Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

2.5
km

Urban Bistro

160 Fullarton Road, Rose Park

Telephone 08 8331 2400

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Modern Australian.

Average of 14 reviews

  • 3.9 / 5 Food
  • 3.6 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.1 / 5 Service
  • 3.4 / 5 Value
  • 14 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Urban Bistro

19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

David: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

I've dined at Urban Bistro for breakfast twice in the last month. Both times the food has been faultless, but on both occasions the service has been patchy and we've waited a long time (around 45 minutes) for food. At least they're consistent! On my first visit I ordered corn fritters, which were tasty, and on visit number two I went with the more standard fare of eggs benedict, which were perfectly cooked. The prices are very reasonable, although the freshly squeezed juices and sides (bacon, etc) do quickly start to add up.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Urban Bistro

 
 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

podgy88: 10 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

My favourite breakfast spot in Adelaide! Great menu with something new to try everytime. Yet to try the lunch/dinner menu.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Strawberry shortcake: 9 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

I have been to Urban resturant numerous times for breakfast and Dinner. I even had my 30th Birthday their and until this day my friend still comment as it being one of the best nights every. The whole night went smoothly and the food was fantastic. Whenever any one asks me where to go out for a meal I alway say Urban bistro because I know that the they will get nicely present and scrumptious meals along excellent services. My mother also thinks passionfruit souffle is the best she had ever tasted.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 3.5

Louise-Anne: 7 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

I have read other reviews here before my adding my own experience today and was surprised how many people have mentioned average service at best. I would almost say the service we received was a little too much! Expecting to order shortly after we arrived did not go down too well. However, that is probably where my complaints start and finish. Very modern setting and comfortable chairs was a good start. The food was top notch, could not fault it at all. We were so full from entree and mains that we did not even look at the sweets menu although next time I will be keen to try the passionfruit souffle a few of you have mentioned!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 11 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Great food, although on the smaller side. We had entress of chilli pork and buffalo mozzarella tomato tart which were lovely. Mains were baramundi which was a very small piece, but beautiful served with a lobster risotto. The lamb gnocchi was excellent also. Service was fast and friendly.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 12 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

I thoroughly enjoyed my venison and the passionfruit souffle was like eating a fruity cloud. Perfect for a romantic dinner for two, or three if you're lucky.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
14
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Redchilli: 11 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

This restaurant is lovely. Comfy chairs enabled us to have a leisurely brunch with our friends. Love the entree / main breakfast menu. The food was great but the service was a let down - a bit hit and miss. A larger coffee size would also be good.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
13
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 4

Monte: 11 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

I have been here twice in the last two years (once for dinner and once for breakfast) and I have had a very similar experience both times. The food is very good but the service is distinctly shabby. The waiting staff arenít just a bit unfriendly, but they also seem to be unfamiliar with the menu, and when a complaint or special request is made, they are very reluctant to follow it up. During my recent breakfast I ordered the standard poached eggs with swiss brown mushrooms and truss tomatoes as extras. What was put in front of me though, were roma tomatoes and champignon mushrooms, and when I pointed this out to the waiter he was distinctly disinterested. I wasnít offered a discount on my meal, or, heaven forbid, an apology. Itís too bad. There is a shortage of really good restaurants in Adelaide, and this could be one of them.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
12.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 3.5

SA Foodie: 9 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

I've eaten at Urban 3 times in the last three months for both brunch and dinner and been a repeat customer over the years. The food is always good and the menu constructed in such a way that I find a number of appealing choices to select from. I'm disappointed to say that the service has been such a let down over the past couple of visits. Although there have been enough staff, they've been careless and sloppy with service. It seems the restaurant has become complacent in its popularity. I was also sad to note that the decor, while still inviting, is looking a bit tired around the edges with some chairs showing signs of ripped upholstery. It wouldn't take much to restore this dining room to its former glory. A bit of care and respect for the loyal clientele is all that's required.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

LisaS: 9 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

TERRIBLE experience here tonight and will never go back again. This used to be one of my favourite restaurants but I have just experienced the worst service of my life. After asking the waitress to describe the abalone ravioli to me she did so in detail and I decided to order it. When it came out, the first bite I could taste a strong coriander flavour. I find coriander very strong and pungent and have a strong dislike for the flavour and I know I am not alone here. Whenever dishes are 'Asian inspired' I always ask if there is coriander, however a hand made seafood ravioli served with scallops and a lime butter sauce does not indicate there is much chance of there being coriander. On explaining this to the waitress and politely sugggesting that they should put it on the menu and/or explain this to customers, she apologised and brought me the menu again to select something different. At the time I thought she handled the situation extremely well but when the bill came I was shocked to see I had been charged for both the abalone and the alternative dish I chose (a barramundi dish, which was very average). The waitress should have made it clear that I would be charged for the second dish, because if she had done that I would not have ordered anything else. I would have just finished the scallops that were served with the ravioli and then got a dessert. I am extremely disappointed and neither myself or my friends will ever return to a place that was once an old favourite.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
11
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 3

J. Wrmm: 7 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

My friends and I had breakfast here. The food was nice but the service was very poor. Long, long waits for coffees. The rudest waiter I have ever experienced! We were also told that we would have to vacate the table quite soon, (no warning when we arrived), and the coffees didn't arrive for some time after that. With so many nice restaurants around, why would anyone waste their time here?

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
11
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 2

christine: 11 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

I went with my boyfriend for breakfast after reading in the paper that they rated really well for their breakfast.. so i ordered the ricotta pancakes and to my surprise they came out burnt and the way they came out on the plate showed that the chefs were pretty sloppy with their presentation.. there seemed to be no care or love whatsoever .. i ate it nonetheless but i really should have complained but who knows what they would have done if they had to do it again.. i'm also not sure if it was cooked in the inside properly because i've never had ricotta pancakes before, i would have preferred just normal pancakes. Heck i could have made better pancakes than them!!.. we might try this place again and give it a second chance to win us over but definitely order something else ... very disappointing!!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
9
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1

Adamski: 10 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

When walking into Urban Bistro you are presented with a dated dining room somewhat harking back to the 1950s, with toilets outside across the car park! Unavoidably we were 15 minutes late for our booking and subsequently the waiting staff were somewhat surly and unfriendly, delivering the pre dinner drinks very slowly. Our first major shock was the price of the wine, I think that Urban Bistro has been looking at wine prices in London hotels. Adelaide has always been great for getting excellent wine at reasonable prices, but this doesn't seem to be the case here. Nonetheless we ordered two bottles which were good. The food we ordered was expensive but was reasonably presented and well flavoured and balanced. It was not however good value compared to other good Adelaide restaurants. Then came 'the altercation'. One of our party of 4 had the audacity to request to take the remainder of her steak for her dog. This is a reasonable request not yet denied elsewhere in Adelaide and not even denied by Gordon Ramsay at Claridges. However, at Urban Bistro the request was sneered at and denied by the staff. This was more than annoying and we terminated the meal at this point. A wrecked evening and an expensive one at that. In conclusion, there is nothing that particularly stands out at Urban Bistro, there are many better restaurants in Adelaide and it's surrounds. Not Recommended.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
7.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2.5

Hungry: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

AFter being a regular at Urban Bistro for many years, I had a terrible experience most recently. They forgot all of our side dishes, and when the dessert came out, it was curdled and not edible (tasted like vomit)! We returned it (after the waitress argued with us saying it was saffron) and ordered a different dessert. They brought the wrong dessert, and we told the waitress, who said "well, you'll get it for free anyway, so don't worry about it". When I complained about the service, the waitress said "I don't cook the food, so you don't have to be all uppity with me". I think Urban Bistro has become too unreliable to go to for special occasions

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for Urban Bistro

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience