Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

2.3
km

Tongue Thai'd

52 Henley Beach Road, Mile End

Telephone 08 8234 6884

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Asian & Thai.

Average of 32 reviews

  • 3.8 / 5 Food
  • 3.9 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.6 / 5 Service
  • 3.7 / 5 Value
  • 15 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Tongue Thai'd

20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Trevor: 11 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

I have been eating at Tongue Thai'd for years and have never encountered a negative attitude from anyone. The owners are delightful and from the moment I walked in, all those years ago, they made me feel so welcome in their venue. Their latest addition to the front of house team, Stacey is a wonderful, friendly and inviting girl who makes me feel at home and we always have a good laugh about whatever takes our fancy. To anyone who whines about not being able to split your table account - maybe try dining at McDonalds, they let you pay separately for everything there and even have a play area for you. Every restaurant in Adelaide who provide full table service (that I've dined at) prefer you not to split your account and if they told you every policy and procedure of the venue when you booked, you'd be on the phone forever! Get a life or go to maccas. To finish, I love Tongue Thai'd and highly recommend it to anyone who shares my love for fine Thai food and the best service you can get in Adelaide. Well Done!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

11 people agree and 5 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Tongue Thai'd

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Mara: 10 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

There is two days every week that I despise - Sunday and Monday. But only because Tongue Thai'd isn't open! The staff there are always lovely - Matt and Stacey in particular, are always extremely welcoming and make you feel part of the family even if they don't know you. The food is always amazing and I've never had a problem with my order (which is always something a little different). Thoroughly enjoy their house specialty (eggplant), but would recommend it as a dish to share as it can be quite sweet. I often order vegetarian dishes for my lunch and they always use lots of FRESH vegetables, and a good mix too. Love the place, love the staff, love the food. One of Adelaide's cutest hidden secrets!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Rachel: 11 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Absolutely beautiful food. I most recently went there on Fri 14/3/08 but have been there quite a few times now. The meals are to die for. You must try the Eggplant dish. I'm not normally a fan of eggplant but this dish is devine. Friendly staff and management. Child friendly restaurant too. A must to try out!!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

22 people agree and 11 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Ellen: 12 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

wow that is all i can say, it is the best place i have ever been to you have to go and try it.it is the only place i will eat now .

Do you Agree or Disagree?

25 people agree and 26 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Linda: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Love it, Love it, Love it! this place rocks, food awesome, staff lovely, great wine list and fun atmosphere- if you like Thai you just have to go!!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Rachb: 9 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Can't fault this place! Mussaman curry is my fav! YUM!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

NaG: 8 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

We love the food and the atmosphere. Dine in and Take away is great xx

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

MKG: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

I have just experienced this restaurant for the first time and loved it as soon as I walked through the door. Loved the atmoshere and loved the food. Staff couldnt do enough for us ( a little over the top but cant complain about being waited on. Very friendly and accommodating. Will sit outside next visit which I know wont be too far away. Took left over Pad Thai home which I actually had for brunch the following day.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

july_darling: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Now this place is fabulous!! Service is always top notch and the food is delicious. The pad thai is very authentic and the duck curry has wonderful flavours. One of the loveliest places to eat in Adelaide.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

MariaAdamczak: 7 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Love the food and friendly staff. Best red curry I have had.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 11 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Friendly family owned business, with a great atmosphere. You feel like you escape to another world when you walk through the door. The owner was very accommodating and looked after our every need. Can BYO, which is good and haven't had a bad meal in the times that I have been there. Would recommend it to anyone that likes a venue with a different feel, and of course loves Thai food.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

6 people agree and 6 disagree.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Cu.tee1: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Food OMG superb! Caring and attentive staff and owner! Ambience and decor authentic and cozy! Absolutely LOVED IT!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
18.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Magliadoro: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

A very pleasant experience. The food was great, the ambiance was amazing and the people there are friendly and efficient. I am going again on Saturday.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 11 years ago – Link & Share

When I dined here recently the staff were very friendly, they even offered us a small sample to share when we couldn't decide what to order and didn't mind at all when we made a slight change to one of our meals. The food was just so exceptional, there was not one dish I did not like. I never usually eat eggplant but the eggplant dish we ordered was just amazing, it's unlike anything else I've ever tasted before and everybody should give it a go, you won't be disappointed. We ordered several different dishes to share and for roughly $21 a person we were all very satisfied and even had a fair amount left-over. The space is nicely decorated, although maybe a little cluttered. It was a superb dining experience and I look forward to going back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
17.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

Bakes1964: 7 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Recently went on a busy Saturday night. Food was delicious and the Green Chicken Curry was to die for. This is the first Thai restaurant I have gone to where the Rice was fluffy and great for soaking up sauces. Just be prepared for a bit of a wait if busy.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

soothepanda: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Eggplant is great. Quail special entree is great. Red duck curry is beautiful - very lean meat. Everything else is average to good. Great ambience/decor. Great staff.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
17
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4

Underkelly: 10 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Definitely worth while going on a Friday/Saturday night as the atmosphere is electric! But make sure to book. Food is excellent aswell, best Pad Thai ive had for a while!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
16
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 3

Carlos the Jackal: 8 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Good all round eating experience..... Definitely worth eating in and taking away.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
14
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Minerva: 11 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I have been to Tongue Thai'd a few times but last Friday night might be the last. I know they were very busy (packed house) but that does not excuse the service. Firstly one bottle of water was on the table for ten people and so we had to ask for more. When the people who ordered beer, it came to us in the bottle, no glass. Sorry but I do not drink beer from a bottle so I used their wine glass instead. The entrees took ages to come out (about 50 mins) and while we were still eating them our main meals came out. One person received her main meal and hadn't even received her entree! After hearing the spiel about how good the Eggplant stuffed with chicken was 'their signature dish' three of us ordered it. Well to me it was the worse meal I have ever had. I felt like I was eating sticky balls of oil. Even the next day I was still feeling the effects. None of us finished the meal, I could only have a few pieces. The waitress asked us if we wanted to take it home with us! The comment from one of us was her dog wouldn't even eat it! Everyone else though enjoyed their meals (seven out of ten - so not too bad) I think they are getting too big and their standards have certainly gone down.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

20 people agree and 8 disagree.

 
14
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 3

simon: 11 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

It is so discouraging dining at a restaurant that obviously doesn’t want you there, I wonder why they even took our booking? Unfortunately our mains came out while we were still eating our entrées, then as our coffees were being brought out the house lights were all turned up as if at the end of a play, and the vacume was pushed through the dining room. Insulting, the bill however was thoroughly followed through. The green chicken curry had no egg plant, and the broth was not a balanced recipe of spice, lime and coconut milk and cream. The fish cakes had the texture of rubber, the Larb was minced chicken with a squeeze of lime on a bed of lettuce and the rest was no better. I think this is a thai restaurant for people that are happy not eating excellent thai food. And the ‘get out’ treatment was just extremely disappointing. Sorry guys, you have no idea.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

9 people agree and 14 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

Anonymous: 10 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

The food here is good but has definately been adapted for Westerners. Our group of six ordered a several dishes to share between us. Even though two of our group were Thai nationals we all found ourselves needed to add extra chili as most of the dishes were very mild (even those stated as being Hot). The Chef's speciallity eggplant dish although very nice is quite sweet and would need to be shared like we did. The resturant has a nice cosy atmosphere and has used their very small space well. The service is great and staff very friendly. This is a great place as an introduction to Thai food but not one for the connoisseur or a Thai national.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3

Hungry Giant: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Ambience: This little restaurant seems to project attention as it emits a red aura to all that pass it on the eastern end of Henley Beach road before you hit the underpass. That alone is enough to command attention on a relatively dull and under performing section of tan under performing restaurant and cafe district. Service: As I walked in for some reason i was expecting a waitress to approach me and request my reservation or direct me to a table, but instead I had to line up at the front counter and wait for the women in front of me to complete her takeaway transaction. It may have been my over expectations but this took away a bit of the genuine restaurant feel and instead I was starting to relate the place to more of a eat in and "take away joint", the large tacky painted writing on the front windows re-enforced this feeling.I also was a little bit disappointed at where they waitress seated me as I was with a female companion the waitress placed on an awkwardly positioned table right next to a floor step with the chairs not even facing opposites. This took away points from the service bar. On a positive note, the waitresses were friendly and very informative on the selection of dishes, I was quite impressed. Food: I ordered fish cake entr?e, a vegetarian green curry and the soft shell crab in red curry dish that was listed on their specials board. Fish Cakes: nothing special here, 4 pieces of processed seafood spare parts fried for $7.50 is over priced in my view and wasn't anything different than to what you would get at any other Thai place. Vegetarian Green Curry: Too watery. Tasted OK, was very mild but again nothing special. The only thing that stood out about this dish was that it was almost a soup. Soft Shell Crab with red curry: I was actually looking forward to this dish as I love GOOD soft shell crab. However; I was quite disappointed. The soft shell crab was cooked exactly how it should be BUT it does not go well with the red Thai curry. The soft shell crab almost became like wet cardboard after drowning in the red curry which mind you, tasted fine. This place would pull a lot more people by separating the soft shell crab from the curry and serving it independently. Overall an "OK" place but I won't be heading back there any time soon, only because i think there are a lot better places out there.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
11.5
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 3.5

Frances: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Although I've previously had a below average experience at Tongue Thai'd, I was willing to give it another try when a friend booked a table for 5 of us recently. Unfortunately this experience was no better. After ordering a bottle of wine, we had to wait a half an hour for it to arrive and another half an hour for our spring rolls to come out. The red chicken curry was nice but my meal was that poor I can't even remember now what I ordered. Not only that, we had to wait nearly another hour for it to come out! For dessert, the waiter took my order then returned 15 minutes later to let me know it was no longer available. My following choice never even made it out of the kitchen. I probably wont be returning again because there are plenty of other thai restaurants around Adelaide that have far superior meals and service.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
11
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 4

Megan: 11 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Female staff at counter was rude to almost every one of us 20 people as we were leaving as they would not allow us to make a payment for our own meal, we were not informed when we booked that the bill had to be paid altogther but its sometimes hard to do that when we have 2 lunch shifts for the same table and some people have card when others have cash. thats fine if thats the way your resteraunt works but inform people of this when they book intead of refuse their money when they try to pay and be a rude cow to your customers, hello your in customer service industry, maybe that should be a first priority. BUT food was sensational as per usual.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

8 people agree and 7 disagree.

 
11
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 3

Clozza: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

This was my third trip to Tongue Thai'd in probably as many years. Before I had ever been I had heard a couple of nightmarish stories about the service and now I have two of my own to add. About a year ago my partner and I went before a show at Thebby, we told the staff that we had to leave at a certain time and we would have had plenty of time, however our meals didn't come out until 5 minutes before we had to go, so we went to the show hungry. The staff and owner were very friendly and apologetic so I was willing to give them another go. However on my most recent visit the incident was repeated. We waited an hour and twenty minutes for our food and an hour after ordering we asked one of the older female waitresses (it appeared to me that she was some kind of a supervisor, or at least quite experienced) where the food was and she tartly replied that it was coming. When she returned to explain that it would be the next out she proceeded to argue with us about when we ordered and for how long we'd been waiting. She then proceeded to take the next meals from the kitchen to another table, and there was no apology when our food was finally delivered. I find this service on a repeated basis totally unacceptable and extremely disappointing, especially because the food they serve is delicious. I would think after three or four years of the same stories they would work something out! Hire more staff, more experienced staff, take fewer bookings and/or take away, do a more effective job of staggering bookings and take away. There are many simple technique that they could use to improve what could be and should be a wonderful business. Even simple things like teaching your staff to be friendly to customers when they've been waiting over an hour for their food and not snapping at them and arguing with them. A smile and a sorry go a long way.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
10.5
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 3

yumyum: 9 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

First impressions were of a restaurant with colour, character and easy going atmosphere. But all down hill after that! Unfortunately i was given the wrong drink. The menu is small and the group decision was to go a banquet. The first two dishes of spring rolls and chicken wings were pleasant but after that there was vitually no meat ( i like the two people on either side of me got two tiny pieces of dry duck meat in the duck dish). The eggplant dish was like an insect shell with salty slime inside. The "fish cakes" are just bean curd with no fish flavour. We were seated in the garden at the back of the restaurant next to a unisex disabled toilet that had a line up of people to go in most of the night! I left this place hungry and very disappointed.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
10
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 2

Courtskye: 9 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

This was my fifth or sixth visit in the last three years, and sadly not anywhere near up to standard. A first and significant sign of what was to come .... My gin and tonic arrived with no lime or lemon. Upon requesting some lime I was informed that there was none... Not even in the kitchen. I'm thinking of sending this place a David Thompson cook book. After collecting my jaw from the floor I was happily provided with lemon substitute from the friendly staff. No lime in a thai restaurant????? Oh dear. I can feel the street vendors of Bankok grimacing. This was evident in the watery green curry, the sweet bland pad thai, the same sweet blandness in the four flavour fish, the very strong old mussels in a seafood broth. Poor,poor, poor,....and the wonton crisps in our specially ordered gluten free meal ... Ah you nearly poisoned my friend. A young male waiter repeatedly arrived at our table announcing dishes meant for somewhere else. By this stage I had to giggle. Almost Faulty Tower terrible.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
8.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 2

terry tibbs: 10 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Food is good but very cramped and very busy . Staff try to rush you out so that other patrons can have the table

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
8.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 2.5

bubbagump: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Well, from the reviews on here we thought why not give it a try.....and I have never had a bad pad thai at any place yet...BUT we both had pad thai tonight...and it was DISGUSTING! It was very salty and tasted like it had been drenched in soy sauce and my husband commented the chicken tasted funny, so I hope we dont become ill from it...such a shame...but because of that dish we would not go back there again...yukkk

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
6.95
  • Food: 1.475
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1.475

Seahorsey: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Really really DISAPPOINTED I had heard it was "The Place" but we had to wait 1hr and 10 mins for our main course. We were only a small table of 3 people. We should have gone to Adelaide's China Town (Gouger St) for a better quality meal. I would not recommend this place to my friends. Quality of food was very soggy eg. steamed rice and stir fry - yuk

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
6
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1.5

Hollywood Rick and Mumma Juggs: 7 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Heard it was good unfortunately they must of been on drugs that night. We started with the spring rolls and they were excellent but the prawns were just average although the dressing was yum. We then proceeded to wait for over an hour for our meal, during this time we were so close to another couple our space was dominated by hearing the constant devastations in there life, (Oh God give the woman a gun)Our main meals took over an hour to get and correct me if I am wrong but was the Thai Red Duck Curry just slices of duck in a Tom Kha soup I mean thats what it tasted like as for the Pad Thai it was ho hum and the signature dish I would not be taking any ownership as it was somthing you would expect Elly May Clampett to have prepared. Sorry Guys it was not good, Food awful, and staff although pleasant were vague and inefficient. We love Thai but you guys just don't cut the mustard

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
6
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 1.5

gerry: 8 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

I have been to this restaurant many times and I think it's all going down hill... : ( The food we ordered recently was very disappointing - milky, watery and tasteless curries.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for Tongue Thai'd

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience