on the fixed price days or not at all. The potential is here but a fail on execution.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
10
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 2

Anon in Adelaide: 8 years ago – Link & Share

Very sluggish service; food hit and miss, one of us liked our choice, the other found the meat tough and when this was mentioned, the waitress was very uninterested. Expensive ... and a glance in the kitchen was scary!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
9.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 2

soothepanda: 9 years ago – Link & Share

Really disappointed. Keen to try after hearing very mixed reviews. Decor cute enough (gets away with not being great for the novelty factor alone in a city of few French restaurants). Service not great - arrogant manager. Get over yourself, it's not Paris! Went in a large group so only had set menu to choose from - a shame, as some of the specials looked great - and very authentic. Entree (chevre salad) and mains (steak with mushroom sauce) came to $46. Disappointing - steak was totally fine - but not worth $30. All I could think was that I wished I was over the street at Cos where $30 seems a bargain for such a beautiful steak - with excellent service, excellent sides and an altogether more pleasant experience. What a shame - potential is there but not realised. Food is fine - just nothing special. Agree with the review that says all items should be $5 or so cheaper. Not worth the money. Travelled all over France and this is very very very low - average fare in comparison.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
8
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

Claudia: 10 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Decent food was ruined by the rudeness, arrogance and atrocious customer service of the head chef. A request for well done steak was served bloody, sent back to the kitchen and returned still pink after being put under a grill or similar. The extremely rude response of the chef (including the threat of a physical confrontation) ensured that we will never return to or recommend this restaurant.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

9 people agree and 7 disagree.

 
6
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1

Anon: 10 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Dreadful....an extremely disappointing meal... We had wanted to try this restaurant for a while but we wont ever go back.... I was asked how I wanted my salmon cooked and requested medium/rare - it came out over cooked and crunchy on the outside. The "veal" was more suitable as steak sandwich meat and the potato (which was meant to be served with both main meals, but only my partner got any) looked and tasted like it had been chewed by a previous diner! The side serve of beans appeared as though they were microwaved along with the "house made bread"...which seemed like a reheated bread roll.... Well over $100 wasted on this meal...back to Chinatown we head...

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 8 disagree.

 
5.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 1

Nigel Slater: 7 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Been using this Bistro for some years usually for a quiet birthday/anniversary celebration with my Partner however the last visit was frankly disappointing. The service was friendly but, we had to wait to discover only after ordering, (an inordinately long time after in the case of my boeuf) that the requested dishes were both unavailable. Suppliers apparently hadn't delivered was the proffered excuse not the fact that there had been a last minute demand by diners, which may have been more acceptable. There's a lot of competition in Adelaide and particularly Leigh Street so, Monsieur Le Patron, it is probably necessary 'se faire remonter les bretelles . . . !

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Jim: 8 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Fri night terrible experience. Firstly it so long to be served and then when we finally placed an order it took another hour for the food to arrive. It even took 20 minutes to get the bill after we asked for it! The billing was also interesting as they charge $5 for tap water and a table fee. Honestly it was the worst dining experience I have ever had.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Sadly disappointed: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

My 22yo son and I dined at this place last Friday, 13 August 2010 (auspicious date??). We arrived at 6pm and were greeted by the, he told us, 2nd year apprentice chef who appeared to be both waiter & chef. After a few more diners arrived, the owner/chef (a morose looking character) arrived through the front door and ignored his diners. I don't think he smiled all the time we were there. He ended up being the waiter for the evening, very odd considering he's the owner/chef. He was dressed in jeans, sneakers & jumper -- worst dressed person in the restaurant. I chose to ignore the bad reviews & low scores I found on the internet. I thought these were probably from grumpy miserable types. And I had read a good review of this place some years ago in the local newspaper & hadn't forgotten it. Well wonder no more -- the place was a miserable failure -- lousy food and totally lacking in bonhomie. The newspaper needs to come back and review again. We ordered salads for entree (Roquefort cheese & a duck salad) -- they were something you'd expect from an 8 or 10 year old. The mains were a Duck L'Orange (raw) & a medium-rare mushroom sauce Steak (overcooked). Portions were on the small side with about a tablespoon each of cubed potato & carrot. We didn't dare complain because we felt we'd have had a fight on our hands. For dessert my son had the most pathetic & unattractive looking two crepes (filled with Nutella?) I've seen. I had the chocolate ganache Mille Feuille (best dish of the evening). If we hadn't had dessert we would have left the place hungry.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

anniep: 9 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Manager? Owner? Head chef? not sure of his position but he was rude and abusive, so much so that we left before being served. I have never had such a bad experience in any restaurant anywere. Judging by the previous reviews, he makes a habit of this. I would never set foot over the threshold, nor would i reccommend anyone else to.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

shame: 9 years ago – Link & Share

Being French of passage to Adelaide (wine steward), I had the unfortunate opportunity to dinner in this place, which is everything except a restaurant. It is simply a shame for the French cooking. This place looks like not at all a French bar, there is so not enough light that we do not see what we eat, the one who seems to be the owner is absolutely obnoxious with his employees, and this in front of the customers... I do not speak about the food so much it was bad. French wines are extremely expensive, even imported, it's daylight robbery! Australian friends, if you want to be made an idea of the truth cooks French, it is not here!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

normal: 7 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

This was without doubt the worst eating experience of my life. I couldn't find words dark enough to describe what they did to us in there. This restaurant is part of the problem. By avoiding it at all costs, you will be part of the solution. seriously, you have been warned. One can only assume these other reviews are friends of the owners' Being the greasy little shylock that he is he presumably found the sweaty means to buy as many as we see here. Enjoy!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for The Corner Bistrot

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience