Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

0.5
km

The Greek Mezze

108 Gouger Street, Adelaide

Telephone 08 8231 3223

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Greek.

Average of 18 reviews

  • 3.5 / 5 Food
  • 3.4 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.6 / 5 Service
  • 3.1 / 5 Value
  • 13.6 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for The Greek Mezze

12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

RKMC: 9 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Disappointed to say the least. Dips were nice and Pita bread was lovely and fresh. Mains were a different story however. We had Moussaka and the Lamb Yiros. My friend only had 1/3 of her Moussaka because it was so cheesy but she said it was ok...my lamb yiros however was virtually untouched because it was so damn lemony!!! It was saturated in lemon juice, so much so that everytime i went to put a piece in my mouth my whole face would scrunch up because the acidity was just too much. How they could serve a dish like that and expect people to eat it is beyond me. The serving was generous however, just a shame i couldn't eat it. Yiros had a few slices of Pita bread, Tzatiki dip, salad (no dressing so wasn't very appetising), potato wedges (too salty) and lamb (too acidic). All in all would never return. People who have eaten here and have raved about it must not have tried Kefis.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for The Greek Mezze

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Renee: 12 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

I went to the Greek Mezze for my birthday dinner with my family. We had such a fantastic time that all at the table couldn't believe how fresh the food was and for the price we paid we were so full. The ambience of the restaurant was amazing and our waiter who i cant remember his name was fantastic! We will definatley be returning soon!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

19 people agree and 10 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Paola: 12 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

i am a regular curstomer at The Greek Mezze as my first experience, some months ago, blew me away. The serves are more than enough to satisfy even the hungriest of customers and this has conitnued over time. Popularity has not changed the portions as I have found with other restaurant in the past. I would like to mention that when you are attending The Greek Mezze it is a chic restaurant not an every day cafe if you want to experience an evening with family and friends more upmarket than the usual cafe scene i do highly recommend it. Friday and Saturday evenings do include entertainment for the patrons adding all to the experience. Throughout the week the staff also make you feel welcome, making you feel that you are the only person present. I have also booked for future celebrations wanting to share with the people closest to me the great expreience when dining a The Greek Mezze.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

11 people agree and 8 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

food lover: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

fantastic... really really nice food and place....

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

paul: 11 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

really nice place. was recommended to go by friends and found it to be a winner with all at our table. food was very nice and tasted fresh. staff were really help full and polite. excellent touch with the photos on the wall. will def return soon

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Paul: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Fanastic food, music was really loud when belly dancer came out and harrassed any blokes she could get too....would go back regularly..great squid/lamb.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

micky22: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

the food is very good, especially the mezze's. Loved all the different dishes served together and you just pick what you want. Service was very nice and friendly. The place is very nice and ambient. Pricey, but worth what you pay for.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Elle: 12 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Lovely Greek place in the centre of Adelaide. Great food reasonable price, even a dance or two on Saturday nights!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

15 people agree and 8 disagree.

 
17
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

tania: 12 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

the mezze provided great friendly service, surroundings were good and it was a pl easure to eat good greek food look forward to returning soon

Do you Agree or Disagree?

15 people agree and 7 disagree.

 
15
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 3

John: 11 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Although we have been to this restaurant before and enjoyed it we were not impressed with our last visit. We ordered a selection of mezze, much of which tasted stale, as if it had been prepared some time before and reheated. This is not a cheap restaurant so I would have expected a higher standard for my money.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

10 people agree and 7 disagree.

 
15
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

Redchilli: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

The entree platters were all great (although the serving of dips in shot glasses made eating a bit difficult). The main courses were a bit hit and miss though. The goat and the pork were both excellent however, the souvlakis and the yiros didn't get rave reviews. The potato wedges were soggy rather than crispy. The side salad was drowning in dressing. No one can complain about serving sizes though - they were generous. Service was excellent throughout the night- the staff were aware that a large group was coming in and encouraged us to order before them. Once ordered the meals came out quickly.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
14.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 2

Will: 10 years ago – Link & Share

The food is rich in flavour with the ingredients used tasting fresh and being of high quality. Despite this, I still feel that the price of most dishes is too expensive. It is not that the servings are small, quite the opposite, it is just that I have been to other restaurants that offer similarly high quality food, but at a lower price.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
11
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 2

Paul: 12 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Over priced and defintely not authentic Greek. One nice touch was the belly dancing that added some atmosphere to an otherwise bland evening.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

8 people agree and 19 disagree.

 
9
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 2

SA: 11 years ago – Link & Share

Went to lunch as a table of 7 on a Thursday afternoon & only 4 other tables dining. The tap water for the table was warm & didn't improve when we asked for it to be cold. The meals took an hour to arrive. I had the prawn souvlaki; the 4 prawns were very tasty & nicely presented with cherry tomatoes but the salad of rocket, red onion & a few more cherry tomatoes was lacking a dressing and was quite dry.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
7
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 1

Bill: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Very over-priced (like most Greek restaurants) and very ordinary food. The best Greek food in Adelaide can be found in the homes of Greek families. Don't bother with Greek restaurants in Adelaide, make some Greek friends and get them to invite you to their place for some true authentic fare. Either that, or fly to Melbourne.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
5.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1

steve_mildura: 8 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Our booking made on line via dimmi did not exist when we arrived. We originally made our online booking for 6pm, we rang early the afternoon of our booking to ask if we could move our booking to 7pm, the staff member that answered the phone was most helpful, confirmed our reservation existed and confirmed that it could be moved to 7pm which was promptly done. She even provided directions to the the restaurant from our hotel and estimated time to walk there which was fantastic and gave us great confidence in the evening to come. When we promptly arrived at 7pm we were told we had no reservation and when i insisted that we did, i had an email confirmation from dimmi as such and that i had already rang and spoken to a staff member early that afternoon to reconfirm and reset the time to 7pm i was very rudely addressed, the waitress muttered under her breath as she turned her back on us and we guessed we were meant to follow her to a table to be seated. The young gentleman that served us throughout the evening was very polite and attentive which is about the only positive comment i can make from the evening. My partner ordered was is listed on the menu as 'Fish Roe' which to us means fish eggs, not the crushed up pink pate/dip that was served. I ordered the rice & meatball soup which was very nice. Mains, kalamari - was 'ok' but nothing to rave about. Pasticio, menu listed as layered pasta with tomato sauce topping. What actually arrived was a baked pie dish of noodles coated with a far to thick and over powering cheese sauce that tasted like packet maccaroni cheese sauce. Overall, will never ever go back and will make a point of specifically not recommending to friends that visit gouger st adelaide for a mean. Of interest, went to Crown & Sceptre Sun evening and enjoyed possibly the best dining experience to date in adelaide, perfect menu choices, perfect flavours, perfect wine selections, awesome atmopshere. Next time we stay in adelaide we will be booking into accomodation neat the crown * sceptre just so we can go back there to done.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

K and N Review: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Our mezze experience left a lot to be desired. Although the fetta balls were good, the rest of the food was average and overpriced. The mezze selection was disappointing, most was under-cooked, and the rest was tasteless or undersized.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Anonymous: 10 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Having been impressed with the Greek Mezze in the past, I took an overseas guest to the restaurant recently. Admittedly, it was 9pm by the time we made it there for dinner. However, this is no excuse for the diappointing experience we had. The pasta dish my guest had was overcooked and dry. My squid dish was also dry and rubbery. I chose not to eat it. My guest left his meal as well. Unfortunately by the time we got there, the staff were tired and flat, which showed.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 7 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for The Greek Mezze

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience