Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

19.5
km

Yum Sing Restaurant

159 Old South Road, Old Reynella

Telephone 08 8381 25555

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Asian & Chinese.

Average of 23 reviews

  • 3.1 / 5 Food
  • 3.3 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.6 / 5 Service
  • 2.9 / 5 Value
  • 12.9 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Yum Sing Restaurant

7
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 1

bill44: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

take away,never again,the food was overpriced compared with others in the same area,the fried rice was dry and the rest was of very poor std

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 2 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Yum Sing Restaurant

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

TigerRose: 5 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Always one of the best Chinese Restaurants in Adelaide. Lemon Chick, Satay, King Prawns and Beef in Blackbean. who could ask for a better selection and wonderful food.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

Jane: 7 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

The best Satays in the "world" and I have been to China and Bali and not found any as good. I often just go and buy the Satay sauce. Garlic King prawns are excellent. The food is always hot fresh and delicious. We have been going here since it opened, Even when we lived near the city we would come up here just for their food.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Skeeter: 7 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

My family love everything about Yum Sing. We travel passed about 5 other chinese places to get our Satay hit.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

hawkey: 7 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

great food,have been taking my family there for years,try the sizzling garlic king prawns,pork ribs in plum sauce and the chicken cashew and veg combo,highly recommended to all.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 12 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Yum Sing is conveniently located up south on the corner of two main roads in Old Reynella. The dining room features floor to ceiling glass, must be thick glass because the sound of traffic cannot be heard. Chinese lanterns spread glorious golden light over the crisp white tablecloths. The food comes in large portions, particularly mixed vegetable and seafood dishes, and there are many different sauces to try, like the thick and glossy sweet and sour, oyster sauce, lightly spicy szechuan, and particularly amazing curried dishes. A good range of vegetarian mains and entrees also, and plenty of sides of noodles and fried or steamed rice to try. The staff are polite and helpful, but those who drove watch out, they love to top up your glasses of wine! Heaps of carparking which is handy because weekends it can be packed, good to make a booking if you plan to go on a Fri, Sat or Sunday night. Overall, Yum Sing is great value for money, and the food and atmosphere is top-notch. Highly recommended for all lovers of Asian cuisine.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

18 people agree and 21 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

smflash: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Very friendly staff who accomodate changes to the menu with out fuss. Best Lemon Chicken we have ever had.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
15.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

Three Rivers: 8 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Great value for money, and the satay is still the best I've tasted. It's not a 'flash' restaurant, but the service, food and value more than make up for that.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
14.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4

ArualsugA: 8 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Definitely the best Chinese I've had in South Australia. I've tried most of the other Chinese Restaurants near Morphett Vale and nothing compares to Yum Sing. They have very generous portion sizes and the food is always delicious. I especially love the lemon chicken and my partner adores the duck in plum sauce.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
14
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

Vego 180: 9 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

As part of a family group that has been coming back for well over 10 years I can say it's an overall above average package for this style of food. Large menu selection, fast service but needs a bigger vegetarian selection.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
13
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5

a.pavlovich: 8 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Whhat a let down. The food has changed so much in qaulity. We took our friends and had been saying how good it was. We hadn't been for some years (but always went there when we lived close by...it was brilliant) However something happens when great food places branch out...cheaper options etc and sadly that's what's happened here. The Satay is still A1 but the Lemon Chicken or should I sat nuggets? was terrible. Nothing seemed as good as before.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
13
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

jojo: 10 years ago – Link & Share

Agree the lemon chicken use to be the BEST but now is no better than you could buy in the frozen section of the supermarket. Satay is still great and still well worth the value, but the rest of it is now so expensive. Bring back the original LEMON CHICKEN.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
12.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 3.5

Eat and review: 7 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

As a popular chinese restaurant located in the south one would expect a little better. Dining in is enjoyable in a large group but unpleasant as a couple due to the amount of crowded noise. Food is good with plenty of options to choose from and service is not bad either. Takeaway however is very poor. The size of the takeaway waiting room is almost equal to a linen closet with minimal chairs. Given the influx of customers every night is should be marginally bigger to cater to a large amount of people. Waiting time almost feels like forever as the staff bicker amoungst eachother in an attempt to complete takeaway orders. My advice, dine in and dont get takeaway.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Thorpie: 7 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Have always loved the food from Yum Sing, must say that the last few visits the special fried rice has not been up to their original standard, have you got a new chef?, today rice was gluggy, few peas,corn, and ham that looked uncooked

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Daniel: 8 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Ive been going to yum sings for years but had a 3 year break because we moved to the barossa, I took my girlfreind to suprise her on some great food as she loves chinesse food. I talked the place up all the way there' wasn't happy Jan! They have changed chefs so the food has changed as well. Satay's still the best but cant say much for anything else, my girlfriend enjoyed her self. That's the main thing. 13/20

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
11
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 2

DCH: 8 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

The food was excellent but small portions for the cost. Service was average

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
11
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 1.5

Davel: 9 years ago – Link & Share

Used to be our favourite restaurant, but won't go there again. Anything with batter is poor. eg Squid rings are not real. King Prawns are all batter which hides small salty prawns etc etc. Banquet serving was too quick despite our requests to slow down. Hot night, but air cond must have been turned low. Soup was good.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
11
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3

SStrange: 6 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Been a customer since the beginning but the food has taken a big dive recently. Spring Rolls lacked that crispy pastry and flavour, satays over cooked, lemon chicken with very bland sauce, fried rice was rubbish, and salt n pepper squid stringy and too much coating. Not embarresing myself and talking people there ever again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
10
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 1

Lisa: 10 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Years ago this was a fabulous Restaurant with consistently great food but it clearly has changed hands and the food has gone down hill and "YUM" Sing it aint no more now it is pretty much "YUK" Sing. We had the Banquet with the Lemon Chicken and were extremely disappointed to find they had clearly used frozen Chicken Nuggets and poured Lemon Sauce on top. We could have made this at home and the Fried Rice that used to be terrific is now only average. However they still must use the same recipe for the Satay Sauce for the Satay Sticks as this was still as nice as we remembered. Next time we will buy the Entree Satays as take away and save on the Restaurant prices.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 6 disagree.

 
9.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1

Nature Boy: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

I had take away duck and as a single wanted some steamed rice with it as a meal. That charged extra and gave me a few small pieces of duck and the rest of it was all rice!!! Not much when paying 21 bucks takeaway!!!! Don't waste your money here, much better chinese close by!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
9
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1

Gaffa: 10 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

After ordering take away I found the food dismal, badly prepared and poor value for money, so I am very reluctant to dine in, regardless of good service and great ambience.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
8
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1

jmuss: 9 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

dim sims shocking , ckicken chop suey shocking , sweet n sour pork just edible , price (high)not happy $29 for above mentioned threw all but sweet n sour out !!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
5.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1.5

coolcountrygirl: 8 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

ive been a customer from the beginning, i was embarrased to take my chef partner there as the food was shocking,such a dissapointment to what used to be the most popular chinese restaurant in the south.People are prepared to pay for good quality food but not for substandard food that wasnt eaten

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
 

Add a review for Yum Sing Restaurant

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience