Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

2.5
km

Zapata's Mexican Restaurant

42 Melbourne Street, North Adelaide

Telephone 08 8267 4653

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Mexican.

Average of 25 reviews

  • 4 / 5 Food
  • 3.9 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.1 / 5 Service
  • 3.7 / 5 Value
  • 14.7 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Reviews for Zapata's Mexican Restaurant

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 11 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

By far one of my favourite restaurants. always get great food, great service and very generous portion sizes. We had my boyfriends 21st there and dined on the 'party menu' the staff also indiv gave everyone a number to put their drinks on their own tab which made it fuss free at the end of the night by everyone paying for their number. I will always return!! :)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 6 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

ILoveFood88: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Zapatas is my favourite restaurant! I could go here any time of day (but they're mostly open for dinner, doh!). The food is always top quality, I love the Enchiladas and Fahjitas in particular! Always good margaritas and as a bonus they're half price on Thursday nights! They can be very busy but are always very friendly and staff are attentive! Will keep going back for a long time!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

reecekain: 7 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

A nice, easy going relaxed place and atmosphere. Had dinner at Zapata's last night. Margaritas were good, the Food was well above average. No complaints.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

kevin jacons: 7 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Came to Zapatas Mexican for lunch last Friday with some mates and we all had a great time. The food was spectacular and I loved the Chicken Flautas and the Enchilada Grande. Also they had heaps of vegetarian style meals if you were into that. The atmosphere was laid back and had that old Mexican feel to it. The service was very good and was as to be expected. We really all enjoyed ourselves. Also found out about the half price nachos night on a Wednesday and the half price Margarita's night on Thursday. Definitely will be coming back again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

PJ1983: 7 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Ate here last night, 5 stars yet again! The food is SO good, the best Mexican in Adelaide. I always have the tostada, beautifully cooked and seasoned chicken, excellent guacamole and the fried tortilla cup it comes in is sooooo good in a seriously unhealthy way - probably a dish best saved for a cheat meal! We usually share the nachos to start too, again more of that delicious guacamole, and really good corn chips too! Service is great - laidback but attentive, and the staff actually engage with you and seem to have genuine interest in their customers. There doesn't seem to be much turnover in staff either - we were served by the same guy who served us last time - always a good sign. Great atmosphere too, it is authentically decorated in vibrant Mexican colours, with Mexican music playing in the background, but it is still a lovely place to go for a special occasion and be able to have a conversation without being interrupted by chairs scraping on tiles, or bench seats full of noisy kids, something you often come across at more 'down at heel' Mexican places in Adelaide! Well done Zapata's, we'll be back - AGAIN! :-)

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

gemmaanth: 7 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Went to Zapatas last weekend on a dinner date, we never really visit Melbourne street but thought we would try something different. I usually like Asian restaurants and my partner loves Italian, but we decided we would try something completely different and go with Mexican. Both our expectations were exceeded. Zapatas has a Fun atmosphere, and nice decor and dining area. The food portions made for a non-sick feeling afterwards. Our Waiter was amazing and actually had a bit of a Mexican accent, however I?m not sure if it was put on or legit. My partner didn't like his drinks, so they got him another which I thought was really great. I thought the drinks were real nice especially the Margaritas. Overall it was a great night out and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
19.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5

ChristianLucas: 7 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Checked out Zapatas the other day, Adelaide?s oldest Mexican place I think? So iit was Excellent and the Mexican food seemed very authentic! The prices are very reasonable and the service was good. Zapatas has a nice casual feel to it, which a great atmosphere and ambiance. They offer lunch on Fridays and I cannot believe how long this place has been around.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 11 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Zapatas always has the best nachos around. My friend and I always meet up at Zapatas when she is back from interstate and are never disappointed.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 8 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 5

annie: 8 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

I no it was busy but I want to see smiling happy staff it makes a difference. We waited far to long to get a drink of any kind. I absolutely LOVED my meal.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

Melvum: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Love it! Margaritas are the best! I always get the dips and Tostada as a main...food is always yummy and reasonably priced...great value for money! Great atmosphere...I have never had a bad experience...we are having my birthday dinner there on the weekend!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 12 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Good quality mexican food for a reasonable price. Large menu and margaritas are great! Fun, relaxed atmosphere!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

20 people agree and 18 disagree.

 
16.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

magachef: 8 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

It's authentic Mexican cuisine without the American vandalism. The nachos are great starters but one word summed up my experience...RIBS! Their Ribs Zapata is so addictive. My family always have it whenever we dine in.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 5

Anonymous: 10 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Best Mexican food in Adelaide by a mile. The homemade guacamole is like nothing else, and the prawn taquitos and chimichunga are out of this world. The decor is fun and comfy, but the service does let the place down a little. That has always been my experience and I've been going there for years.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 5

Asher: 11 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

Zapatas is the best Mexican restaurant in Adelaide. They have a great variety to choose from and you can't beat there Beef Fajitas and/or Muchos Nachos, YUM!!! However their service is a little frustrating at times. I think I put up with the continued flat soft drinks (not something unusual at Adelaide Mexican restaurants) & pissed off male waiter/owner because the food is so good. I do recommend it

Do you Agree or Disagree?

8 people agree and 12 disagree.

 
15
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4

rah: 9 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Wow, it had been awhile since I had been here, (25 years). Apart from some remodeling, and an obvious change of ownership, the place is just the same. The food is just as fresh and generous as it was, all the time ago, and they still pack em in. Good food, good value, good service, I recommend you have a look for yourself.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
14
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

madbarman: 12 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Great settting on Melbourne st. Best bean dip ive had in Australia. Service was a tad sluggish but made up for by great food.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

6 people agree and 13 disagree.

 
13
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

Food Writer: 9 years ago – Link & Share

I have always enjoyed Zapatas and thought they offered one of the best quality / value casual dining experiences in Adelaide. The quality of their steak remains great but their ability to cook the steak as ordered has seemingly all but disappeared. The service standards were also ordinary on my last 2 visits. One more chance Zapatas or I'm riding into the sunset!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
12
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 3.5

JbEl: 8 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Good food, good value, horrible service. From the moment we made the booking we were guilt tripped into confirming definitively how many people we would bring. This was difficult as we had a large group but it seemed as if more business would be a problem for them. They arrogantly proclaimed how many people they had booked that night and indeed it appeared to us that this figure was grossly exaggerated. Then when we got to the restaurant we were asked rudely for our order, the waitresses were muttering sarcastic and rude remarks under their breaths and when the plates came out they were deliberately dropped in front of us as if to suggest we were not customers but more a nuisance of which they were trying to rid themselves. Overall the food was quite nice but the whole experience was tainted by poor and inexperienced front of house staff. We have worked in hospitality before and we have seen some of the lowest standards of customer service and this place did no good to it's image by promoting an outdated practice. This is not the first time we have experienced this service but it will be the last. A pity given the quality of the food.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 2

meekin: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Zapata's is fairly ordinary - the selection was quite limited (especially for vegetarians, with just one option for mains) and the servings were very small for the price paid. The wait staff were fine, humouring the Spanish-speaker in our group honourably, but weren't very informative about the food itself. As for flavour, the food was nothing special; I wouldn't bother returning.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
11
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

Tim: 11 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

The food's quite good, but there's a lot of cheese on the nachos. Pictures of Mexicans with amazing moustaches is always a bonus to the atmosphere. The service can be slow at times, and the food always takes a while to come out. Don't rock up really hungry, because you're going to be waiting for a while. To me, the prices seem a little high. I tend not to go there unless I've got a voucher for this very reason. It's still my favourite Mexican joint in Adelaide!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
11
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 2

Kim: 11 years ago – Link & Share

Was not impressed.... The service was slow, staff didn't really seem to want to be there, the food was uninspiring and I believe rather overpriced, and the drinks were warm. I won't be going again or recommending this restaurant.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
8
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

luke: 11 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

waited an hour and a half for sub standard food. no apologies offered. second time been there with the same poor standard. better mexican food available in kit form in the supermarket

Do you Agree or Disagree?

13 people agree and 11 disagree.

 
5.5
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1.5

M22: 6 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

We booked our table for three, arrived and were seated. Asked by three different staff (in approx 7min of each other) what we'd like to drink, kept saying that we are still deciding, and eventually ordered a wine. Staff came and gave us our wine, lifted it for us to see label and promptly plonked it on the table with a 'here you go' and walked way - we then opened it ourselves and poured it ourselves (it was one of the more expensive wines also) ok, maybe he's new we thought. Half way thru our glass another lady (in fact the 5th different staff member we encountered that night) explained we were seated at the wrong table, it had been requested by another party could we please move. With half filled wine glasses, jackets and hand bags in hand we traipsed through the restaurant to what was definitely the worst table. A tiny table that we didn't fit at next to a private party. Not one minute had passed when yet another staff member asked for our order (which by the way was the young man with no wine training and who initially sat us, he said "oh, you moved" we explained we got asked to move, he laughs "ha, that was properly my fault") - no, we explain, we just sat down. This happened.... Wait for it..... 5 more times! In total, we were asked for our order 7 times and by 6 different staff! So we ordered, and there is no room for the food. My friend burnt her arm quite badly on the hot plate because we literally couldn't move our arms properly. Food was ok, but we needed more tortillas, asked two times, we obviously weren't that memorable because no extra tortillas ever came. We gave up at that point, paid and left - never to return!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
5
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Hedonist: 7 years, 12 months ago – Link & Share

Don't do it, don't even sit here and think to spend ur money proving me wrong. It's not good. In fact the bad reviews are spot on. Overpriced food. Weird smelling carpet. Lost reservations (with the waiter blaming his "incompetent boss"). Waiters were very strange which somehow bothers me more than their careless attitude. The older guy looks and smells like a 3 week old wet packet of cigarettes or homeless. Absolutely hopeless service. Female using mobile floor on the floor. Main meal is over $20 and comes to you boiling hot straight from the.microwave. You cannot even touch the plate it's been in the microwave for so long you will blister ur hand. Food is absolutely nuked and serving size doesn't even make up for the taste. Soft drink was flat as described. What a waste of time and money. Just don't go. I have images running through my mind of what their kitchen would look like, or when their staff last washed their hands...Creepy place

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and 1 person disagrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

MissAmanda: 8 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

I totally agree with JbEl. Had a bad dining experience here a few years ago, and will NEVER EVER return. Left a booking on their answering machine and was made to feel humiliated when I showed up and forgot whether I'd booked it under my first or last name. Such a rude horrible manager. The food was disgusting, the beef tasted like dog food. UGH.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for Zapata's Mexican Restaurant

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience