Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

9.5
km

Yakumi

109 Jetty Road, Glenelg

Telephone 08 8376 1366

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Japanese.

Average of 16 reviews

  • 4.5 / 5 Food
  • 4 / 5 Ambience
  • 4 / 5 Service
  • 4.3 / 5 Value
  • 16.8 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Yakumi

20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Ella R: 1 year, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Best Japanese been going since it opened and never been disappointed. Yvonne & Brett

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Yakumi

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Ella R: 1 year, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Best Japanese we have been going since it opened and have never been dissatisfied.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Luv2dine: 7 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Its great to have an Excellent Japanese restaurant West. The head chef has created some great modern Japanese dishes. Top ingredients used. The Tasmanian Uni (sea urchin) is excellent as is the saba (mackerel).

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

OG critics: 6 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Had to rate it 5 so that my review will be shown. Really disappointed with this place. Food was awful. I went there because the comments above were positive but the food was not worth the money. And just so you now, there is a minimum spend of $35 and above which was a ridiculous policy. All in all, food was really salty and drinks were pretty lousy too. This is definitely not a restaurant to go. I don't see any modern twist in the food. If you really want to try good japanese food, go Wasai in Chinatown instead. It's better and definitely cheaper!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

kvs: 7 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

This is by far one of our favourite Japanese restaurants in Adelaide - the restaurant of choice for special occasions. When it comes to food; I'm a purist, so I'm not normally a fan of fusion. However, the European twist on traditional Japanese dishes at Yakumi is nothing short of perfection. The service is always friendly and informative, though can get a bit slower on a busy night. The atmosphere is quite warm. The prices are about average for Japanese food, but the quality of the ingredients is top notch.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

After visiting Yakumi for the first time I know I will definitely go there again! The atmosphere of this small restaurant is relaxed yet stylish; funky, yet peaceful. The staff are friendly and informative and their service is fast and efficient. The menu has so much to choose from and will suit everyones' taste buds. The flavour and presentation of all the dishes I tried was very impressive and they were great value for money. I would recommend the gyoza and the Yaki crocodile skewers! Thanks Yakumi for a wonderful culinary experience!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

9 people agree and 8 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Tanya: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Best Gyoza EVER. And I have been to Japan. This is a must visit if you are a fan of Modern Japanese food with a twist.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

9 people agree and 13 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

Dicko: 5 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Awesome food, this joint is the best jap I have ever had, clearly the people that don't rate it highly don't appreciate the high grade quality freshness and presentation of their food, the best way to dine is to do like a Japanese tapas style, so much good to choose from but not enough room in my tummy, 35 per head min isn't a problem, a drink entre and a main, I wish people Wouldn't be so tight, they only plate up a grade sushimi (which is the best stuf in Australia, the best goes to Japan ) all time favorite restaurant . The chef is a legend

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

J: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

I've been searching for decent Japanese food in Adelaide for the past 2 years, and Yakumi is the best by far. Sushi and sashimi were fresh and tasty, and flavors in others dishes were complex and well-balanced. The special I had (scallop carpaccio with wasabi and truffle dressing topped with 3 kinds of caviar over mixed greens) was innovative and the flavors were perfectly integrated. I especially appreciated small touches like an amuse bouche of smoked salmon over sesame bean sprouts. The menu is diverse enough to suit any taste, from seasoned sushi lover to Japanese newbie. Service was friendly, attentive and spot-on. Restaurant is intimate with typical minimal Japanese decor. Perfect dining experience that I will surely recommend to anyone.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

13 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Darren: 10 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Yakumi is a fabulous venue located on Jetty Road at Glenelg. The staff are friendly and the food is great. This is a convenient place to dine before catching a movie at the Wallis Cinema down the road - perfect for a first date!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

9 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
17.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 5

deak: 5 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

just the best feed/restaraunt in adelaide

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Trish & Dave: 10 years ago – Link & Share

This is one of our favorite restaurants for sure. Always go for a nice birthday dinner or anniversary. Small but trendy and comfortable. The menu is awesome, try the green tea blackened salmon or even if you dare the massive sushi/sashimi platter for 2. Lovely staff and great food!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

13 people agree and 8 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4

lexi22: 6 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

the food is always fantastic. I live locally and this is one of my favourite places to eat.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
16
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

bentkiwi: 7 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Food was great, and the venue was nice but at times service was a little inattentive. With 5 tables there was a period with only one person on the floor. The sashimi wasn't bad but I have had better, the rainbow roll though was spot on and fantastic! You cant go wrong with the food or selection here! Try it out!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
4.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 1

OG critics: 6 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Food was aweful. I went there because the comments above were positive but the food was not worth the money. And just so you now, there is a minimum spend of $35 and above which was a ridiculous policy. All in all, food was really salty and drinks were pretty lousy too. This is definitely not a restaurant to go. I don't see any modern twist in the food. If you really want to try good japanese food, go Wasai in Chinatown instead. It's better and definitely cheaper!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

OG critics: 6 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Never want to come again!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for Yakumi

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience