Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

0.5
km

Ying Chow

114 Gouger Street, Adelaide

Telephone 08 8211 7998

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Asian & Chinese.

Average of 30 reviews

  • 3.7 / 5 Food
  • 2.9 / 5 Ambience
  • 2.7 / 5 Service
  • 3.3 / 5 Value
  • 12.6 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Ying Chow

8.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 3

5000: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Sadly the reasonably good food and value is let down by the worst service ever. If you book you will still wait outside for 50 minutes and even then they will kick you out rudely when you are nearing the end of the meal. For take away they say 15 minutes but they wont start cooking until you arrive so it will be 45+mins.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 2 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Ying Chow

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

lannn1292: 8 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

definitely my favourite restaurant, food tastes amazing, E-shan chicken = best meal i've ever had!! =D

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

frank: 9 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Service is always friendly, Allen is great. The red vinegar ribs are my favourite - best ribs in Adelaide. Great for a late night bite

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

PRAX: 7 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

So good , went here with a friend ate three mains, rice, glass of wine and a soft drink all for just over $40 OMG such good value & the food and service are superb!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Wozonzon: 11 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Excellent food, great ambience at a fantastic price. Make sure you book and don't forget to order the peking duck (24 hrs notice).

Do you Agree or Disagree?

22 people agree and 16 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

calypso: 10 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

went to dine there tonight, we made a booking for 6:30pm, got there and although they had the booking, the restaurant was totally full. However, I was pleasantly surprised as they made up a table for us outside, turned on the heater and offered us free entrees. So I have to say the customer service was brilliant and the food is FANTASTIC!! one of the best value for money restaurants in Adelaide. I'm a huge fan of Asian food and I've been here before and I will go here again. Have the salt and pepper ribs, the shallot pancakes, the e-shand chicken.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

seagad: 7 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Come on guys - the best place for a late night feed in Adelaide

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 10 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Delicious! I haven't had many great experinces with Chinese food, being vegetarian it can sometimes be hard to share in the 'banquet' style of eating. But my expectations were surpassed, fresh yummy greens, shallot pancakes & vegetarian su rolls are a must! YUM! Im hooked!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

nopenopenope: 10 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Best. Chinese. Evar

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

pandy fackler: 8 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

food is awesome, excellent value. the service isn't great but at least they aren't being falsely friendly and pretentious like most places; because of this, i find the ambience comforting and enjoyable.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 5

delish: 10 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Fantastic food, be sure to try the chicken and corn soup, BBC and Salt n Pepper Bean Curd-Yum. You can BYO, for $2 corkage which is great. Service is okay, however you may feel you'll be rushed out, the place can be very loud given the amount of people in such a small restaurant. If you're after a cheap, tasty and quick meal with some drinks, this place is fab!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
16
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

gman: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Ridiculously fast paced and loud but this is what you come here for. Dont expect a quiet romantic dinner. Expect instead to jostle for position and wait for a table in what it probably Adelaide's most popular Chinese eatery. Deep fried shredded beef, BBC, salty jellyfish and pork with scallions are a must. Beware though, it is an eat and run style of place as tables are very limited. You may get your dessert before you have finished your entree, but hey, who says redbean doesnt go with duck?

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
16
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4.5

Old Spot Hotel: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

An Adelaide institution that has consistantly delivered the goods! Love it!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 5

seagad: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Great food anytime of hte day or night. Service questionable but hey, cant have everything, its worth the odd stuff up. Vinegar Ribs and Tea Smoked Duck superb...

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
14.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 4.5

BillyD: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Amazing food for a great price if you are willing to wait for a table. While i hate to line up, the fact that you generally have to speaks for the food. The E-shand eggplant is to die for!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
14
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3.5

MasterCritiq: 9 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Yingers is my fave late night eat - go in dont expect anything but great food the rest is really not important, especially service where it can be best described as abrupt at best of times and non existent at worst but when those hot little plates come out and you share with your mates the oriental flavours wafting through your senses nothing else matters. To all anglo eaters please do me a favour though (and I am anglo myself this is why I want to point out some etiquette as i am often embarrased in there by fellow uncultured eaters)....it's very rude and disrespectful to a)play poke stab things with chopsticks if you cant use them dont try do us all a favour and use the damn fork. b) try not to become intoxicated and abuse staff they are not slaves but food service attendants c) you are at yingers sit eat and get out dont linger there its not that type of place

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

pot belly: 10 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

This place is overrated. You see the huge queues on a Fri or Sat night. But for the price you pay and the ambience, it's not really worth it. It's perhaps telling that only westerners eat at this restaurant. My motto has always been that you can always tell a good restaurant when the locals dine out at the place. Don't get me wrong, the food is still very good. They are your traditional and authentic dishes. There is variety in the menu, some dishes not found at other Chinese restaurants. Including the treasure chicken. Despite all of that, I wouldn't be inclined to go back here again. I always feel rushed, especially with people milling around the door waiting for a table. It's not a relaxing dining out affair.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 6 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 4

Matthew: 10 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Food can be very good if you choose wisely or vice versa. Restaurant is always packed at popular times. Every time I book, I still have to wait for a table which is VERY annoying. Unsurpassed as a late night option, open 'til midnight on Fri and Sat. I believe the price is very good.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
10
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 3

swrightgfx: 7 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

I have eaten here on a number of occasions. It surprises me to no end the positive reviews this place gets. The only positives about this place are that the prices are reasonable and the doors always open. The food is average at best, atrocious at worst. Expect dry duck and thawed dumplings. For those not used to Chinese cuisine, this may be reasonable enough as an introduction, but experienced dinners will find it bland. The service is polite, but rushed and chaotic. On at least a couple of occasions I have had been only nearly missed by tabletops and chairs being carried from one side of the narrow stretch to the other. Table service is efficient, great for a late night chow, but too impatient for a longer sitting. You may be left searching for your chair on return from a trip to the bathroom. Ambiance? There is none. Fluoro lighting, plastic chairs and mismatched tablecloths. The furniture is often untidy and you may be seated at a dirty table which may not be cleaned until the last second before your food hits it. Reasonably priced for average food; akin to fast food restaurants on Hindley. If there is absolutely nothing else open, I give it a miss; otherwise, try across the road.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
8.5
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1

Sally101: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

I went there today after I read the review about this restaurant online. Since I've passed this restaurant before and they was a long queue, I thought it would be good to bring my friends there. However, when I got there, I was disappointed because the portion was small and not enough to be shared between 4 people.The dish looks like it was too pricey for such a small portion, especially for dinner. I would recommend all NOT to come here for dinner/celebration as it is not enough to be shared around. I would go to a place that has better value and a good portion that is enough be shared around.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
8.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 2

Kiki: 10 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

the food here is very bland, tired, tough and old. really not that nice at all. i wont go back to this place. not that good at all.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
8
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1.5

pineconesjay: 9 years ago – Link & Share

Ordered takeaway food @ 8pm, was told 15 minutes. Arrived 8:25. No parking so parked in no standing zone, expecting to run in, pay, run out. Was told it would be brought out as it was not yet ready. After waiting 10 minutes asked someone else. He went to find out, came out with plates for other people - no answer, no eye contact! Finally asked someone who the manager was, told him I'd ordered at 8pm (was now 8:40!) - he gave two free drinks and said it would be 2 more minutes. All the while battling with cramped conditions - only place to stand was right behind someone trying to enjoy their meal! Tiny, cramped, bad service - but good food! As for eating in - as someone has already said, don't try to slowly enjoy your meal - they want you out of there fast as possible!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
7.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2.5

pete: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Has recently gone downhill although still full, very dirty loos, even after booking for my party kept waiting over 40 minutes outside to get our table, never again. The food only ok

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
7
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1

Robbie: 11 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

The salt and pepper squid is a total rip off, the squid i could hardly taste it, let alone see it. there is so much batter around the squid that its ridiculous. i think it should be called salt and pepper batter pieces - but im being charged for the batter at the seafood price! considering the size of the plates/servings, which is very small and minimal - its quite expensive. dont let the so called 'cheap' price fool you - there isnt the quantity to match!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

24 people agree and 25 disagree.

 
6
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

dREW: 11 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

hAVNT BEEN HERE FOR A WHILE.... WHILE THE FOOD STILL VERY GOOD...PORTION SIZES HAVE DECREASED CONSIDERABLY, SERVICE WASNT WHAT I HAVE HAD BEFORE.. WAS ABIT OF A LET DOWN.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

8 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
6
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

Jude: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I'd heard so many good things about Ying Chow but was VERY disappointed. Food OK but very rude waiter who impatiently removed our half full bottle of (expensive) wine along with empty plates after a mere 15 mins in the restaurant. He returned it ungracefully and then stood next to our table glaring at us until we left. I've never been treated with such contempt by a waiter before and will never go back. The place's aim is obviously about getting as many people through in as short a time as possible so if you want to enjoy your meal without shovelling down food and leaving asap give this one a big miss!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
6
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

stucker: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

I had a friends birthday dinner there a week or two ago and she had booked 2 weeks prior and we had to wait 15mins for a table... I had high expectations as I hadn't been there before but heard people talking about how good it is and that its the "place to be" on Gouger... I definitely think it's overrated, the service was terrible, the food was very average and compaired to other places down Gouger St. the portion sizes were small. A very big let down, won't be going back there again, there are so many nicer places to go on Gouger!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
6
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1.5

elle: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Not impressed at all - the food is comparable to other places and the service is terrible. After being ushered to our table at high speed, our dishes came almost immediately which was fine but as soon as each morsel was consumed (whilst being watched constantly by the owner who made it obvious he was waiting for our table), the plates were then snatched away and he tried to take our drinks which were still half full to which we pleasantly mentioned we were almost ready to leave. His glare and comment saying 'well hurry up then' and standing next to the table till we had finished really turned us off the place and i won't be returning at all. With the vast selection of restaurants in Gouger St and other areas of Adelaide that are far better and with friendly staff, the Ying Chow barely compares.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
5.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Adelaide_eats: 6 years ago – Link & Share

Absolutely disgusting service. I have been in the hospitality industry for 6 years & have never come across such ill service. We were waiting for our meals for very long & tables which came after us had already been served. I told them very politely to do it as a take-away because I understand that they are busy. After another 15 minutes, we told them that it was taking very long. There was no sorry, just a 'I will check for you.' We then went again to ask for the meal. The manager let out a big sigh and said NOTHING and went inside the kitchen. I asked for a refund and I had NO response from the manager for that as well. He then brought out our take-away and shoved it into our hands LITERALLY. We told him we would have appreciated an apology at least. He said NOTHING and kept on wiping the cutlery, ignoring us. I cannot tolerate rude people who claim to be waiters. I don't even know why this restaurant is crowded. I am so startled that such service still exists in adelaide. Simply disgusted by their 'service' which made me think that they way they treated their customers is almost illegal. If you want ANY service at all.. No wait, if you want to communicate with people who respect and acknowledge you, then please don't waste your time here. I regret wasting my money on these arrogant people.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4.5
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

ktho: 9 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

While Ying Chow was once a bit of a Gouger st icon, the incredibly bad service at this restuarant now makes it a place to avoid at all costs. After making a booking weeks in advance, a group of 7 of us were told to line up out the front of the restuarant until a table became free! I watched numberous other groups of customers that had also made bookings being told the same thing. After a 45 minute wait in the cold we decided to cancel our booking (the waiter offered no apologies and looked glad we left) and went next door to Cafe Kowloon which was excellent. There are too many other great chinese resturants in the Gouger st area for Ying Chow to treat its patrons with this level of disrespect. We will NEVER return and advise others against giving it a try. Cafe Kowloon, T-Chow, Ky Chow and others far exceed this "has been" place.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
 

Add a review for Ying Chow

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience