Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

9.6
km

Top of the World Revolving Restaurant

760 Anzac Highway, Glenelg

Telephone 08 8376 0050

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Seafood & Modern Australian.

Average of 17 reviews

  • 3.2 / 5 Food
  • 3.9 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.3 / 5 Service
  • 2.8 / 5 Value
  • 13.2 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Top of the World Revolving Restaurant

16
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Mick: 12 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

They are kidding themselves with the name, but it is a nice view and the food is good. It does give a good perspective of the hills, city and beaches. Glenelg is a great spot to bring visitors but the lack of parking needs to be addressed.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

30 people agree and 10 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Top of the World Revolving Restaurant

 
 
18.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Anonymous100: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

The first thing you notice when you walk in is the wonderful panoramic views of Adelaide. On a nice sunny and clear day the atmosphere is very nice. Staff are friendly and tend well to all your needs, there were no problems with ordering and meals were delivered and served within a reasonable ten to twenty minutes at most. Great range of wine is available. To only suggestion I would make is a minor change in decor, perhaps new paint on the walls? - the current style seems slightly out-dated, however this was barely noticeable as the superb views substitute any minor grievances. In regards to the food: Excellent presentation, I recommend the seafood, which was quite fresh and well prepared. Prices are reasonable and are suited to a restaurant of this type, particularly in regards to its great location in the heart of Glenelg, and of course, it is a revolving restaurant. It is a very nice to experience different views every several minutes as the floor rotates at a slow speed throughout your meal. Highly reccomended!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Food Critic: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

We recently visited this restaurant and although the food was not outstanding we had a really great night. We ordered the large seafood platter for two ($220) which had everything we wanted + more (lobster, crab, soft shell crab, salmon, oysters, etc). We really enjoyed everything on there except the battered stuff. There was really enough for four people so I think the value was great and my cat was so happy as she got the leftovers. Everyone else liked their meals but no one raved about them. We had a really nice/attentive waiter that made sure we were kept happy all through the night. In fact he was so great that we left him a huge tip! I didn't take any notice of the decor as we had such beautiful views. We all felt relaxed and had a great time. It's definitely worth the experience and I think everyone should try it out at least once. I am going to go back there for high tea soon.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

shari bb: 8 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

The food tasted great, really fresh and full of flavour. The service was great and the atmosphere was wonderful. Great place for your partner to take you out to wine and dine you!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

charming: 9 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Recently been there for high-tea. was great for the price, as everywhere in town is more expensive without such a nice view~ the scones were very fluffy...everything was so delicious, overall was a great experience! highly recommended!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Sam: 12 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

One of Glenelgs premier restaurants offering a fine dining experience at a reasonable price. If you like their squid you can purchase 2kg boxes to cook at home. Also, ask for the 'Squid Inc' salt and pepper mix that they use in the restaurant - delicious.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

15 people agree and 23 disagree.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

Nurse: 6 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

My Hb and I have just returned from dinner. We went on a Living Social voucher which made the cost less prohibited . The Ocean Platter was just delightful, so much better than at ----- On The Marina! Tender, succulent and fresh. No pile of fries to over burden the platter. Prawns,calamari, crumbed fish. Octopus, scallops, S&P squid, just delightful. The Greek salad accompanying the platter was fresh and came with tszadziki yum,yum,yum. Hb had the chocolate and pistachio pudding and I had the bailey,s br?l?e both to die for. Lovely setting with 11/2 hrs to do a whole revolution (it is a revolving restaurant ) Service attentive not intrusive. We will return!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 2

Eat and review: 9 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

On the good side The food was quite delicious, dessert was resonable, views were nice. On the bad side Price was a was a bit of joke and staff were very annoying for the fact they were trying to make our meal decisions for us.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 3

seganda: 7 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Initial impressions of the foyer were shabby and old smelling went up the lift with trepidation as we were introducing our guest to what we thought was a top Adelaide eating spot. Arriving at the restaurant felt better, views superb especially for our interstate visitor,service was great, food was good with an small but impressive selection of wines. Toilets a problem being downstairs by lift. Overall a great night because you could talk without competing with music/tv etc. This restaurant would be improved by a face lift which would bring it up to the same standard as the views, staff and food.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
13
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Redchilli: 10 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

The views are very good. The food was a mixture of good and average - depends on your pick. The salt and pepper squid was the best overall. The tuna steak was good but the salad was smothered in creamy dressing. Other dishes were average which was disappointing as they came off the Chef's Recommendations list. The service was attentive at the start of the night but dropped off - our water glasses weren't topped up and we were only able to order second drinks seconds before the main courses arrived. We weren't the only ones that got tired of waiting for the bill and went up to the counter to settle it.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

jmm10: 7 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

i will never go there again the food was disgusting and the service was slow

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
10.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1.5

juz: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Extremely overrated. Yes, you expect to pay more for the truly wonderful views, but you'd be better off just going for a few drinks. We were seated in the interior ring of tables, despite there being numerous empty tables right be the window. Staff were very friendly and attentive, but our waiter reeked of smoke and startedby complaining he'd been caught by a red light camera on the way to work. The rice was overcooked and portion sizes small, with some flavour combinations that weren't complimentary. I would not go back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
8.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

penguin: 7 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

My husband and I anda freind went ayear ago and we had a wonderful experience. How things have changed!!! We went on Saturday night and they took ages to come to our table with a menu and when they did eventually bring us a menu we ordered a started, mains and drinks. it took them 10 mins to bring 2 of the drinks and 15 mins to bring me my drink.20 mins later out freind asked where our food was and they brough out our main and we had not even had our starters!!! the waiters excuase was that he did not think we wanted it. my meal was very small , my husbands was ordainary and our freind returned their steal as it was well done and not medium as she asked for. I asked for a different flavoured mocktail and they brough out the same flavour again after taking 15 mins to make it. My husband asked for a soft drink that never appeared and when our frweind asked for a tea they did not leve the tea bag in the glasss. the service was awful and the waiter clearly had no interest in being there. the decor was tired and there were no fresh flowers at the entrance and you would think that a rest. that charges aroung $40 a main meal could afford fresh and not sticks and they were not even silk flowers either. Veiw was lovley but that was all. Felt embarassed recommeding the restuarant in the first place.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
8
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

Ted: 8 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Very overrated and is definitely not a fine dining experience. Terrible service ( unfortunately I was unable to mark a zero for this) . Food mediocre and overpriced. Dated decor. Only plus were the views. To be fair, we had the lobster, so if you must go, please avoid that, and the scallops! Lobster was tough and overcooked. Scallops were doused with a funky sauce so you can't really taste the scallops. We also had oysters (mornay) and that was decent.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
7.5
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1.5

Paul: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Last time we went there was 3 years ago, must have changed hands since then. the seafood platters were smaller with less things on them. The Salad that came with it looked like my 10 year old had cut some things in half and stuck them on a plate. The waiting staff had no idea how to take orders or serve, forgetting things. Way overpriced for the service, food presentation and price. the view is a amazing......the rest disappointing...Wont hurry back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
7.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1

KLD: 8 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

The restaurant has wonderful views panoramic views of Adelaide. The staff were friendly and helpful and the service was fast. The prices are what you would expect of a 5 star restaurant, however the food was absolutely disappointing! Frankly you could get the same quality food at Barnacle Bills. If you are looking for fantastic seafood try elsewhere!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
6
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Anonymous: 10 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

This restaurant is a complete ripoff. If you love 1970's decor and a bunch of young kids who pretend they are rich, then you may love it. You also need to want to for overpriced meals and enjoy pretty bad cuts of meat. The bad thing about this is that people believe this place is nice when it is not. The views are nice, but that is it. Be prepared to unload a lot of money, not get any service, and have a loud night. There was one exceptionally loud table near us, that the wait staff would not ask to be quiet because it was the owner. The six of us have dining have decided to all write reviews to let people know what to really expect. DO NOT expect to get anything on your plate that looks like the photos!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 7 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for Top of the World Revolving Restaurant

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience